We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent but you pay for it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent but you pay for it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a great hotel in a wonderful location overlooking the bay. It is idyllic. We booked a grand king overlooking the bay. The suite is very large, it was clean and all in all we were very happy with it. Breakfast was great too. The only negative I have is that what you don't know till you get here is that if you book one of these pricey rooms you are basically on the level where the general terrace is so all the tables and chairs are basically right outside your window!!! So when the weather is nice and of course people are outside as they would be, you have to close the curtains otherwise you are looking right at each other. Also it can be very noisy out there as we found out when we were trying to sleep at nearly midnight and some people who I think were holding a conference or meeting or something at the hotel were right outside our suite laughing and joking. Do you really expect that when you have paid for one of their best rooms which we had paid just short of us$400 a night!! That was disappointing. But other than this it is a great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAK100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFlake, Manager at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear MAK100,

Thank you for your kind review, despite the noise! We're so sorry for the disturbance and had we known, we would have promptly asked the noisy guests to quite down. The deck is closed after 9:00 pm to groups, precisely to prevent what happened to you. Thank you for choosing us and thank you for booking our nicest room. This shouldn't have happened, and for those of you who are concerned by MAK100's comments, please know that loud conversation is not permitted on the deck, after 9:00 pm, and if the host on duty is notified (we should have checked, proactively, as well), he or she will see that the noise abates.

I do appreciate, even though you experienced the noise, your positive review, MAK100.

Thank you, and as always, if any of you reading, have concerns, please reach out to me, directly, at the hotel.

Sincerely,

Justin Flake
General Manager
Waters Edge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    99
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
76
255
19
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is exactly what a good boutique hotel should be : no frills, good accommodation, nice looking hotel.

It has a great location, a nice little stet of Tiburon on one side, at the other side SF bay.
The rooms are very spacious, elegantly decorated, the beds are the biggest I have seen, the bathrooms are big and functional. All rooms have a view to the sea.

There is a cool terrace at the back, over the marina, where they offer everyday a Cheese & Wine complimentary service by the sunset. The terrace has sun beds an chill out furniture.

There is no room service but the staff helped us order take aways from the nearby restaurants.
Breakfast is included and is abundant and good quality. It is served in the room, which we appreciated.

You also get free bikes which are great to explore that beautiful area.

Room Tip: Take the big room by the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizard7275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

My husband and I are staying here for 3 days and we can't stop talking about what a fabulous place this is! The staff is awesome. The rooms are clean and spells like you are in a spa. The location is exceptional. The deck of the hotel overlooks the beautiful city of SF and Angel Island. We are definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Our room was very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamps
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Found it a generally a nice hotel with a lovely balcony that all guests can use to look out over the bay with a cute fire pit at night . Staff were very helpful and location is very central. The in room fire place was fab, I just found the decor in our room a little dated -especially in the bathroom , Other hotels we stayed at in this price bracket offered full sized "soaking"tub or a Jacuzzi but our king view room just had a strange round basin like affair that was very shallow and not really usable as a bath . It maybe because of the current exchange rate but worked our about £280 a night inc the parking fee which seemed a bit high.

Room Tip: We were on the ferry/angel island side - if you are staying at the weekend this seems preferable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Super close to nice restaurants in a quaint little town with shops and a small movie theatre. Service was great, friendly employees. Room was clean and spacious. Breakfast was decent. The chilled water provided was a nice touch. My only complaint is the noise...each morning between 4-5am we were awoken by workers outside pushing heavy carts. And the walls seemed to be extremely thin. Overall an excellent choice, just bring your ear plugs!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank B C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Water's Edge for one night during our honeymoon. As soon as we stepped foot in the hotel, we knew we were going to have a great stay. We caught the end of the wine and cheese hour, so we enjoyed some crackers and cheese and a glass of wine in the lobby before we brought our bags into the room.

Our room was on the second floor, and it had a fireplace (!), amazing bathroom, and incredibly comfortable king bed. The best part of the stay was the breakfast - the hotel has a pre-arranged menu that guests can choose from and they deliver the breakfast to your room, at a time determined by the guest. We had ours delivered at 9:30 a.m., and they were there on the dot. The food was delicious!

The only drawback was how thin the walls seemed to be. Our hotel was on the side of the outdoor restaurant, and there was a party of some sort happening well into the wee hours. This definitely affected our sleep, but isn't really the fault of the hotel. Also, each room offers a small outdoor patio, and our neighbour was on the patio in the morning, before 7 a.m., speaking very loudly. Again, this isn't the hotel's fault, but bringing a pair of ear plugs is a good idea.

The location is also great - the hotel is right next to the ferry dock, which we took advantage of in the morning. The town the hotel is located in is beautiful, and has a lot of small shops to visit. The hotel also has bicycles available for hotel guests to explore the city.

Overall, this was a wonderful stay. A big thank you to Sarah, who checked us in and was so helpful and kind. We hope to come back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goldzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the Water's Edge Hotel very stressed and travel weary as we had a harrowing 6 hour drive on Highway 1 down the coast which we thought would take 2 hours!We were tired,exhausted and hungry .Phil calmly offered to handle our luggage and immediately took us to our lovely,quiet,cool room!Phil then made the suggestion for a dinner reservation at a lovely waterfront restaurant and made the reservations for us.This was eactly what we needed to refresh ourselves..Our entire stay at this hotel felt very calming and relaxing.We again thank Phil,who was wonderful,and his quietly efficient and friendly staff!
We will return soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Property: Waters Edge Hotel
Address: 25 Main St, Tiburon, CA 94920-2507
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing