We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most memorable holiday ever.”
Review of The Tamara Coorg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tamara Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most memorable holiday ever.”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Tamara Coorg is the best holiday resort, no doubt about that. A lot of effort and attention to detail has gone in designing the resort, the views from the rooms and the restaurant are spectacular. The rooms are tastefully designed and well equipped. The Rooms are on elevated platforms so that very little of the land is build on and there is maximum greenery.

What stood out specially was the courteous and attentive staff. They were spontaneous in making us feel special. And this came out in little things which are so important. For instance, the Chef offered to give us some sandwiches and juices for the journey back, which itself was a pleasant surprise, and then later when we were walking back to the room with the food hamper, A staff member from the Restaurant offered to take the food hamper to the reception, to save us some trouble. As we went to the reception for checkout, we noticed that our car was already ready, washed and waiting at the reception. And when we got into the car, saw two bottles of mineral water inside. These were the tiny details which made such a big impact on me personally.

The last evening was a pleasant surprise, the Restaurant team had set up a separate table for us on the Glass Floor, the table had colorful streamers and a candle lit, and as we entered the disco strobe lights were on, on top of the table. And the staff wished us happy anniversary. We felt so special.

They have a guided Plantation Trail and a Coffee experience at the Veranda with many interesting tidbits and details.

We went on the trek as well, they have wonderful guides, the 13 Km trek was just right, slightly tough in small parts, and through the jungle for a little while, gave a sense of adventure for city bred folk like us, yet was not at all exhausting.

I had a foot massage and a body massage. This is one of the best massages I have ever had.

The prelude to the excellent service happened when we were on our way, we got calls from Tamra to make sure we were on the right road and not lost. In most resorts we need to call the hotel for directions.

At every step we were looked after so well, I think I have covered only a few instances. The whole team at The Tamara is wonderful. We will be remembering and talking about this holiday fondly for a very long time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BalajiSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, VP-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are truly heartened to hear that we could accomplish in making you and your partner feel special.

The cottages at The Tamara Coorg are conceptualized with great care for superior comfort and complete rejuvenation, without burdening the surrounding eco-system. The excellent service, the oxygen rich environment and superior facilities at The Tamara Coorg make for an unrivaled holiday experience.

We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to delight you.

Warm Regards,
Team The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    59
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
306
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last year with my family. My son wrote a review under my account a month or so back. Having said that, Tamara is a place you must stay in. Coming from a non Hotel background, the management has done a Fantafabulous job ! The Property, the service, the rooms ( like Tree houses) , the Treks, the whole EXPERIENCE is something that can only be experienced. The word that comes to my mind is Exotic.
The staff are very humble & nice & take good care of you in comparison with big Hotel chains like the Taj's (except West End), ITC's, Hyatt group etc. which are very professional & nice but lack the WARMTH.
Met the general manager, a nice gentleman, who asked me to write back what I feel, somehow never got time or slipped of my mind. This review is genuinely what I feel & one should stay here for sure.
The only drawback was the approach road was not great, but all that will be forgotten once you enter inside.
Must stay !

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
Thank toffee003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, VP-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you so much for this wonderful review. The Tamara Coorg is indeed one of the exotic places in the world situated inside a fully functional coffee and spice plantation with varied indoor and outdoor activities.
We believe in going that extra distance to know each and every one of our valued guest to provide them with unmatched hospitality. We ensure that our efforts makes your stay unforgettable.

We eagerly look forward to hosting you again.

Warm Regards,
Team The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Well me and my husband were frustrated with our hectic schedule in Bangalore. So we were looking for some good place to relax.

Price :To begin with when we were looking at this resort online we found it pretty costly. We have never stayed at a place where price was more than Rs.3000. & my goosh this place was Rs.18k. First thought was "NO.. NO WAY".
But after our marriage we were going out for first time so though let's take a chance.

And we made absolutely no mistake in choosing this Place. Awesome.. Splendid... Mind blowing ... It costly but it is DEFINITELY worth the cost.

Service: Once you're in the resort you don't need to spend more. Coffee plantation walk and Yoga will be a good option.

Food: It was awesome... I would rate it 6/5 star's (Trust me I know what I have written)

Ambience : You will feel like you have been given a hill to live 24 hours of your life. Peaceful.. Calm... Romantic ....

Hospitality : My husband is an team lead in an MNC. We are not milti-millionaire, but people around us were making us feel like that... Ahhh.. We enjoyed when people treat you well for the price you have paid.

I would say... It's a place where everyone should once in life time... It's a life time experience which you will never forget sharing with you friends telling then WHAT TAMARA in Coorg is.

Love you guys for giving us these memories.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Surabhi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, VP-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Ms Surabhi,

​It was pleasure to host you at The Tamara​. ​We are​ situated in the midst of fully functional coffee plantation to provide a scenic journey, past green misty hills, spice plantations and open grasslands-lined with spectacular waterfalls, and delightful trekking tracks. Our cottages are a meticulously designed to a perfect blend of idyllic and pristine qualities of an ancient land with ultra modern amenities.

​It was pleasure to host you at The Tamara, We do hope your next visit soon.

Warm Regards
Team The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgaum, India
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This was our first time in coorg n a friend suggested to stay at tamara..This place is in the interior part n hence took us a while to reach..nevertheless it was worth the travel..we were greeted warmly at the reception with a cup of cold coffee(coffee from the estate)..I loved the place n d coffee instantly..itz a 176 acre estate,which is massive..check in was smooth n there are baggis that took us to the cottages (saves us from the long walks)..we had reserved for a luxury cottage which I absolutely loved..They look lik the chalets in Switzerland,beautifully made and well maintained..rooms are clean n luxurious..bathrooms are spacious with good amenities. .The whole place gives u a feel of peace n privacy. .room service wasn't available which was a huge drawback,atleast for us,since we would love to enjoy snacks in the beautiful balconies enjoying the view..we requested at the reception,BT our request was denied bluntly,BT they tried to compensate with a free meal which I think was very thoughtful. .evenings are amazingly romantic n I jus couldn't get over how beautiful n scenic it was out there..With the fog moving across us while we walked..This trip totally made my weekend worth it..definetly must see..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view while you reserve..Some room views may b blocked with trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelEEFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, VP - Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with The Tamara Coorg and sharing your holiday experience. We are extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay. Situated in the midst of a coffee plantation, we strive to give each of our guests a peaceful and serene holiday.

Since our resort is situated very close to the forests of the Western Ghats, our surroundings attract insects and birds. For this reason, we refrain from serving our guests food inside the rooms. Our cottages are designed to be in harmony with our surroundings with minimal impact on the natural environment.

It is heartening to note that you had a pleasurable stay in our luxury cottages. We look forward to receiving you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Team The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This place is really out of the world and just a bliss, has been appropriately awarded as most romantic destination among the lot. The tree houses, the greenery, coffee plantations, refreshing air gives you a perfect breakthrough. To add on the yoga sessions under Rudraksha Tree, a trek through a forest makes it more fascinating. I never have tasted such delicious food as compared to Tamara, that was just awesome, people are best at their service and hospitality is in every molecule. We loved our experience at Tamara Coorg.

A mix of serenity, love and a place which is away from world's hustle and bustle - a perfect place to rejuvenate

PS Beware of the Leeches (but it has its own fun)

Room Tip: Tree Houses are a wonderful and different way to stay in, they have different grades, one can chose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarunvandita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, VP-Sales & Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Tarun,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your holiday experience. As rightfully said, The Tamara Coorg, is indeed a blissful place to stay for a complete rejuvenation of body and mind. Nature is our inspiration and we have taken immense care not to disturb the Eco-system while providing our guests with a luxurious stay in an oxygen-rich environment.We would be delighted to welcome you back in our little slice of paradise.

Do visit us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more.

Warm Regards,
Team The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week for our wedding anniversary. From the minute we made the booking, The Tamara staff demonstrated their high levels of service and professionalism. We were called and asked if it was a special occasion and if we had any dietary preferences. We were also called on the morning of check in to see whether we needed help with directions. The drive into the estate is incredible, winding up the hillside 4kms from the road. Upon arrival we were greeted with cool towels and cold coffee before being whisked away to our room in an electric buggy. The rooms are fantastic, built on stilts on the hillside with breathtaking views across the valley. Chef Ranjan and his staff consistently produced fabulous meals, and Chef often came to our table to ask if we wanted anything in particular. I am gluten and lactose intolerant and after hearing this, Chef made special desserts for me every meal.The staff gave us a candle lit meal on the evening of our wedding anniversary and the housekeeping staff decorated our bed with flowers. The extra activities are great fun, the plantation walk and coffee experience as well as they mountain trek with Lokesh. We will definitely be returning to Tamara as it was one of the best holidays we have had. The staff go out of their way to make you feel special with service far exceeding what you would expect from a 5 star.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BangaloreKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, VP-Sales & Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Guest,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are delighted to know that we could make your special day even more special. We, at Tamara take immense pleasure knowing that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. The Tamara Coorg is one of a kind resort which is located inside a fully functional coffee estate. We will be honored to let Chef Ranjan and his staff know about your glowing recommendation. Our Chefs takes great pride in knowing each and every guests food preference and making your stay a culinary delight. We do hope you visit us again and give us another opportunity to delight you.

Do visit us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more.

Warm Regards,
Team The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The weekend stay was the break we wanted from our hectic schedule. The location, ambience, cottages, restaurant and staff were just excellent. The food was very tasty, had a lot of variety and the staff at the restaurant were always there to help. Would definitely like to visit again after the rains as we missed the water falls.

Room Tip: New Cottages starting with 2-- would have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyam280554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, VP-Sales & Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Shyam,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your holiday experience.
Our Chefs take immense pride in whisking up the most delectable dishes which tantalizes the taste buds of even the most seasoned travellers. Witnessing the glory of nature at its best is one of the perks of staying in Tamara, and we are delighted to know that your stay was extremely pleasurable. We would love to host you again/ We are eagerly waiting for your return.


Do visit us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more.

Warm Regards,
Team The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yavakapadi Village
15.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 24 in Madikeri
1,418 reviews
17.7 mi away
Evolve Back Luxury Resorts
16.7 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 24 in Madikeri
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
16.0 mi away
The Ibnii
The Ibnii
#6 of 24 in Madikeri
57 reviews
20.4 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamara Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamara Coorg

Property: The Tamara Coorg
Address: Kabbinakad Estate, Napoklu Nad, Yavakapadi Village 571212, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Yavakapadi Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yavakapadi Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tamara Coorg 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Madikeri Taluk, The Tamara Coorg has been conceptualized as a hymn to the beauty of the Western Ghats. Revealed to the world in 2012, The Resort presides over an estate of 180.02 acres producing Coffee, Cardamom, Pepper, and mixed woodlands on the ragged slopes of an east facing hill. The breathtaking ambiance has been conceptualized as aesthetic, eco-friendly compliments to the natural environment, adding superb luxuries to create an experiential getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Tamara Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing