We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, good food”

Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The acclaimed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge features internationally-inspired California cuisine that emphasizes the freshest local ingredients. Seasonal menus and daily specials tempt with many satisfying options, from delectable entrees, small plates and appetizers to casual tavern fare, resulting in sophisticated yet uncontrived dining. To complement the food, our Mendocino restaurant offers an award-winning selection of about 150 unique regional wines. The evolving wine list showcases selected small estate wineries of Sonoma and Mendocino Counties.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning view, good food”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

A great lunch stop in rte 1. Had a glass of Chardonnay, a veggie sandwich and very, very good sweet potatoe fries. View is perfection.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WalkerTalker1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
WalkerTalker1984

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Who can argue with that drive on Hwy1?!? We don't take for granted how beautiful this area is and try to match the quality of our property and the services we provide with our surroundings.

We were delighted to hear that we were able to provide you with a pleasant experience and a spectacular view. Hopefully, your travels may bring you back in the future.

Regards,

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    53
    36
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The search for the best crab cakes!”
Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

I have been searching for the best crab cakes for years. This weekend I found them at The Black Point Grill on Route 1, north of San Francisco. Dungeness Crab Cakes! Light inside, crispy outside, delicious!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shamancarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shakey26, General Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Shamancarol

We never get tired of hearing that we provided a special memory for one of our guests, whether that's a delightful food experience or an incredible view. I will pass along your comments to our culinary team, they always appreciate hearing positive feedback for their efforts.

We look forward to your next visit!

Regards

Lowell Johnson, CHA
General Manager
Sea Ranch Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola, California, United States
1 review
“My evening at the Sea Ranch lodge”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I wanted to give great thanks and appreciation to the Sea Ranch Lodge and the Black Point Grill for my evening (May 2,2013). I have been coming to the Sea Ranch for over 25 years and it is truly a wonderful place. The dinner was superb this evening - excellent menu of choices but more than the food and the wonderful view; was the service by our wait person, Francisco. He was informed, helpful, friendly, charming and wonderful - I can't say enough about him and also the bar tender, Kelley for all they do! I hope you will continue to support this area and keep such great personnel on your staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debora M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We would also like to thank you for being such a loyal customer and are pleased to hear your evening turned well. Twenty-five years is a long time and we so appreciate your support and loyalty over the years. We do keep an amazing high quality staff and will continue to work to provide high level services in all areas at Sea Ranch Lodge! Please come visit us again soon -we will look forward to seeing you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best place in the region”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

With a great view of the ocean and the sunset, we had a great dinner with fresh off the boat, perfectly cooked halibut and farm fresh vegetables. We shared a tuna tartar with avocado that was so good we nearly ordered seconds. The wine list is good featuring many regional wineries. Nothing but compliment from our party of world travelers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mahadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks so much for you review. We are pleased to hear your party of "world travelers" enjoyed your meal, the ocean view and sunset.
It is a magical spot enjoy a great dinner with friends or loved ones! Come back and dine with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
“A Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

While out driving the coast and visiting the beaches, we found ourselves in a very remote location, with dinner time looming. We stopped at the Sea Ranch Lodge because it was the first place that we came to. And we are so glad that we did, that we've already planned a trip back to stay the night!
We started out with a drink on the couches, while waiting for a table by the windows. Definitely wait for a table by the windows! Great view, and the baby deer grazing right outside were absolutely adorable.
The staff was amazingly friendly and very attentive. The food came at a great pace, even when we ordered extra stuff mid meal. They have some great wines, and they let you bring in your own for a nominal corking fee.
The food was delicious. The Dungeness crab cakes were the best I've ever had. We ordered an extra order after the first one disappeared! The chef there, Phillip Kaufman, really was amazing. All the meats were incredibly soft and well seasoned.
We only stayed for dinner and dessert (which was excellent as well) but we are very excited to go back to stay at the hotel and try more of the food!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aleksias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Manager at Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Black Point Grill on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that your meal was delicious and all of your expectations were met! Next time, you'll have to pop in for an overnight stay too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge also viewed

The Sea Ranch, Sonoma County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 
Gualala, Mendocino County
Gualala, Mendocino County
 

Been to Black Point Grill at Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing