We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Tiburon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have stayed at the lodge many times. Our friends live nearby so we are able to walk to their home and most restaurants and shops. The rooms are clean and well appointed. The staff is friendly and accommodating. On one visit our room was over the kitchen. Not a good place to be. On this visit they wanted to put us in that location and we asked if we could be somewhere quieter. Although the room was not ready, it was worth the wait. A quiet room near the elevator. The lodge at tiburon is our go to place whenever we visit tiburon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sherry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
There are newer reviews for The Lodge at Tiburon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,027 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have now stayed at The Lodge twice. The first time we were on the west side of the hotel above the Tavern (restaurant) and it was on the noisy side. There was also an air conditioning/refrigerator unit near us that made a lot of noise. This last time, in June, we were on the East side of the hotel and above the pool. It was much quieter and it helped that our room was on the end. We were also staying mid week and got to use the pool and have it all to ourselves; we felt like it was our own private pool. By Friday the pool area got busier, which is understandable. Our room was really very nice and clean. The front desk staff were all very friendly and even let us check in hours early.
The two drawbacks, which I feel like is important for the hotel to know that customers care about these things. Housekeeping - We were out the door each morning by 10am and took the do not disturb sign off each time, we made sure we did. We would return about 3pm to freshen up before meeting up with family and twice, 2 days in a row, our room had not been serviced by housekeeping by this time. Both times, we just needed fresh towels and we had used the coffee maker, so we needed fresh supplies for the next day. We werent even requesting new sheets. We felt like we werent comfortable in the room until it had been done, not wanting to be interrupted if we wanted to shower or nap. I can understand if it's because they have a large number of rooms to turnaround for new arrivals, but the hotel wasnt that full midweek. Even if it's about a reduced staff during the week, dont make someone feel like they've been forgotten. In fact both times we saw housekeeping carts in the halls but couldnt find the person.
The other point to bring up is with the Tavern/restaurant. We only had breakfast there once because the service just wasnt what we hoped for. We had enjoyed a cup of coffee from our room but got to the restaurant and sat for 10 minutes before we got coffee or even our orders taken. The host was very friendly and nice but then scolded the bus boy right in front of us for not helping us immediately. We saw our waiter only twice when he took our order and brought our order but then to get a check or refills on coffee wasnt happening. My husband went out to the lobby to refill on coffee and the host noticed this but then didnt even apologize. Shouldnt that be a sign that we were feeling a little forgotten in the restaurant? We were seated right by the host station too! A breakfast that should've taken less than an hour ended up being over an hour. If you're short staffed or dealing with problems, tell the customers, be upfront about it. Set up a self serve coffee station - there are ways to make people feel more taken care of. Another example, they were out of spinach, half the things on the menu had spinach in them, tell the customers before they order. And never scold an employee in front of customers!

Room Tip: Ask if there's construction going on and ask to be away from it. They are doing improvements at...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had really high hopes for this hotel, but unfortunately it fell short of my expectations. My daughter and I stayed 2 nights at the Lodge in July and I was not overly impressed, which was extremely disappointing considering the price we paid to stay here. Chief complaint was noise... our room was next to the elevator and it was extremely loud. We were awaken several times in the night by it's loud banging sound. The walls here are extremely thin, so if you are looking for a peaceful, quiet retreat, DONT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

The two stars is for the location and the bar. Tiburon is darling and it was a great place for my friend to get married. We had a lot of fun mingling in the bar but other than that, I wasn't impressed at all. The room was very basic and I've stayed at chain hotels that had nice rooms. We checked in and found dirty underwear behind one of the bedside tables while looking for an outlet. When I called the front desk and told them, they barely offered an apology. Housekeeping came and if I wasn't off to a wedding, I would have made a bigger deal. There just isn't anything special about this place and if you want to visit Tiburon, I'd recommend staying in the city and just taking the ferry over for a day.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Jaime P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will F, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Jamie C.

Please accept my deepest apologies. I am very disappointed to learn of your experience. We are using this terrible lapse as an important learning opportunity. While it can be said that our rooms are not palatial or spectacular, we pride ourselves on keeping them spotlessly clean and comfortable. I hope our other reviews can convince you that this was an exception to those usual standards. I am also shocked to read of your service experience. This is another way we strive to demonstrate value to our guests, with warm and genuine hospitality, treating every guest as a treasured friend and responding to rare complaints with care and compassion. Again, I apologize for your cool treatment as well as the carelessness that lead to your complaint.

Please don't hesitate to contact me directly if you have occasion to return to Tiburon. I would very much like to entice you return for the experience you should have had the first time. I'm confident you'll see how we earned so many other positive reviews.

Best regards,

Will Farrow
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night to get away from the heat of Vacaville and enjoy some R&R. The Lodge offers clean, updated rooms about one block from the waterfront and has a great pool/spa and restaurant. We ate there for breakfast and had the pancakes, french toast and bagel with cream cheese and smoked salmon which was all fantastic. The waiter was also very attentive. We would have given the hotel five stars except for a few reasons. We arrived at the hotel at 4pm and room was not ready; we had to wait about 20 minutes. This was surprising since check in time is 3:00. Also, our room was very loud; you could here every step from the people in the room above us and the central lighting in the gathering areas outside was very bright making it difficult to sleep. Lastly, when we made the reservation, the system asked us if we wanted to upgrade to a room with a balcony which would cost $15 extra. We did pay the extra money however the balcony is not worth it for this room (#232) as the view looks down on the rooftop of one of the buildings.

Room Tip: Choose third floor rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our family stayed for one night and wished we could have stayed another. The location is great and within walking distance to the ferry and the great restaurants and shops in this quaint town. The staff was so helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The gathering places outside were very inviting. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I drove from Portland Oregon to Tiburon with our puppy and the Lodge at Tiburon made us extremely happy! The town is so quaint and quiet and literally right on the water. We had a pet friendly room and even received a list of pet areas at checkin. A night walk around town was safe and quiet! The Mexican restaurant was great, huge portions. The room was fantastic as well, I wish we could have stayed more than 1 night. Next morning had breakfast at a cute cafe that allowed dogs outside and then drove thru San Fran. My husband and I plan to return as soon as we can!

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank amyjean1686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
1.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
997 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
298 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tiburon

Address: 1651 Tiburon Blvd, Tiburon, CA 94920-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range: $216 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tiburon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Nestled. Across the spectacular San Francisco Bay, The Lodge at Tiburon is an easy, sublime escape from the noise of the city. Only steps away from the Bay docks, the hotel provides a quaint retreat nestled among the cafes, boutiques and galleries of Tiburon and is adorned with relaxing décor and an inviting ambiance. The Lodge at Tiburon offers quintessential Northern California living at its best, striving to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from the complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program, including the I-pad wall. Gilchrist and Soames bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The on-property restaurant, Tiburon Tavern, serves a delicious selection of locally farmed elevated comfort cuisine. With two outdoor patios and two indoor fireplaces, Tiburon Tavern is the ideal place to relax and enjoy an evening with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tiburon Hotel Tiburon
Larkspur Collection Tiburon
Hotel Tiburon Larkspur Collection
Tiburon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing