We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view”

Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The acclaimed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge features internationally-inspired California cuisine that emphasizes the freshest local ingredients. Seasonal menus and daily specials tempt with many satisfying options, from delectable entrees, small plates and appetizers to casual tavern fare, resulting in sophisticated yet uncontrived dining. To complement the food, our Mendocino restaurant offers an award-winning selection of about 150 unique regional wines. The evolving wine list showcases selected small estate wineries of Sonoma and Mendocino Counties.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning view”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The ocean view from the restaurant was stunning! The food was good but it was slow coming (waited for at least half an hour). We had penne, chicken fingers, fish & chips, a glass of Preston SavBlanc and a beer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Sani M

Thanks for your review. Everyone agrees that The Sea Ranch is a naturally beautiful locale and we are blessed to be right here. My apologies if the service was slower than it should have been, but delighted to hear that you found it good!

I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon and enjoy this part of Northern California.

Regards,
SEA RANCH LODGE

Lowell Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    54
    36
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Scrumptuous”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The food was perfectly prepared, and we appreciated the variety of the menu. Service was excellent, and the wine list was tremendous. We'd come back in a second.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hal G

Thanks for your review. I will share your remarks with my team, they always enjoy hearing about making someone's visit enjoyable.

Come visit again soon.

Regards,

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge & Black Point Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner and a Show”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

On our last night in No. CA, we stayed at the Fort Ross Lodge and drove up to Sea Ranch for dinner here, the food was excellent. My wife had the Braised Short Ribs, we wish we had all had that! The portion of Halibut I ordered was disappointing. What we really enjoyed was the show put on by the Black-Tailed Deer in the field between the restaurant and the bluff. 3-4 does with 2 fawns, they put on quite a show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Wade O

Thanks for your remarks. I was pleased to hear that overall the experience was positive, but I would like to know more about your fish choice if it was at all disappointing. Please feel free to contact me and share your concerns, we are constantly working to improve the operation.

Regardless, you are right ... the deer grazing make for a great show most every night!

Hopefully you can visit again soon.

Regards,

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge & Black Point Grill
lowell@searanchlodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Rugged Coastal View and Fine Dining in Sea Ranch”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in a Sea Ranch vacation home and enjoyed the very remote but very relaxing and scenic area. The Grill at the Sea Ranch Lodge fits the whole atmosphere and purpose of the Sea Ranch Community nicely. The Grill is a great focal point for any stay at Sea Ranch and you can depend on quality breakfast, lunch and dinner if not more formal and culinary dinner selections. We enjoyed breakfast, lunch and dinner at the Grill and especially enjoyed the breakfast selections and Dinner. We had a large family group and made reservations and even changed times but they accommodated nicely and quickly so I suggest reservations for large groups. Remember this is a big coastal community so there can be many people looking for limited dining options when the area is busy. The Grill is definitely one of the nicer and more upscale options in the area. They have nice, fresh and healthy innovative menu options. We loved having a fresh salmon catch the same day and their Salmon dinner special. Also had a nice bar menu and some nice whiskey so added that. The foggy and windy ocean views plus the Scotland malt whiskey conjured up a bit of Scotland views itself. We also had a few small children and they were accommodated nicely as well and enjoyed themselves. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Christopher D

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. We do see many visitors staying in private home rentals in The Sea Ranch and your experience is important to us and the community. It pleases us to hear that we met your expectations over multiple dining times. Our seasonal menus reflect the best local ingredients put together thoughtfully by our Executive Chef and his team.

I have often heard the comparisons to the Scottish coast, makes me wonder whether it was the Scotch or the actual view?!?

We look forward to having you and family visit again soon.

Regards,

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge & Black Point Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardnerville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“View and Food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

If you like great food and a wonderful view of the ocean then this is the place for you.
Nothing to dislike

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Frank B

Thank you for your observations. Can't really argue with that view! I am delighted to hear that your culinary experience was positive as well.

We look forward to your visit again soon!

Regards,

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge & Black Point Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge also viewed

The Sea Ranch, Sonoma County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 

Been to Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing