We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend!”
Review of The Sorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sorn Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Sorn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed at The Sorn Inn to celebrate our anniversary and we really couldn't fault it. We stayed in the Sinclair Suite which was very spacious with a comfortable super king size bed. The bathroom was immaculate and the shower powerful. We ate dinner and breakfast in the establishment and the food was excellent - totally lived up to the wonderful things we'd heard. I'm so happy to have discovered The Sorn Inn and I really hope to go back some day!

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    25
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
39
82
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Fortunate indeed that the closest B&B to the place I needed to be was the Sorn. Friendly staff, very nice room (I was lucky they gave me the big room as I happened to be the only one staying those nights). The smaller room is a bit tight but the quality of the breakfast makes up for that anyway.

Makes the long journey up from England much more bearable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NKProjects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UAE
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Had read a good review of the restaurant in a newspaper article, and while visiting the area decided on here for lunch.We were not disappointed. Beautifully, tender steak pie followed by excellent rum and raisin rice pudding. Couldn't fault anything. Would have loved to have tried the main restaurant for an evening meal as we were impressed with our lunch. Would definitely recommend it and would certainly return when in the area again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Restaurant only for a family meal. We had previously visited the Sorn Inn in March with our daughter and son-in-law who live locally. Happy to report that the food still excellent and service A1. Indeed, it could give plenty of restaurants in London a run for their money.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coolamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

had lunch, we have eaten this restaurant infrequently over the last 8 years
by and large it has been fine vying from superb to iffy .
Had lunch today did not enjoy beef was chewy gravy was not to my taste
we had the main portion which came in a miniature soup bowl , we would not have liked to seen the small portion as we have male friends who would have had a better appetitte
than the portion provided.
As I said previously we have visited you over the years. ,was not comfortable with the bar/waiter he took my card I entered my pin he then took it to the end of the bar where it was out of view I assume all is well but made me uncomfortable
ps where is the nice lady that used to be behide the bar ?? ,

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank eliz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I moved close to the area a year or so ago, happened upon the Sorn Inn and decided to take lunch there. The service and the food were exceptional and I have taken family and clients to dinner there several times now, never disappointed. On a personal note the smoked haddock is the best I have ever tasted and makes my mouth water just writing about it. Would recommend this restaurant highly for celebration meals also.. we due to eat there again this month to stay and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debso69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Had an amazing meal here the other night.. One of the best Gastropubs I have been to in the UK.. Starter, main and and pudding were all first class - the steak in particular. Service was great and to have the chef out and talking to us, even better. Next time, I am up that way, I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sorn
3.6 mi away
The Fairburn Hotel
The Fairburn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mauchline
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
8.5 mi away
Enterkine House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
Lochside House Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Cumnock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dumfries Arms Hotel
Dumfries Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Cumnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
11.6 mi away
The Fenwick Hotel
The Fenwick Hotel
#1 of 1 in Fenwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
17.1 mi away
Blackaddie Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sorn Inn

Property: The Sorn Inn
Address: 35 Main Street | Village of Sorn, Sorn KA5 6HU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Sorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Sorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sorn Hotel Sorn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing