We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never stay here- Leaks mold and no staff” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Never stay here- Leaks mold and no staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2005

We tried to stay here. We really tried. Parking is remote, with no help with any luggage to the hotel or room. A single staff member was on premises to check us in. This is a very expensive hotel for the location. Absentee Ownership at it's finest.
Room had dirty sheets, stained chair and mold in the very small bathroom. Leaks at the window and from the ceiling.
After seeing the room, we decided not to stay but were still charged for the stay.
We talked to the hotel staff member, called the manager without a response and also called the Management company that makes the reservations.
We suggest staying at HOTEL SAUSALITO - there is just no comparison and it is $100 dollars less a night for a much nicer location, room and staff.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank msgoodgenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    99
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
76
255
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2005

Stayed at Waters Edge first night of 5. they upgraded us to a king suite for our tenth aniversary. wonderful view of San Fransico from across the bay. Be selective on your room type. Some overlook the restaurant next door. Very charming, little town with restaurants and shops all right outside your door. Nice continental breakfast. the wine and cheese hour not much, but not worth complaining about. stop by the windsor vinyards winery next to the parking lot. they have some great wine. Is was a very relaxing, romantic stay. would go again if in the area. The Gables Wine Country Inn B&B in Santa Rosa was also great(private cottage is the best). Stay away from the Napa River Inn in Napa (overpriced for what you get).

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2005

We had a great weekend spending time at Tiburon the town has great shops and a neat little wine tasting room and our best time was at our motel the Waters Edge the service was great and we had a cozy room with a fireplace a great breakfast that was included a large balcony down the hall with a wonderful view !

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2005

The location of this hotel is superb. Also great was the room configuration, cleanliness and ease of stay. The hotel staff was friendly, knowedgeable and responsive. There was absolutely nothing but positives in our stay!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2005

We stayed at this hotel one night, and thank goodness it was only one night. The (female) who greeted us was of NO help to us at all. Our room overlooked the bay and THE RESTAURANT! It stunk! And the room also smelled like smoke from the fireplace because the flue was left open. I was so un-impressed by this hotel. It was decorated very trendy and all, but it couldn't make up for the rude front desk attendant and the stench. I would NEVER stay here again. And I would recommend a much friendlier staff at the front desk. She would not move us to another room. And was not helpfl in mentioning our coomplimentary wine and cheese or the breakfast in the a.m. We just got complimentary rudeness.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2005

My family (husband and 2 teenagers) and I stayed here in April as a surprise treat for my husband's birthday. It was the perfect place for us and we really enjoyed the hotel and Tiburon especially. What a quaint place it was and we truly enjoyed the small town atmosphere. We took advantage each evening of the wine & cheese and enjoyed meeting and talking with the other guests. The restaurants within walking distance were great. We spent a day taking the ferry and doing the "tourist" thing in SF. It was fun, but we were really glad to return to the quiet and relaxation of Tiburon and our hotel. So glad we stayed there and not in downtown SF. We got some great pictures off of the deck and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. I would definitely recommend the hotel and Tibuon in general. Wish I could go back soon!

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shawneenative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2005

My friend recently got married in Ross, CA and her now father-in-law booked a block of rooms for some members of the wedding party at the the Waters Edge in Tiburon. Although this hotel was cute enough, I have to give it a poor rating based on the really very rude and unaccomodating front desk staffers (women). Upon leaving for the ceremony, the maid-of-honor was interrogated by the lady working the front desk who also commented that she couldn't keep track because "there are so many of you." A turndown service request at 10:30 PM for the honeymoon room on the wedding night was denied simply because they didn't do that at that hour. What they did end up doing was giving us an armload of linens so that we could do it ourselves. Since we had to do what they should have done for us ourselves (at $300/room/night times 2 nights and 6 rooms), I had to go and tell the bridal couple to remain in the lobby until the other bridesmaids could finish tidying up their room. When I did so (in a lowered voice), the front desk lady who denied the turndown service yelled into her end of the phone, "WHAT? I am sorry, I can't HEAR you because it's LOUD here in the lobby." (This was after I had waited off-and-on for 15 minutes to ask her a question- the entire time which she was on the phone and never even acknowledged that she saw me waiting.) Additionally, one of the other bridesmaids also told me that she had witnessed another guest of the hotel ask for directions to Palo Alto, and had been told by the front desk, "We don't give out directions here." I do have to be fair though and say that some of our wedding party did ask some of the MALE staffers for directions and help, and were assisted promptly and courteously on the previous day. As for the rest, I was appalled by their behaviour and really have no idea how they ended up working in such a customer-oriented job at a place that charges $300/night but treats their guests like uninvited company. Incidentally, another couple ended up giving up their room to the bridal couple since their room had gotten service and was actually larger than the "honeymoon" room.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank K_Westwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Property: Waters Edge Hotel
Address: 25 Main St, Tiburon, CA 94920-2507
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing