We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Certificate of Excellence
Oceanside, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the Water's Edge Hotel very stressed and travel weary as we had a harrowing 6 hour drive on Highway 1 down the coast which we thought would take 2 hours!We were tired,exhausted and hungry .Phil calmly offered to handle our luggage and immediately took us to our lovely,quiet,cool room!Phil then made the suggestion for a dinner reservation at a lovely waterfront restaurant and made the reservations for us.This was eactly what we needed to refresh ourselves..Our entire stay at this hotel felt very calming and relaxing.We again thank Phil,who was wonderful,and his quietly efficient and friendly staff!
We will return soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    103
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
79
265
19
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prairie Village, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Perfect location - we wanted to stay outside of the city. The room was great, staff was very friendly and helpful and the views are spectacular. Nice happy hour with wine and snacks. Tiburon is a lovely location with great restaurants and shops and lots of opportunity for walking. Ferry to San Francisco is right outside the hotel. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLS9117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were here for 2 nights. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and room small but nice. Complimentary wine and cheese in the afternoon, free parking and breakfast in your room made it a nice value.
Location was beautiful once you get there, just off the beaten path. We had two wonderful meals within walking distance, Caprice (go at sunset and enjoy view of Golden Gate Bridge) and Don Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mb2495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We wanted a place to stay to stage our trip to Napa Valley the next day and found Waters Edge. It's a small, but amazingly well kept and had excellent service. The hotel was located in the middle of the beautifully restored town of Tiburon within walking distance of shopping and dining. A front patio was excellent for relaxing during the wine & cheese party every afternoon. There was also a second floor open deck for relaxing and looking back to the San Francisco skyline. The room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. The room rate (we paid $160 for a Sunday night stay) included a made to order breakfast delivered to your room. The only slight negative was that parking was in the city lot around the corner, which could be quite full at times @ $15/day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We love staying here. Sitting on the deck at night and watching the lights from San Francisco from across the bay is really the tops. The rooms are perfect. A fireplace to warm you in your king size bed, and breakfast brought to your room. My Idea of roughing it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 329William
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at the Waters Edge for three nights last August, and thought it was an excellent. It' location was perfect for exploring SF as the ferry from just outside goes regularly across to the FIsherman's Wharf area. The Golden Gate Bridge is a fairly short drive away, as is Muir Woods, and the nearby offsite parking was reasonably priced. We tried a couple of the local restaurants, and they were fine, and reasonably priced as well.

We also took advantage of their free bikes, and enjoyed a ride around the bay for a couple of hours towards Sausalito - at least until we reached the freeway.

We had booked one of the "View King" rooms and ended up in one of the two rooms at the end of the pier, overlooking the deck and the water. Getting that room on the bay was one of the highlights of our holiday. The in-room continental breakfast was excellent and it was lovely eating it overlooking the bay from the picture window.

It wasn't cheap, almost twice the price of the Marriott Larkspur where we stayed our final night (as the Waters Edge was unavailable), but by SF city standards it was reasonable, and definitely worth the splurge, We would definitely recommend the Waters Edge and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ex-sandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our first trip to the Bay Area and the Sonoma/Napa Valley. We wanted to start out with a trip to the incredible Muir Woods so we wanted to book a hotel nearby. Wasn't too impressed with anything in the Sausalito area. Of the hotels listed on Trip Advisor for Tiburon, booking a room here seemed like a no brainer since it was literally on the Waters Edge! We were not disappointed. So easy to get to from Muir Woods. From the moment we checked in, I knew we made the right decision. Super friendly gal assisted us at check-in. Our room was upstairs towards the back. Spacious and nicely appointed. A nice view of the bay. We asked for a great dinner recommendation and we were led to Don Antonio, the #1 restaurant in the area and only a 3-5 minute walk from the hotel. Great choice! But the highlight of our one and only night at Waters Edge was when we returned to the hotel and went upstairs on the back deck to relax. Wow! The view of the San Francisco city landscape was breathtaking. Seeing the anchored sailboats bobbing in the water right off the deck was so relaxing. And the fire pit was incredible!!! In fact, the pictures we took that evening of us relaxing on the deck were the best pictures we took of the entire trip....and we took some great pictures! Also super loved the Aveda bath products generously supplied in the bathroom, though I'm disappointed to learn they are changing vendors soon. Another nice touch was all the flavored water/fruit available in the hallways. Just lots of nice, welcoming touches throughout the entire hotel. We loved staying here because it was quaint, cozy, clean, modern touches, and killer views of the city. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level close to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LandofOz14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,401 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
975 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
293 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Property: Waters Edge Hotel
Address: 25 Main St, Tiburon, CA 94920-2507
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing