We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip lunch here.”

Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The acclaimed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge features internationally-inspired California cuisine that emphasizes the freshest local ingredients. Seasonal menus and daily specials tempt with many satisfying options, from delectable entrees, small plates and appetizers to casual tavern fare, resulting in sophisticated yet uncontrived dining. To complement the food, our Mendocino restaurant offers an award-winning selection of about 150 unique regional wines. The evolving wine list showcases selected small estate wineries of Sonoma and Mendocino Counties.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Skip lunch here.”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Though the restaurant only had one other table of diners and at least 2 waitresses, they made us wait 5-7 while they each passed by several times without even acknowledging us! Very rude.
The tables in the lunch room were not cleared; the waitress had to clear one so we could be seated--the others weren't bused for a good 15 minutes after we sat down.
I ordered a Cabernet, and instead revieved a Chardonnay (yuck!).
The lunch room is a tiny section away from the main dining room. It's built like a greenhouse, so, naturally, it was extremely hot. Hate eating when I'm sweating behind the ears! Our waters weren't refilled; I wasn't offered another glass of wine.
It was such a relief to get outside to the nice, cool air, put the top down and speed along our way fr here.
The food was fine. The service and atmosphere? Awful!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suz55tbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    58
    37
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Food is good but expensive.”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This review was for a group of 17, so it may be better for smaller groups. While the food was good, it was not memorable and we were given a limited menu (3 choices for entrees, one choice for soup or salad, and one choice for dessert for the entire group) at $95 per person (including tax and 20% tip). This was our most expensive dinner in a week-long tour and no other place provided such a limited menu, and since the choices all had to be set in advance, this limitation needs to be reconsidered. We were provided a private room which was great and made everything else okay.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Mikee47

Thanks for your comments. The challenge for us with the number of seats in the restaurant and the physical size of our kitchen facilities, is how to deliver everyone's entrees simultaneously. With groups of twos and fours it works well, but trying to get 17 orders all to the table hot and fresh, without part of group being served well after the others is something we work to perfect. That is why for larger groups, pre-fixe menus help expedite the process for us as well as can be expected. But I will share your comments with our team and work toward improving this experience for the future.

Regards,
SEA RANCH LODGE

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were very pleased with our two dinners at the Black Point Grill. Since we were something of a captive audience while staying at the Sea Ranch Lodge, we weren't sure what the food would be like. To our pleasant surprise, it really was pretty good. Service was very attentive and the food was inventive and very tasty. My wife would rate her food - she had scallops one night and fish the next as excellent- I had meat both nights which was very good, so this could really be a 4 1/2 star rating. The views of the ocean at sunset were spectacular as the days we ate there were not foggy. The rule of thumb for restaurants with scenic views is sometimes the better the view, the worse the food, however in this case it did not hold true. We would definitely recommend the restaurant to anyone staying in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IraP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
IraP

We appreciate your positive remarks. We strive to deliver this same experience to all diners who visit. Taking into account our rather remote location and the resources at our disposal, I believe we do an excellent job from a Culinary and service perspective. As we recognize, pleasing everyone's palate who dines with us is a near impossible task as it is for any restaurant really, I am pleased with the overall positive response we get from the majority of our guests. Thanks again for taking the time to reflect on your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
SEA RANCH LODGE

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Sea Ranch, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Always good food and beautifully presented. Pricey for dinner but reasonable for breakfast and lunch....well worth it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Diana K

Always good food is certainly what we strive for. We are proud of our California cuisine and our Chef''s presentation skills. Thanks for taking the time to post your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
SEA RANCH LODGE

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The ocean view from the restaurant was stunning! The food was good but it was slow coming (waited for at least half an hour). We had penne, chicken fingers, fish & chips, a glass of Preston SavBlanc and a beer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Sani M

Thanks for your review. Everyone agrees that The Sea Ranch is a naturally beautiful locale and we are blessed to be right here. My apologies if the service was slower than it should have been, but delighted to hear that you found it good!

I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon and enjoy this part of Northern California.

Regards,
SEA RANCH LODGE

Lowell Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge also viewed

The Sea Ranch, Sonoma County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Stewarts Point, Sonoma County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 

Been to Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing