We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room is clean thats all”
Review of Flag Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Flag Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rivervale
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Room is clean thats all”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Really expensive for what you get, if you have the time shop around.
The room is clean and bathroom too give points for that compared to other places thats about all on the good side.
Shower has a curtain which means water gets all over the floor in the bathroom bit of a nuisance. No ironing board or iron in room a kettle is all you get. Air con unit is absolutely useless can't even take the chill from the room.
You dont need an alarm clock as you will be woken up at approximately 5.00am every morning by a truck driving in and then backing out a few minutes later.
No shampoo or tissues supplied or any other toiletries.
Toilet paper is low quality.
There is a laundry with one washing machine and dryer, a dollar or two more then most other places I have stayed to use.
Restaurant has a long waiting period, however it was recommended not to eat there as they do not know the difference between well done and rare.
The first night there it smelt of garbage outside the restaurant not a pleasant introduction.
Seems to be a lot of people standing around drinking beer no alcohol served in the restaurant either.
Its a bit of a nuisance to find in the dark with major road works happening outside, the motel is now set back from the road and its easy to miss the driveway till you get used to its location.
The place is two story its a bit of a hassle lugging a 20kg bag up the stairs.
Parking does not seem to be a problem at all on the premises, surprised they don't charge a surcharge for it.

This place is only interested in making dollars not the comfort of the guests it seems.

Room Tip: If by chance you decide to stay here a ground floor room away from the restaurant would be much more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    22
    10
    6
See reviews for
14
12
5
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here overnight as we arrived in Perth after flights from the Eastern States and saw the vacancy sign lit up. (We were too tired to drive home near Bunbury.) Room was nice and clean with nice hot water and the heater kept the room toasty all night. Close to Airports and even though there are roadworks outside on GE Hwy, the room was quiet. Had a small kitchenette too, which would be good if staying more than 1 night. Will definitely return if we have late/early flights in the future.

Room Tip: Motel is renovating at present, try to get a room that is finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank source4divorce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie,Western Austarlia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I have stayed at the Flag Motor Lodge Perth several times over the last couple of years and never had any problems there,what you pay for is what you get,and always helpful and friendly'
I admit having read some of the recent reviews i was expecting it to have gone downhill but not a bit of it.My wife and i had a superior room to the side upstairs with our own balcony.Not at any stage did we hear the roadworks or have any problems with FIFO workers although there were quite a few staying there judging by the number of working blokes in their ones and twos eating that night.
Room,whilst not being overly large large was clean and tidy,the staff were all friendly and helpful,dinner was quite good value for money and wait staff were pleasant and courteous.
I did actually ask who was the recalcitrant amongst the staff as I was interested re some of the recent reviews but nobody admitted to being that person and as staed,all staff,front ,wait etc were on the ball.
I will definitely stay there again next trip to Perth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otistdriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Clean rooms that have had new carpets and a coat of paint, layout is old motel style, front rooms facing the highway could be noisy, construction works outside july-12. 3star and no more accommodation. $165 room rate. $18 taxi ride to airport. Restaurant closes early. Ok just for overnighter FIFO but it is probably the least appealing motel of the many I've stayed in so far in Perth.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank svEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

needed to find accom at last minute,everything was booked out in the area bar this,i now know why.At $165 per night it is very steep.spent 2 nights there ,Currently the road it faces (great eastern hwy)is undergoing major roadworks 24hrs a day,so sleep was constantly interupted from bobcats and heavy trucks moving dirt and concrete at all hours.why this was needed to be done at 3am is baffling.The room was clean shower was renovated but basic.It only contained a kettle ,which is very annoying as we have a 2 year old and cannot heat any food for him,A MICROWAVE GOES A LONG WAY!!.Internet was $20 per day and the signal in room 64 was transmitted at low at best of times.Had breakfast on our day of departure i had bacon eggs it was burnt bacon all over ,wife has scrambled eggs,son had rice bubbles at $29.80 i was very unimpressed.For the price you expect some standards,the staff were polite but somewhat uninterested, eating there dinner together and checking me in was amusing somewhat.

Room Tip: ask for a room at back of complex ,way from the hwy...if you have to stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shadur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rivervale hotels

KARRATHA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the FLAG MOTOR LODGE for over 32 years, ever since we started going out together and then after we had our family. It was wonderful but especially in the last 6 - 12 months there has been a change of staff and one staff member in particular is very, very abrupt and rude!Nothing has done about her despite numerous complaints from other clients and also staff members.

We used to have a lot of respect for the manager and duty manager but as they do not seem to want to look after long time clients and are only out for the ''big bucks'' we are going to stay elsewhere from now on.It is a shame because we had the highest respect for the management but they seem too slack to address issues that are losing them clients, mind you we get the impression they really dont care as they can always fill the rooms with other workers from mining companies etc which is really disappointing!

The rooms are clean and the meals and housekeeping staff are absolutely fantastic! So are most of the reception stafff apart from one!

We hope you do not come across this person, you will know if you do!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cathy6714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldivis, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stay here quite often with work. The rooms are neat and tidy, recently renovated and have a large screen TV. The meals are basic and good. If you fancy something different the Red Cray is across the road and there are also a few other options not far away.
Just a word of warning - the restaurant is only BYO so you can only order a soft drink with your meal, but there is a bottle shop just down the road so that solves that problem. There is a fair bit of road works going on out the front with the widening of the Great Eastern Hwy, so you get a bit of a traffic snarl in the mornings so leave yourself plenty of time to get away.
Over all it is a reasonably priced and clean motel with good meals. Far cheaper than what some of the other places in Perth think they are entitled to charge nowadays.
There is quite a large contingent of Fly In Fly out workers here, but I have never had any problems with noised or anything. It is very close to the airport and most people depart pretty early in the morning

Room Tip: Some rooms have a balcony. You could request a room back from the highway, but I have stayed in a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rivervale
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Bel Eyre Perth
0.6 mi away
Assured Ascot Quays Apartment Hotel
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Ascot Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Crown Promenade Perth
Crown Promenade Perth
#3 of 3 in Burswood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
2.4 mi away
Airport Apartments
Airport Apartments
#1 of 3 in Redcliffe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Eastern Motor Lodge
Great Eastern Motor Lodge
#1 of 3 in Rivervale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flag Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flag Motor Lodge

Property: Flag Motor Lodge
Address: 129 Great Eastern Hwy, Rivervale, Perth, Western Australia 6103, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > Rivervale
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Rivervale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flag Motor Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering the perfect blend of quality, comfort and affordability, only minutes from the centre of Perth ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Flag Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flag Motor Hotel Perth
Flag Hotel Perth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing