We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lodge at Tiburon
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
GreenLeadersSilver level
kent
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointing”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for the last night of a 2 week trip, it was our most expensive accommodation & most disappointing. We had booked 3 rooms several months in advance but were allocated rooms in different areas, two of which had been updated but one which sadly had not. When I was asked by reception if all had been ok with our stay & I mentioned this it was met with indifference and a mention of 'upgrades' . The room was definitely not 'upscale'. We had enjoyed an excellent meal in the old Grill last year but this has now been restyled into the Tavern with a different style menu which didn't suit us so we ate in the town. The hotel bar stops serving at ten pm but the fire pit tables were left on & a group of guests sat outside loudly enjoying themselves until the early hours, 2am. The noise carried into our room despite windows being closed. All in all the Lodge did not provide the 'last night of holiday'experience I had expected & hoped for. Last year we stayed at the Waters Edge which was better on every level & well worth the extra.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear sarniew,

We are sad to hear that your experience with us was less than you expected, and we would like to apologize for that. We have indeed upgraded the majority of our guest rooms, as well as our restaurant, and are putting our best efforts in showing value in these amenities. We have addressed the closing times of our bar, and will certainly accommodate till later hours. The noise issue will be communicated with the groups that we are hosting, to ensure that our other guests are able to relax and enjoy The Lodge. Again, my apologies, but if you feel that we deserve a second chance, I would love to take care of the stay request myself.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    448
    239
    97
    42
See reviews for
420
528
53
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte Rio, Calif.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I were going to Tiburon to meet family members and decided to stay a few nights. I am so glad we did. This place has everything! You can walk to the ferry, the museum, and all the shops & restaurants are close by. They too have a restaurant where you can sit inside or outside watching people & cars go by. Outside they have huge, comfy furniture, & tables with umbrellas. The food is very good, & they have room service also. The rooms themselves are wonderful as they all have just been redone. Our bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on. They have a huge heated pool, & hot tub, an outdoor fireplace, & huge, comfy, outdoor furniture everywhere on their property surrounded in gardens. Love this place, & will visit again.

Room Tip: The spa rooms are divine. But, all the rooms have either a patio or balcony. Ask for a room near the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetraveling8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear lovetraveling8,

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed yourselves truly at our hotel. We have been putting a good amount of thought and efforts in creating a great atmosphere with the necessary amenities for our guests here at The Lodge. We are glad you are recognizing that and look forward having you back with us.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Lodge was a one night stay during a vacation around the Napa Valley. When we booked this, via Expedia, I was looking forward to a lovely hotel in a lovely place. The hotel and room were very nice and the outside seating at the bar terrace looked great. We decided to stay and have drinks and dinner on the terrace, and that's where things went wrong.
We waited 25 mins before we even saw the wine list. After finally catching the waiter the ask for the list, he apologized and said he would make it his "top priority", then went off to deal with other tables while we waited even longer. After finally getting our drinks, we ordered food. The food came fairly promptly and was actually quite tasty. We thought this maybe redeemed the place, however, not for long.
It then took us another 20 mins to finally get the attention of the waiter to ask for our check. While we waited for this to arrive, the hotel manager stopped by our table, giving us the chance to mention the poor service. He was apologetic and offered us a glass of wine for free. We took this back to our room, and when I tasted my wine it was corked - not a great apology.
The next morning on check out the receptionist asked how our stay was and we said the hotel was nice, but service poor in the bar. His response was "I'm sorry" but he didn't even look up from the computer screen and dismissed the whole thing. All in all VERY disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear Tracey W.,

I really would like to apologize for the poor service you received on our patio this past weekend. This is an unacceptable situation and I do regret that this has affected your stay with us in a negative way. We have since addressed these concerns and can assure you that we do our utmost best to avoid scenarios such as the one you experienced.
We would love the opportunity to redeem ourselves, and see if we could welcome you back to our hotel to prove to you that we have corrected these issues. Please do reach out to me directly if your travels bring you back to Tiburon.

Warmest Regards

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
415 435 6895
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Great little place in a great small town just outside the city. Great rooms with great beds. Tiburon Tavern was excellent for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Napatech wine system was a great treat. Great upper deck that is a good place to relax and read a book.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCFOOD18476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear DCFOOD18476,

It is great to see that we met your expectations, and that you had a chance to enjoy our Napa Tech system in Tiburon Tavern,the restaurant, as well. We love reading about total hotel experiences from our guests and are truly happy that we succeeded from start to finish. We look forward having you with us again in the future.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

First let me say I had a great weekend inspite of Tiburon.

Looking to give my wife a romantic weekend, I chose the Lodge at Tiburon and the Romantic Package. Sounds better than it was. All I can say is, noisy room and thin walls. They did come and quiet down the footstompers in the next room eventually.

Plus: The room was nice and seemed recently remodeled. Did have the champagne and chocolate strawberries ready. Good berries. Free DVDs. The breakfast was ok; better than the Morning Cafe. Close to Angel Island ferry - that was a great time and saved the weekend.

Con: was just disappointed in the "Lodge". Nothing special for the price. I guess if you look at the automated replies to other reviews, you get the idea of the service.

Ate at 3 restaurants: none outstanding, but spent a lot of money. I always like seeing reviews that are like mine. There must be a lot of people who are blinded by the high cost. High cost does not equal good quality.

Just an OK place. But it could have made the weekend even better. Next time I'll just take the ferry from the City for my day at Angel Island. Sausalito was much more romantic.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask if construction is going on, still. Stay on top floor. Away from pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ata_Homa_Ina_Roma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Ata_Homa_Ina_Roma,

Thank you for choosing us for your recent getaway to Tiburon. We are really sorry if the Romance Package did not meet your expectations, and do apologize for that. We will ensure to address the room locations with our staff for future reservations. We are however glad you tried our restaurant and enjoyed our new menu items. If you feel that we deserve a second chance, I'd like to extend my info to you to personally ensure that your arrangements are well taken care of.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
415 435 6895
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We wanted to be near the Muir Woods on a recent visit to SF and didn't want to go back into the city via the bridge. The hotel was very comfortable and clean. Tiburon is a relaxing little town just far away enough from the traffic of the bay area. Much better than Sausalito which gets very crowded with tourists. The heated pool was great; Tiburon is a bit warmer than waterfront areas of SF but still cool for this So Cal guy. The beds were comfortable and the linen good quality. Only one little concern - the plantation shutters in the room are aesthetically pleasing but do not provide the best light protection. Not a big issue for us but, other travelers who enjoy sleeping in may want to consider.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HaveCarWillTravel67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sietse1472, General Manager at The Lodge at Tiburon, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear HaveCarWillTravel67,

We really appreciate your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor in regrads to your latest stay at The Lodge at Tiburon. We have also taken your shutter comments under consideration and are looking at some other options. Please do let us know if your travels take you back to Tiburon, we'd love to be host your accomodation again.

Warmest Regards,

Sietse Nabben
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Another place that my husband and I really loved and will go back to. Having lived in the bay area in the 80's this has always been a great place to be with close access to San Francisco with beautiful views of the city and a quiter location. Very romantic.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRLaNEVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
0.1 mi away
Waters Edge Hotel
Waters Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Tiburon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lodge at Tiburon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Tiburon

Property: The Lodge at Tiburon
Address: 1651 Tiburon Blvd, Tiburon, CA 94920-2511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Tiburon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Nestled. Across the spectacular San Francisco Bay, The Lodge at Tiburon is an easy, sublime escape from the noise of the city. Only steps away from the Bay docks, the hotel provides a quaint retreat nestled among the cafes, boutiques and galleries of Tiburon and is adorned with relaxing décor and an inviting ambiance. The Lodge at Tiburon offers quintessential Northern California living at its best, striving to offer a personalized experience tailored to guest’s individual needs and interests, from the complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and movie libraries, to a full service business center and a knowledgeable concierge program, including the I-pad wall. Gilchrist and Soames bath and body products, high-tech efficiencies and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The on-property restaurant, Tiburon Tavern, serves a delicious selection of locally farmed elevated comfort cuisine. With two outdoor patios and two indoor fireplaces, Tiburon Tavern is the ideal place to relax and enjoy an evening with family and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lodge at Tiburon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge At Tiburon Hotel Tiburon
Larkspur Collection Tiburon
Hotel Tiburon Larkspur Collection
Tiburon Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing