We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lodge at Tiburon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for 6 nights on holidays from Australia. Check is was simple and quick. Room was very large and beds were good. Quiet even though they were full to capacity. House cleaning was good. Breakfast at restaurant was yummy. No complaints at all. Lovely area. A very pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robdeb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear robdeb67,

Great to hear you enjoyed yourself during this 6-day stay at our hotel. Thank you very much for complimenting the amenities in our hotel, and if your next trip brings you back to Cailfornia, we'd love to host you again at The Lodge at Tiburon.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    465
    250
    101
    45
See reviews for
448
546
53
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff was helpful and friendly - they told us where to get a good sandwich, how to catch the ferry, where to find bike paths, trails etc. Our room (King Deluxe) was large and comfortable and quiet; the mattress was excellent. The breakfast in the hotel restaurant was very good. Tiburon is a quiet community, but close to everything. This hotel is the perfect jumping off place to the Wine Country, San Francisco and the Marin Headlands. We will be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryA816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Excellent jump-off spot for exploring the beauties of northern California. So close to the Golden Gate Bridge, yet miles away from the hectic city. Just lounging around the fireplace and enjoying this magnificent area made our vacation so special. Excellent value because our breakfasts, WiFi, and parking were all included. Would highly recommend this facility to those who don't require lots of luxury, but still want some of the nicer amenities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prosebud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We visited this hotel 2 years ago and enjoyed our stay. The management has recently changed and they are improving the rooms. We had two of the new ones on the 2nd floor and enjoyed our visit very much. Both rooms were spacious, very clean and in an excellent shape. The only downside was the noisy air condition / heating system.

The location is great, very close to the Tiburon ferry. By car we needed approximately 20 minutes to travel to San Francisco (over the Golden Gate Bridge), respective 30 minutes to the Muir Woods respective 30 minutes to the Mount Tamalpais State Park. Both are definitely worth a visit!

This hotel is a great place if you prefer a safe and quiet neighborhood. A pharmacy and supermarket is within walking distance to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theshadowvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding. It is a nice hotel, and I liked some of the amenities that other hotels don't always offer such as real cream for your morning coffee, cordless phone, dvd players, etc...

However, our room did not have any privacy. It faced directly towards the deck, so we had to keep the shutters closed the entire stay. Also, the hotel states that they do not clean the sheets unless requested. I believe that is why they overlooked a fingernail clipping left on one of the bed sheets that someone prior to us must have left. Luckily, there were two full sized beds.

Also, the room service menu looked yummy and seemed to be decently priced with the exception of their toast. A slice of toast cost $3.00 and our food arrived cold, so it wasn't exactly satisfying. Another thing we "splurged" on was $4.50 for Norwegian bottled water, which I personally feel should be included with the room...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Blfoster,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, and my true apologies for the incidents that took place whilst with us. The cleanliness issue is unacceptable and has been addressed accordingly. We have since revamped our Room Service menu and are offering very similar pricing to the restaurant. If there is a chance that your travels bring you back to Tiburon, we'd love to welcome you again and show you that we can do much better than this past experience.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

This older building has been very attractively refurbished and updated. It is well maintained, clean and confortable. I'm picky about mattresses and these were very good. The staff at the front desk is pleasnt and helpful. The price is reasonable for the location.

I would give a top rating except for the noise. We had a third floor room at the back which looked out at trees, with no traffic noise. But since there was an adjoining room, all the noise from the family next door came through to us during the day. There was a loud party on the lower floor when we returned at around 10:30 p.m.. There were a lot of loud conversations in the open area between the rows of rooms. It may be more quiet on week days when events aren't being held. I would say this is a great place for younger people who like to party and don't mind being surrounded by other revelers. I would not choose it for a quiet romantic getaway. If you like quiet, I would make certain you are not getting adjoining rooms with flimsy doors between and I would not get one of the rooms which surround the pool and outdoor fire area.

We got the breakfast package which gives $20 credit at the adjoining Tiburon Tavern. This would have been very pleasant outdoors on a sunny morning. Unfortunately we had rain. The food was ok, but the service was awful.

Room Tip: Request a non adjoining room, unless you want to share rooms with someone you know. Don't get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancyP988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove,CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Over the past few years I’ve had the pleasure of spending numerous relaxing and memorable times at the Tiburon Lodge. Accommodations at the Lodge, are really special…perfect for mixing business and relaxation. As I’ve personally experienced, should issues arise during a stay, the matter is quickly and professionally reconciled by Lodge Staff. The local community here is peaceful, quaint and really quite charming. Should you decide to wonder-out, everything is within a short walk; ferry to SF, Angle Island, restaurants, coffee shops, local movie theater, shops, local market , banks, you name it. IT’S PERFECT!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WRR_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear WRR_13,

I am very excited to hear that our renovation and recent staff trainings have made a great impact on your recent stay, especially as a repeat guest of ours. Thank you very much for the glowing review, we'll ensure to share this with our staff at all levels.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
1.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
465 reviews
3.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
975 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
293 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tiburon

Property: The Lodge at Tiburon
Address: 1651 Tiburon Blvd, Tiburon, CA 94920-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tiburon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Nestled. Across the spectacular San Francisco Bay, The Lodge at Tiburon is an easy, sublime escape from the noise of the city. Only steps away from the Bay docks, the hotel provides a quaint retreat nestled among the cafes, boutiques and galleries of Tiburon and is adorned with relaxing décor and an inviting ambiance. The Lodge at Tiburon offers quintessential Northern California living at its best, striving to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from the complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program, including the I-pad wall. Gilchrist and Soames bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The on-property restaurant, Tiburon Tavern, serves a delicious selection of locally farmed elevated comfort cuisine. With two outdoor patios and two indoor fireplaces, Tiburon Tavern is the ideal place to relax and enjoy an evening with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tiburon Hotel Tiburon
Larkspur Collection Tiburon
Hotel Tiburon Larkspur Collection
Tiburon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing