We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another relaxing fabulous stay.”
Review of Waters Edge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waters Edge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Third stay here after flying from the UK. A relaxing experience as usual. Fabulous view across the bay. Great room (221) with private deck. bed sooo comfItable! Staff helpful. Cheese and wine on arrival and breakfast brought to room AM. We will be back again next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sausage47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 477 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We booked this hotel after a two week vacation in the MontereyCarmel Valley area (check our vrbo.com/105482 - amazing) and were not disappointed. Tiburon is so pretty/quaint it is almost 'twee' but this hotel (the only one with a waterside location) was class, class, class. No parking, but public parking available around the corner (50 yards max) and some short term parking outside hotel for bag unloading.

Reception staff supper friendly, and gave us the details efficiently and unassumingly. Room was lovely - looking westwards at the fabulous homes on the hill, which caught the morning light wonderfully. A real log fireplace, complete with easy start log pack - lovely to go to sleep to.

Wine and cheese reception on the desk (complimentary) from 5 to 6.30 made a great start to the evening, followed by a really good meal in a restaurant across the street. Second night, after a day in SF (use the ferry, again only 100 yds from hotel) back to dinner in another of Tiburon's excellent restaurants before crashing in room.

Breakfast (complimentary) ordered night before and delivered to room, and it was truly excellent. My OH is intolerant of dairy food, and a common experience in USA - 'we only have butter/cook with butter' - sadly here also. We'd have been happy with a minipack of margarine! But, that is a minor niggle in extreme, and is not specific to this hotel.

Free wifi, robes, a wonderfully comfortable bed, super staff, the wonderful deck overlooking the bay (with a lovely firepit to sit by), great breakfast.

I would recommend this as a retreat short trip without reservation. It is not the cheapest, but neither was it horribly expensive, and the little extras can soon add up if not included (breakfast, wifi).

All in all, a class act!

Room Tip: The two large rooms/suite overlooking bay directly actually seem to overlook the deck, which is shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astacus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed in room 218 overlooking the marina from a small, 2 person balcony and two large windows. SAMs restaurant below to the right can be a little noisy but in a light-hearted, fun sort of way. The staff were wonderful and could not have been more helpful. The decor is subdued contemporary and very relaxing. The hotels location in the middle of the tiny intimate high street is excellent for restaurants and shops alike. We ate in Salt & Pepper (average) and Caprice (excellent) a 5 minute walk round the bay with an excellent water front location and view to the Golden Gate bridge. The only drawbacks, which wouldn't stop me going there again, are the lack of breakfast room so all bedrooms have an excellent breakfast choice delivered and the lack of a car park, but having said that the walk to the municiple car park is shorter than the car park of some hotels I have stayed in. Car parking in the whole area is expensive. The Waters Edge charges $15 per night. We payed $42.50 at the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDG424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived on a Tuesday with a check-out for Friday. We are greeted with wine and cheese. Flowers I had ordered were in the room. Our luggage was promptly delivered. On top of everything, our room was upgraded to the best in the house. Breakfast, with a wide selection was promptly delivered each morning. A fresh log is provided daily for the fireplace. Wifi is free and worked well. Bath robes Were a nice touch. The hotel is well maintained and very clean
The hotel sits ON San Francisco Bay and the view from the deck consists of the yacht club marina, San Francisco Bay, Angel Island and the entire skyline of San Francisco. Less than 50 yards away is the ferry landing providing transportation to the city business area or Fisherman's Wharf.
On Wednesday we extended our stay to Saturday. Friday nights are a delight when Main Street is closed and many of the locals gather for live music and tables setup in the street for dinner provided from the local restaurants. There are at least 9 restaurants within a five minute walk or hop the ferry to Fisherman's Wharf. We only drove the car to get to Napa Valley, less than an hour away.

Room Tip: Choose a View Room. The closer to the stairs/elevator the lesser the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We were disappointed that the room did not live up to the hype. It was clean and had some good points such the I-Pod docking station, great toiletries and free wifi. The cheese & wine was fab, and the breakfast delivered to your room to order at the specified time was excellent. We had a free up-grade, which was brilliant but the room still seemed somewhat tired & dated. There was no table & chairs where we could eat our breakfast so the tray was balanced on the bed. Having said that, the staff were extremely polite, courteous & helpful so full marks to them. No on-site parking, though there is a facility to park within a couple of hundred yards, there is an additional $15 cost to this.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kemper_Forbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFlake, Manager at Waters Edge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Kemper_Forbes,

I'm really dissapointed that our rooms didn't quite meet your expectations. I am really glad, though, that you found us to have great service, cheese & wine, nice room ammenities, and excellent breakfast. I'm also happy that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade and that you enjoyed the ipod docking station in you room. I'm open and and interested in what you think could have been better. If you'd give me a call at the hotel, I'd greatly appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Justin Flake
General Manager
Waters Edge Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We just returned from 3 days in beautiful Tiburon, CA. We stayed at Waters Edge Hotel and it was perfect. I will always stay here instead of San Francisco. The botique hotel is beautiful and amazing. The service is the best. ( Martin, Adam & Phillip) the three names I remember, but everybody is equally as professional and helpful.

Our room was on the 2nd floor with a view of the beautiful bay. Room 211 has a nice balcony and if you look to the right you have the entire view of the bay and San Francisco. The room is a nice size for two people. The beds are so comfortable that we slept the entire night without waking up once.

The wonderful tasty breakfast would cost you 15.00 pp elsewhere and it's included in the price of the room. After a long day the wine and cheese was a nice way to relax.

Trust me you will not regret staying here, but you might regret staying somewhere else.

Justin Flake which is the general manager knows how to run an excellent hotel with a caring staff.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Great place to stay! I echo everything I have read. Staff was great. Night clerk Arthur went the extra mile!! To be fair the rooms are a little on the small side, same with the bathroom, but so worth the trade! Amazing comfortable beds, awesome fireplace, deck out back with beautiful views, breakfast served to your room at the time you pick and wine and cheese every afternoon. Our biggest complaint was we didn't get to spend as much time at the hotel as we wanted to because we were so busy! Can't wait to get back, we go to the Bay area fairly regularly and it is definitely our new "go to" place to stay!! THANKS!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruisincally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tiburon
0.1 mi away
The Lodge at Tiburon
The Lodge at Tiburon
#2 of 2 in Tiburon
1,589 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Sausalito
Hotel Sausalito
#4 of 4 in Sausalito
307 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#3 of 4 in Sausalito
1,025 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mill Valley San Francisco Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waters Edge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waters Edge Hotel

Address: 25 Main St, Tiburon, CA 94920-2507
Location: United States > California > Marin County > Tiburon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Tiburon
Price Range: $253 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waters Edge Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waters Edge is inspired by Eastern seaboard architecture and the exotic merchant trade of the San Francisco Bay. Located on the water in charming downtown Tiburon, the Waters Edge brings an added ambiance of global sophistication to this unique part of Northern California. Restful rooms feature crisp white feather beds, and comfy chaises with hand-knitted throws perfect for afternoon naps. Many rooms look out to stunning views of San Francisco and Angel Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waters Edge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waters Edge Tiburon
Hotel Waters Edge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing