We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lodge at Tiburon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Prior to booking a room here, I read many reviews and it seemed that every 4th or 5th review was more negative or disappointing. One comment I kept seeing over and over again was that guests felt as if they paid too much for what they got and that the room and hotel did not live up to their expectations. I really wanted to be one of the positive reviews in between, but I'm afraid that after our stay, I have to agree with these guests. First, the positives. The hotel is in a fantastic location near the water and restaurants. It's easily within walking distance to shops and other attractions in Tiburon. It looks beautiful on the outside, very modern and welcoming. I love the outdoor lounge space with the fireplaces and chairs. Upon entering the lobby, I was very impressed. The layout is great and there is a nice seating area with a fireplace, which was nice considering it was pouring rain the whole weekend we were there. In the lobby, they offer water (free), and food and snacks for purchase. There is also a DVD library and some books. It was all very clean and inviting. The pool area looked nice, though we never got to use it because of the rain. With all these positives, I was very happy with my choice of hotel for this romantic weekend/birthday getaway. On the downside, the room itself did not seem to match the quality of the rest of the property. I stayed in a "recently renovated" Belvedere King room. Upon opening the door to the room, the first thing that hit me was that it smelled a bit musty and old like an old library or just a really old building. Not a big deal, but not a great first impression either. The hotel could benefit from using a little air freshener after cleaning the room. I then noticed the countertop in the bathroom looked very worn. I could see water ring stains on it as well as rust along he edges and an outline of where the old faucet fixture used to be. This material is the same as what was used on the nightstand and I also saw dozens of water ring stains on the nightstand reminding me of how many people have used this and how clean is it? The carpet in the room was just bad. Spots and stains everywhere! I did not feel comfortable walking on it without shoes on. This carpet has clearly been around for a while and if it wasn't a part of the renovation and the countertops weren't a part of the renovation, what exactly was renovated? There is a stall shower in the bathroom with a shower curtain that is as thin as a bed sheet. Anyone who showers with shower curtains frequently knows how shower curtains that aren't weighted have a tendency to blow inward during a shower. This one was all over the place so I was constantly having to step on it to keep it still and adjusting it during the shower. As soon as I would let it go it would attack me again blowing inward and creeping into my space. It was frustrating. The dispenser bottles for shampoo, conditioner, and soap are a good concept for environmentally friendly hotels, but these dispensers didn't work well and I really had to push on them several times to get more than a trickle of soap out. If it hadn't been for the rain, I wouldn't have noticed this but it struck me as odd that a hotel in a climate where it rains would put carpet outside the door of an exposed hallway. The carpet outside our door was soaking wet and every time we walked to and from our room it was like walking on a wet sponge. As I was observing this, I noticed how our room door was crooked and did not meet the ground in one corner leaving about a half inch gap. Lastly, there was a constant humming of an air conditioner or heater or some machine outside our door that made a lot of noise and caused some difficulty sleeping. I never could figure out what it was, but it was annoying and I was glad I brought my ear plugs.

I also want to note that we received unfortunate service from the Tiburon Tavern. I heard many good things about it and was excited to try it when we arrived. I walked into a nearly empty restaurant with my wife at 5:00 PM on a Saturday. I asked the woman at the front for a table for 2. We were asked if we had reservations. I said no. The woman replied that they had a lot of reservations coming in and couldn't sit us at a table. She offered us the couch in the waiting area by the entrance. I didn't want to have my dinner at the waiting area couch. She then offered a table outside in a rain storm. I said no thanks and that we will just go somewhere else. As we were walking out, she approached me and asked us to follow her. She proceeded to lead us to a nice table in the corner of the restaurant leaving us confused, angry, upset, etc. The food was good and the rest of the service was good, but frankly that whole initial experience tainted the rest of the dinner for us and this will always be known to us as that place where we had the bad service. In addition, the restaurant did not fill up the entire time we were there. We reluctantly went back the second night because everything else in town was closed and we wanted to take a dessert back to our room. A nice older man helped us this time and I really wish we encountered him the previous night.

All in all, the negatives and positives made it just an OK place. We enjoyed sitting by the fire in the lobby and relaxing there for a bit. We found it had a better atmosphere than our room. For the price, I don't think I would stay here again. For a little more, you can stay at Waters Edge down the street which appears to be a far better place.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,153 - 1,159 of 1,587 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We have stayed at the Lodge for years. It is a perfect location for our trips to the Bay. We love the Museums of the City and the nature walks of Point Reyes and the Headlands and beaches. After a day in San Francisco, The Lodge is the perfect place to unwind. We prefer room service for dinner and the restaurant has everything we could want. Another reason we always stay there is their pet policy. They have always welcomed pets and now they embrace them. They built a sweet little dog park area that is grass and fenced in. It was perfect for our little doxie. They also put in a charming community garden with a neighboring school.

Just to comment to Chuck96236, the ice machine is on the second floor to keep non guests from getting free ice.

Room Tip: We love the number 100 rooms. They are on the first floor with a lovely Smith and Hawkins sitting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear suwick,
Thank you for your comment on the Lodge at Tiburon. I am very glad to hear that you find the Lodge to be the perfect place to stay for your trips to the Bay Area. I am happy that you have found the amenities around the Lodge to suite you, your family, and your dog for your stay. The little dog park in the back area is the perfect place for pet owners to walk their dogs. Please let me know if I can make future arrangements for your next stay to the Bay Area.
Warmest Regards,
Sietse Nabben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Sweetly nestled in the heart of rustic and homey town of Tiburon (a great little weekend getaway from San Francisco) The Lodge at Tiburon is the perfect choice! My husband and I had never visited San Francisco together (let alone Tiburon) and were hoping to find a romantic place to stay and weren't sure what to expect, but we booked a room from a block of rooms reserved for my friend's wedding and are truly glad we did! Bottom line: room was fantastic and the customer service was impeccable. (Having planned my own wedding last year, I felt compelled to write this review because I know how important these little details are and what a nightmare booking a block of rooms can be, so if you are a bride planning a wedding in Marin County, Sausalito, or the Headlands Art Center – you must send your guests to The Lodge at Tiburon!)

The room was gorgeous, spacious and had a spectacular view of the beautiful scenery. Absolutely breath-taking! Plus I actually got sleep! The bed was insanely comfortable – tight fitting soft sheets on a magical mattress. And it was so quiet! So blissfully quiet. On top of that, we had ample space and glorious views of the starlit hills just a stone's throw from the property.

The hotel is also eco friendly (which I love) but, like most eco friendly hotels, the only draw back with environmental responsibility is often the shower's water pressure. (Now that's not necessarily a problem, but I felt like I needed to say something “negative” to legitimize this review because otherwise the room was perfect.) In addition, the pool and jacuzzi were both a relaxing treat and their bar at the Tiburon Tavern was lively and fun if you didn't feel like leaving the grounds (great place to watch a game!).

As far as customer service goes, if you're fickle about being taken care of on your trip, the staff was really what made this hotel shine. The quality of the staff will make or break a hotel stay for me and The Lodge at Tiburon staff was fantastic... I'm kind of a snob about hotels and I must to say that everyone we dealt with was polite, warm, helpful, intelligent, and professional. On arrival, we were in a rush to make a wedding, and the staff took great care to assure us that our bags would be handled and brought to our room - we would not have made the wedding on time without their help! Throughout our stay they were attentive for our every need and provided that extra layer of relaxation you crave on a weekend getaway.

You can't do better than The Lodge at Tiburon in Marin County or Sausalito - highly recommend it and will definitely be coming back again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athena W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my family and stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel supplies guests with free Wi-Fi, DVDs and many other things. A few problems we experienced was, first, the trouble getting to Tiburon from the city especially after 7 Pm because there is no form of transport to the hotel except the ferry, taxi or if you have your own car. Secondly, the walls and doors aren't sound proof ... At all. Which means people next door can hear what you are saying unless you are whispering or talking very quietly.

Overall my experience at this hotel was great and I would recommend it to people.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Arvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Arvin B,
Thank you for your review on the Lodge at Tiburon. I am happy to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that the next time you come to the Bay Area you choose to stay at the Lodge. Please feel free to let me know if I can make arrangements for any transportation to the hotel for you and your family as well.
Warmest Regards,
Sietse Nabben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just got back from a 2 day shopping trip to San Francisco. As there was an Oracle convention in SF had to book a room outside so booked 2 rooms (with companions) over the phone at the Lodge at Tiburon. Had not stayed there before but it is well situated in the pretty little town of Tiburon. Not much went right from then on. I had booked the two rooms on the phone and was told the charge would be $180 for each. To jump to the end, when I checked out I was told that my room had been an upgrade and was charged $199 for that room. As this was an involuntary upgrade that I did not request I wondered why I should be charged the additional. Did not get an answer to that. The OTHER problems included: 1. I was told on the phone that I and my 2 traveling companions would get a free cocktail in the Lodge Tavern. We did, but we were limited to apple martinis rather than a choice of cocktails. 2. We had dinner in the Tavern, and the service was excruciatingly slow. 3. At night, the companion in the other room was awakened much of the night by noise in the next room. 4. There was no ice machine in the hotel so you had to call the front desk for a tiny portion of ice to be brought to the room (of course a tip was expected). 5. Both rooms called the front desk and asked for a 7 a.m. wake up call. NEITHER room EVER got the wake up call so we were on our own to wake up. On the plus side, as I said, the hotel is well situated and the room is nice enough, but then again we paid almost $200 a night per room without amenities expected in a much less expensive hotel. I almost forgot, not only was there not an included breakfast, there wasn't even a continental breakfast. Being used to staying in Comfort Inn and Suites (for less money) I expected at least a breakfast roll or something.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chuck95236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Chuck95236,
I want to apologize for the stay went with us at the Lodge at Tiburon. Please feel free to contact me directly and I would be like to take the opportunity to invite you back to the Lodge to see if we can make a more positive memorable experience. We want all of our guests to have a positive lasting memory from their stay in the Tiburon area.
Warmest Regards,
Sietse Nabben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

There are 2 hotels in Tiburon. We initially chose the Lodge at Tiburon for the price and availability. The parking can be tricky, but very doable. The staff at check-in was very pleasant and professional. They pointed our way, and after walking through a courtyard and up a stairway, we found our room. The room was nicely appointed, very comfortable, but small. I booked a room on the second floor with a balcony (an additional $20), but it was well worth it. The views were nice, and the morning sun shown in our large balcony windows in the mornings, very pleasant. The food at the hotel restaurant was very good and the wait staff was knowledgeable and pleasant to talk with. Tiburon is a small quaint little town with some fantastic restaurants and the Lodge at Tiburon is situated right in the middle. We most definitely plan on returning to Tiburon.

Room Tip: Second floors with balconies are great, well worth the up-charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garytrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Garytrav,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Lodge at Tiburon. I am glad to hear that my staff was able to provide friendly and comfortable services during your stay. The balcony is a nice addition to have to a room as it allows you to sit outside and relax with the pool view. I am happy that you plan to return to the Tiburon area in the future. The hotel is in a convenient location to the many shops, restaurants, and ferry. Please let me know if I can make future arrangements for your stay with us at the Lodge.
Warmest Regards,
Sietse Nabben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was a "Destination Wedding" location, as my niece got married at the Headlands Art Center. We thoroughly enjoyed room 310 in The Lodge. Nice view, great beds and shower, overall nice room. Room heater was great! Very clean. Loved the outdoor amenities as well, fire pit, seating area, lobby, fruit water, free glass of wine in the afternoon, free DVDs, and free parking for hotel guests. We rented 3 rooms for my family, and received fantastic service from the staff. They checked in my sons at 12:30pm, much earlier than expected, so we could catch the shuttle to the wedding on time. My son was amazed at the huge size of the Belvedere King room. Everyone was very friendly, helpful, and service-oriented. Such a fantastic location - walk to the water edge, ferries to the city, great restaurants and shops (besides Tiburon Tavern next door), walk to CVS. Cutest area - we will definitely come back for a romantic weekend! Thanks for great service and rooms!

Room Tip: Top floors have the best view…woodsy and private. Rm 310 double queen is nice and close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VWagner2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear VWagner2013.
Thank you for your review on the Lodge at Tiburon. I am very happy to hear that the hotel suited you for your needs during your stay for your family’s wedding event. The Lodge has many amenities to offer and it sounds like you were able to enjoy almost all of them during your trip to the Bay Area. I am also glad that my staff was able to provide friendly and helpful services during your stay. Lastly, the location of the Lodge is ideal in case you happen to visit the city via the Ferry or going to the local restaurants down the street. Please let me know if you plan on visiting the Tiburon area I would be more than happy to make future accommodations for your next stay at the Lodge.
Warmest Regards,
Sietse Nabben
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
1.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
477 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,025 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tiburon

Address: 1651 Tiburon Blvd, Tiburon, CA 94920-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range: $178 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tiburon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Nestled. Across the spectacular San Francisco Bay, The Lodge at Tiburon is an easy, sublime escape from the noise of the city. Only steps away from the Bay docks, the hotel provides a quaint retreat nestled among the cafes, boutiques and galleries of Tiburon and is adorned with relaxing décor and an inviting ambiance. The Lodge at Tiburon offers quintessential Northern California living at its best, striving to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from the complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program, including the I-pad wall. Gilchrist and Soames bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The on-property restaurant, Tiburon Tavern, serves a delicious selection of locally farmed elevated comfort cuisine. With two outdoor patios and two indoor fireplaces, Tiburon Tavern is the ideal place to relax and enjoy an evening with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Lodge at Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tiburon Hotel Tiburon
Larkspur Collection Tiburon
Hotel Tiburon Larkspur Collection
Tiburon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing