We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They understand the word hospitality”
Review of The Tamara Coorg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Tamara Coorg
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“They understand the word hospitality”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The last week of December was a week I was lucky enough to stay both at The Taj Vivanta in Coorg as well as The Tamara. While you are sold about how awesome the Taj is when you check in to the Hotel and see the view from the top,the overall experience at The Tamara is far superior.

Friendlier Staff,better aligned with nature,more greenery and better food. Also the cottages here even tho smaller than the one at Taj are cozier. If you are finding it tough to choose between The Taj and The Tamara my advice would be to choose the latter. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arpan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, VP-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your generous words of appreciation of our resort The Tamara Coorg. The cottages at our property are tucked away in the heart of a coffee & spice plantation and therefore provide our guests a cozy stay amidst lush greenery. Guests can enjoy the refreshing air & warm camaraderie from our staff throughout their stay.

We hope you stay with us again in the future and enjoy our services.

Warm Regards,
The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    59
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
102
306
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

A must visit for all. Great staff, super location, Eco-friendly approach makes u feel like you are resting in the lap of Mother Nature. Trails n Plantation tours with coffee brewing experience are a real stress buster. What is amazing is that the way rooms are panned out, there is complete privacy for all guest. Thoroughly impressed with the service quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemang555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, GM-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Hemang,

Thank you for sharing your holiday experience. The Tamara Coorg’s unique location—in the heart of a working coffee & spice plantation offers our guests something new during their stay. Our signature ‘blossoms to brew’ coffee experience is one of a kind and guests can learn to brew their own cup.

The elevated cottages create the sense of privacy for every guest as they can relax in their own private deck overlooking the woods or the hills.

We hope you stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Team Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visited Tamara with our extended family and were happy for it! No doubt, the property is verdant and lush, beautifully planned and wonderfully secluded. The rooms were the best part-well appointed, super comfortable and the sit-outs-blissful! Unlike some other Coorg Star properties the rooms at Tamara are easily accessible for the elderly-the buggies drop you at the door and you climb only two steps up. The Indian food at Tamara was good but we didn't think much of the Continental. The Staff are eager to please and friendly but need to rev up the efficiency a few notches. Tamara is perfect for Honeymooners-there to get to know each other and hang-about. It has very little to offer people of a more energetic nature- there is no pool,not much of a spa and hardly any activities offered. Although, these are apparently on the anvil. Tamara is certainly worth a visit for the peace and nature-loving. With the right group of friends or family, I would be happy to visit again!

Room Tip: Any room with a clear view of the Valley would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, GM-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. We are happy that you & your extended family had a comfortable stay at The Tamara Coorg. Care has been taken to ensure that guests have a great holiday experience right from the time they enter our property to the time they depart. The buggies ensure that guests reach the cottages quickly & with minimum effort.

Since the cottages are built on timber stilts in a 170-acre coffee plantation, they offer excellent views of the woods or of the hills. The Tamara also offers many recreational activities like trekking, plantation & nature walks. As we are located very close to the highest peak in the region, these invigorating activities provide a change of air and scenery for our guests.

The second phase of our project with gym, pool & spa is still under construction. We hope you will come back for an extended stay in the future.

Warm Regards,
Team Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I stayed @ The Tamara from 16-18 Dec, 2013 on my Honeymoon. I must say amazing and most wonderful experience, and worth every single penny. Awesome peaceful ambiance. Pretty good food and lots of options available to spend a quality time with your partner. Touched by the staff's hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviShah_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, GM-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Ravi Shah,

We are glad to know that you had a wonderful and an amazing experience at The Tamara Coorg during your honeymoon holiday.

The Tamara Coorg is a tranquil retreat where couples can spend quality time with each other while enjoying the greenery around. The views of the woods or the hills from the cottages are a source of delight for all our guests.

We hope you visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Team Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We were lucky to pick this resort for our honeymoon. It was a very pleasant experience. We went in the monsoon and enjoyed thoroughly. Excellent hospitality and service.

The location also makes it a must visit resort. The elevated rooms gives a nice view around the hotel and the greenery around it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KumaranVedagiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, GM-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Kumaran,

We are happy to know that your holiday at The Tamara Coorg was a very pleasant experience. The Tamara is uniquely designed as an ideal romantic destination any time of the year.

We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Warm Regards
Team Tamara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I decided to try a short vacation and were hunting for some exclusive resorts. We had very few past review of Tamara yet we took the plunge based on images on their website. And to our surprise, the images were just a fraction of the excellent experience we were to enjoy for next 3 nights.

Each of the rooms are amazing, however room 111 has best value for money view. The 'rooms' are one of the many twin cottages with balcony that opens up to the forest and valley. Our room was decently big, bathrooms were styled well and layout ensured that you can view the valley from your bed!!!

Tamara ensures that you dont have to go out for adventure and sightseeing or coffee plantations. They are all served on a platter. They have morning treks, coffee trails (where you get to roast your own coffee) and many other things to keep you occupied.

The Tamara has amazing restaurant just on one of the natural water falls and that itself is quiet an experience specially in Monsoon.

The quality of food is very good and the menu has just the right variety to tickle our taste buds. Also, the chefs are very warm and happy to serve you your choice of dish in style you like. They also have music nights and bring in artists to perform live.

Overall, the only one thing to be aware of is the distance. We were travelling from Mumbai so the trip from Bangalore airport to the place takes around 7-8 hours depending on car and driver.

Room Tip: Try room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling2explore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, GM-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at The Tamara Coorg. Thank you for choosing our resort for your short vacation. We have made immense efforts to give our guests a truly enchanting holiday experience, right from the design of the cottages to providing a fantastic view of the woods and hills beyond.

The Tamara Coorg offers varied activities around nature including trekking, Yoga & meditation, bird watching and plantation walks. We are located in the heart of working coffee and cardamom plantation, away from the bustling towns and cities so as to provide our guests an experience of being close to Nature. Our guests can explore the surroundings at their leisure and appreciate the fragile ecosystem on which we are housed.

We hope you will return to The Tamara Coorg for a longer stay in the near future.

Thanks once again.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The Tamara Coorg is tucked in a jungle type woods. From Bangalore it takes almost 7 hours but once you reach there you forget the long tiring journey. The resort is for those who like to be in nature, love peace & tranquil surrounding.
The vegetarian food was good in the dining area " THE DECK ". The room service is not provided which is a good system in such location, since it compulsory brings you out to enjoy the natural beauty. The system also saves us from the strong odor of the food in the room.
The philosophy behind designing the resort is something to admire as all structures are on stilt which uses very small area on ground , helping preserve the Eco System. The only draw back is, still swimming pool, gym & spa are not ready which are absolutely necessary in remote place like The Tamara.
The experience of makeing coffee powder of your choice at "The Varandha" was something unique. Over all the experience at The Tamara was exhilarating .

Room Tip: The room number above 200 have very distance mountain view. All other rooms have the view of woods .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay_Mody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaithriH, MaithriH, GM-Marketing at The Tamara Coorg, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Vijay,

Thank you very much for appreciating the beauty of our resort, The Tamara Coorg and truly understanding the nature of our lovely cottages designed in the heart of the coffee and spice plantation. Utmost care has been taken to give our guests a truly elevated living experience under the canopy of trees and densely shaded hills. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The next phase of our project with spa, gym and the swimming pool is under construction. We hope that you will visit us again to enjoy our new facilities.

It was a pleasure to host you at the resort. We would love to have you here again.

Warm regards,
The Tamara Coorg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yavakapadi Village
15.5 mi away
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
Vivanta by Taj Madikeri
#1 of 24 in Madikeri
1,418 reviews
17.7 mi away
Evolve Back Luxury Resorts
16.7 mi away
Heritage Resort Coorg
Heritage Resort Coorg
#4 of 24 in Madikeri
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Purple Palms Resort & Spa,Coorg
16.0 mi away
The Ibnii
The Ibnii
#6 of 24 in Madikeri
57 reviews
20.4 mi away
Paddington Resort & Spa
Paddington Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Somvarpet
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tamara Coorg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tamara Coorg

Property: The Tamara Coorg
Address: Kabbinakad Estate, Napoklu Nad, Yavakapadi Village 571212, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Karnataka > Kodagu (Coorg) > Yavakapadi Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Yavakapadi Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Tamara Coorg 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Madikeri Taluk, The Tamara Coorg has been conceptualized as a hymn to the beauty of the Western Ghats. Revealed to the world in 2012, The Resort presides over an estate of 180.02 acres producing Coffee, Cardamom, Pepper, and mixed woodlands on the ragged slopes of an east facing hill. The breathtaking ambiance has been conceptualized as aesthetic, eco-friendly compliments to the natural environment, adding superb luxuries to create an experiential getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Tamara Coorg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing