We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Tiburon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 21, 2008

We made a weekend trip to the Lodge in Tiburon simply to meet up with friends and drink in the Bay Area ambiance for a couple days. Having stayed there once before about 15 years ago, I was pleased to see they have done much to keep the property up-to-date, despite the somewhat telling architecture reminiscent of the early 1960s. The rooms have been redecorated from a palette of rich earth-tones, the furnishings are modern and of better quality than the typical hotel appointments, and the bed was luxurious with crisp linens and a luxuriously padded mattress.

While the rooms are not overly spacious, the hotel does have a nice patio area with a small swimming-pool and an inviting outdoor Jacuzzi with a couple small palapas with bench swings that offered protection from the misty fog so common to the area. We were particularly enamored with the outdoor (gas-powered) fire pit surrounded by big wooden rocking chairs – going at full-tilt for the duration of our stay. I was a bit taken aback by the $15.00 glass of Pinot Noir at the hotel bar, and it appeared that the hotel restaurant was similarly pricey-to-scale, but I guess ambiance has its price. In fact, there’s not much in Tiburon (maybe nothing) that caters to the budget traveler.

The hotel lies just a block or so from Main Street where most of the eateries can be found, along with the ferry terminal for boat connections to Angel Island and San Francisco. We enjoyed poking around the boutique shops and walking amidst the homes of the rich and famous. It’s just a short drive to Muir Woods and the Marin Headlands, both of which offer a lot or options for getting out and stretching your legs.

In short, great location. Nicely appointed (but pricey) hotel equally well-suited for a family outing or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDCE-85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,503 - 1,509 of 1,605 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2008

We stayed for two nights in a deluxe room during mid september and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel. Many reviews unfairly make a big deal of the property's 'motel" layout. To be fair its not difficult to figure out the layout of the hotel ahead of time and I don't know why many are so put out. Granted, the corirdors are external but the rooms have been tastefully updated, are a good size and offer a good standard of amenities. We were in a corner room which was probably larger than most but the standard size rooms were just fine. My only minor gripe is that the bathroom needed updating but I believe this to be the exception rather than the rule. Deluxe rooms seem to have had the full remodel whereas traditional's had not.

The staff were all friendly and efficient. The common areas were relaxing and thoughtfully decorated and the pool area was well maintained and presented. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it appeared decent. There are many good restaurants down by the ferry dock - Sam's cafe was particularly good, and none are more than a couple of minutes walk.

Overall this is a good quality hotel that offers good value for money. The rates reflect the fact that it doesn't have huge resort like grounds and we did not experience any loss of enjoyment (or increased noise for that matter) from having to get to our room via an outside corridor!! It only misses out on 5 stars because of the bathroom that appeared to have been frozen in the late eighties but don't let that put you off.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Quagm1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

Stayed here for a week following a cross country trip and it was great! Loved the view of the hill in the back, and would definitely return. Yes, sometimes the corridors did become a bit noisy, but as a 20 year old I didn't care! Fabulous! Loved everything!

Stayed: July 2007
Thank bytheseaogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I stayed one night at the lodge of Tiburon in July 08. The original travel plan was to stay 2 nights in Tiburon but we decided to extend our stay in Carmel Valley. I was happy that I changed the plans as the lodge certainlly didn't match the accomendation we had in carmel valley.

Tiburon - It's my first time in Tiburon and what a lovely town! The view of the city from Tiburon is as good as one from Sausalito, if not, better! However, if you're looking for diversity in terms of night life, food, etc... this is not a place for you. I found it very surprising that the population in Tiburon's 90+ caucasion. good or bad, you'd be mistaken to think that it shares any simiiliarities as the city of SF.

Hotel - as many have commented, this place was a renovated motel. They did a great job making the exterior and amenities "appear" as luxury as possible. However, the core of the hotel is still a few steps away from luxury. The elevator's small and old. The rooms all have exterior access (just like a motel).

Room - we stayed in one of the delux rooms. The room's of adequate size and bed's nice and comfy. The bathroom only has a shower but very clean and simple.

The one major drawback was the AC. There's no central air but the individual A/C unit in the room. It's extremely loud and inefficient. So there's the "ghetto" side of the room.

Additinally, each room's furnished with nice looking plantation shutters but the shutters are made of inexpensive plastic and don't close well at all.

So needless to say, they made an effort but at best a half-axx job!

Overall - I like the location and the city but the hotel's way too expensive for what you get. I wouldn't even equate it to the chain hotels such as marriots or hiltons... If Tiburon's your destination, the water edge hotel up the street is a way smarter choice! I would've stayed there had they had the availability!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank QP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

We booked this Hotel, because we want a nice and calm hotel after a 12h flight. And that was what we got. The Loge is a very nice Hotel in the touristic city of Tiburon. We were very suprised and happy that we got a room with hottube. The Lodge in Tiburon is not a cheap hotel, but you will get a good room for your money. The Window view wasn't spectacular. I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank comlab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2008

My husband and I were excited to get away for one night and Tiburon is a very delightful get-away! The room we received (King spa room) was spacious, clean, and gave us a feeliling of being pampered! There were fresh baked cookies at check-in and they were fantastic. Little chocolates on the pillows were also a nice touch. The jacuzzi tub was wonderful and relaxing! Be advised that this hotel is actually a remodeled motel and it has outdoor corridors to all the rooms. Our door could have used some weather stripping around the edges and you could see space all the way around. When people walk by, the sound is loud and the whole building kind of shakes. I'm sure the people in the room above us were not stomping around at midnight but that's what it sounded liked like! The windows are single pane windows and I was not happy to be awakened at 7am by loud noises as another hotel guest decided to start banging on his car engine at this fine hour of the morning! No this not the hotel's fault and the manager did go talk to him after I complained but did I receive any sort of compensation for getting robbed of a good night's sleep? No, I don't think so! If I were to stay here again, I would put the wall unit on fan low to mask all these unwanted noises. I usually do that for air circulation in a hotel room but this room had a ceiling fan that we turned on instead. You can't beat the location of this hotel for restaurants within walking distance and the ferry to Angel Island is also just right up the way. Just be aware that the acoustics of the hotel make it difficult to get a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2008

I have stayed at the Lodge several times during the 90ies, because at the time, there was no other option in Tiburon.
Its basically an updated motel, extremely expensive and just not worth it.
Last time we visited, we had a specific room booked through their own internet website, however, when we arrived with our receipt, they didnt have any reservation for us, and didnt recognize the reservation number. And ofcourse the room(s) we had asked for were not available. The reservation staff were very rude and arrogant (always have been) - but in the end, the manager managed to find us a better room after 2 days, but still not among the ones we had wished for (and had booked 2 months in advance!). We wanted to move, but the other hotel in Tiburon was unfortunately sold out.
The rooms are ok, not very big, but the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are nothing to write about, and often not very clean. But still the worst is the attitude of the staff.
After just having visited another hotel in the town, thats where we will be staying from now on !

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SASStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
1.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
566 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
2.8 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tiburon

Address: 1651 Tiburon Blvd, Tiburon, CA 94920-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range: $173 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tiburon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Nestled. Across the spectacular San Francisco Bay, The Lodge at Tiburon is an easy, sublime escape from the noise of the city. Only steps away from the Bay docks, the hotel provides a quaint retreat nestled among the cafes, boutiques and galleries of Tiburon and is adorned with relaxing décor and an inviting ambiance. The Lodge at Tiburon offers quintessential Northern California living at its best, striving to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from the complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program, including the I-pad wall. Gilchrist and Soames bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The on-property restaurant, Tiburon Tavern, serves a delicious selection of locally farmed elevated comfort cuisine. With two outdoor patios and two indoor fireplaces, Tiburon Tavern is the ideal place to relax and enjoy an evening with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Lodge at Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tiburon Hotel Tiburon
Larkspur Collection Tiburon
Hotel Tiburon Larkspur Collection
Tiburon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing