We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 360 views of the Bay area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mt. Livermore

Ranked #6 of 24 things to do in Tiburon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The hike to the summit of Mt. Livermore (781 feet) provides visitors with magnificent views of Marin County, San Francisco and the Golden Gate.
DC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great 360 views of the Bay area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We hiked the Ida trail to the summit & took the Sunset trail back down to the Perimeter road since we were camping. The Ida trail is steep & shorter, while the Sunset trail has long switchbacks & not steep. We preferred the Ida trail which also had better views, but the Sunset trail has more shade. We saw many deer on the hike up. We hiked on a very clear day so you could see 4 bridges & a 360 view of the Bay area cities. There are lots of shrubs at the top so to get the best views you need to stand on the picnic tables. Be sure to bring a good camera, water & food, & binoculars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PSCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“View to die”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

No place in the bay can you get a better 360 view of our great SF bay. You can see three bridges, sailboats, barges to large ships.
The hike is great from any starting point. In the spring you will see wild florwes in full mass. Dear roam the hills in the early mornings. go for an hour run along the ridge and down all the way to Tiburon. A killer place to see fireworks on the 4th if it is clear and one of the best spots to view the Perseids Meteor shower on the nights of August 11 and 12

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank SurFun5389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont
Level Contributor
131 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Even though the ferry doesn't go to Angel Island during the week during the winter, if you ever get a chance to camp on the island, do not miss climbing up Mt. Livermore at night (make sure you have a good flashlight and batteries and wear hiking boots). The 360degree view of the Bay Area is spectacular. Watching the lights come on in San Francisco or watching sunset over the Golden Gate Bridge on non-foggy evenings is amazing.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RosalieBelmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A gem of the Bay area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012 via mobile

I did the trail with my father 20 years ago - wife and son hiking it now while my daughter and I rest under the trees ad watch the water traffic! Make the trip!!!

Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2006

A friend and I took a day trip to Angel Island. It was the first trip for both of us. She is an avid hiker/outdoorswoman, whereas I am proud that I can hike the four flights of stairs to my office so we are looking at two totally different skill levels here. We took the ferry from Tiburon, which cost $10.25 round trip for adults. You can also take a ferry from Oakland or S.F. We paid $2 to park all day in the Tiburon Blvd lot (on the left-hand side, prior to Beach Street), and the parking gets more expensive the closer to the ferry you park, for example it is $10 per day at the Main Street lot.

There were many overnight campers, cyclists with their bikes, picnicers with ice chests, a wedding party heading over to set up for the ceremony, and a bunch of day hikers, like us, with their CamelPaks. You purchase your ferry tickets as you board the boat, rather than ahead of time, so the boarding process is slow and it is helpful if you have the exact change. During the short ferry ride we saw a sea lion frolicking in the waves.

After the ferry dropped us off, we headed to the Visitors Center where Brenda the docent offered us several hiking trail options, maps, and island information. As we were first-timers, she recommended the Sunset Trail or Northridge Trail to the top of Mt. Livermore. We ended up taking the Sunset Trail up, and Northridge Trail down. It took us about 1 hour 15 fifteen minutes to walk up the narrow (single file), twisting path, but we were walking at a leisurely pace and stopping frequently to admire the views. The trek down the Northridge Trail seemed a lot easier and a lot shorter, but perhaps that is because it was all downhill. I found the hike the challenging and my legs are sore two days later, but Hiker Chick breezed through it and thought it was more of a hill than a mountain.

The view from the top of Mt. Livermore was just awesome. Definitely bring a camera. You could see for miles in every direction, from beautiful S.F. , Alcatraz, Treasure Island, Golden Gate and Bay Bridges, Tiburon, and Sausalito. There are only about 4 picnic tables at the top, which were occupied, so I ended up eating my sandwich standing up. There was not a lot of room to sit and admire the view, but we were happy to stand and admire the view.

Weatherwise it was a warm, sunny 75 degrees. I brought layers of clothing because the Bay Area weather can be unpredictable and change throughout the day, but I ended up in a short sleeve t-shirt the whole day, lugging a windbreaker and long-sleeve t-shirt 'just in case'.

You can rent bikes on the island for $10 an hour, or $30 for the day. There are lockers for $1, restrooms, and a cafe. There is a tram, which we did not ride, but they give you a 2-for-1 coupon to ride the tram on a weekday. Perhaps we will do that next time.

We took the 4:20 ferry back and spent some time shopping in downtown Tiburon before enjoying dinner overlooking the yacht club on the outdoor patio at Sam's. It was a great day all around.

Helpful?
14 Thank CatSchroedinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mt. Livermore also viewed

Tiburon, Marin County
Tiburon, Marin County
 

Been to Mt. Livermore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing