We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Sea Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Ranch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2010

The lodge is a very comfortable, friendly place with amazing views of the ocean, great comfy bedding, and cozy rooms (some with wood-burning stoves) all in a perfect location.

I am a woman who loves to take long, solitary walks in nature and this is the best place in the world to do it! The lodge is on one end of a series of paths which run along the cliffs by the ocean and go all the way to the town of Gualala, about 10 miles away. So you can wander about for hours and smell the fresh ocean air, listen to the waves, and watch the clouds and hawks and deer and all the incredible wildflowers. But what really sets this place apart for someone like me is the sense of safety. Typically, when I'm hiking, there's a part of me that 's relaxing and connecting with nature, and a part of me that's on the alert, very cognizant of the fact that I'm alone and vulnerable. But the paths at Sea Ranch run by a number of beautiful homes with huge windows, offering a sense of security. At first, I thought the presence of these homes would detract from the feeling of being out in nature., But, I was happily surprised to learn that they helped me relax and enjoy these amazing surroundings in a very deep way.

BTW, I'm pretty sure that pets are welcome-- I saw several people hiking by the lodge with their dogs on a leash.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
4  Thank inat546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 778 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

I stayed here for 1 night on my honeymoon. I was recommended to the Sea Ranch Lodge by my brother in-law.

When my wife and I arrived we thought the place looked good. The location is beautiful and very relaxing. After checking in we went straight to our room #19, we had reserved the room with the hot tub. the room was small and dirty. the carpets had stains and there were multiple flies buzzing around the room. the hot tub was out on the deck which was behind a 6ft fence...with views of nothing. the hot tub was also slightly dirty.

we went back to the front desk and asked to change rooms. they were able to switch us to a room with a view of the ocean, one of the corner rooms. this room was cheaper and also much nicer.

When we switched rooms they were not willing to accommodate the 2 night reservation we had planned on....we gladly left after 1 night.

the food in the lodge restaurant is moderate at best. slow service.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank fkfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2009

A great place to stay on the coast with spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean (not to mention the small deers roaming in the long grass.) Some of the accommodation is a little dated but still attractive enough. All the lodges are have a wood facade which adds to the charm. The restaurant is OK but not great - the service was a little inconsistent and the food sort of average. But I would definitely recommend the breakfast burrito. All in all, I'd definitely recommend it for a stay if you are travelling along the coast.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skiranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

If you want to be right on the ocean in the northern California coast and you don't mind driving on some pretty wild and curvy roads to get there, this is the spot for you! My husband, teenage son, and I stayed here for three nights and didn't want to leave. Granted, the property is beautiful but a bit dated and everything creaks like a well-loved family cottage. If you want really high-end resort, this might not be for you. But Sea Ranch is incredibly elegant in an understated way, wonderfully relaxing, and just plain beautiful. My only two complaints: I wish the windows in the rooms were bigger and I wish the service was a little speedier. But maybe that second one is just the city in me, needing to slow down to Sea Ranch speed!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kleic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We picked this get-away because my husband grew up near the coast and always dreamt of bringing his future wife there for our honeymoon. Nestled among gorgeous landscapes of trees, fields and of course, waves from the ocean was the Sea Ranch Lodge.

We chose the hot-tub suite which came complete with a fireplace, beautiful bathroom and storage area, sitting area, deck and of course the hot tub. The receptionist was more than friendly and was so exicted to hear that we were honeymooning with the Lodge. They gave us on-the-spot dinner reservations for a window table where we could watch the beautiful waves while enjoying one of the best meals i've ever had.

The staff was so courteous, they graciously gave us room service whenever we asked.

It was worth every penny, I wish we coulda stayed longer!!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Crystalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2009

A real one off, the views amazing - a total treat for wildlife. Rooms large and comfortable, loved the use of wood and the reclining chairs with a view in the bedroom. The service friendly and approachable.

The only real disappointment was the food, breakfast was fine but dinner unless ordering burgers and keeping it simple was too complicated and over seasoned, a shame considering how good the basic ingredients are in this area, the chef clearly needs to get the basics right before trying more ambitious dishes. Would recommend to a friend but with a proviso re the food.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissagrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2009

We stayed in a corner room, with views of white water & blue water (didn't know those terms 'til we visited CA). In our corner window nook, were two easy chairs that reclined. Aaah! Just lazing back with a book, overlooking deer nibbling the fields, barns and then the ocean. ($ 169 per night, including breakfast). To me, that was the wonderful part of Sea Ranch. My spouse loved the history of the architecture of the original Sea Ranch buildings. I was underwhelmed by our room, pretty basic. Contrary to other reviews; decent enough linens and we felt that the bed was very comfortable. I do agree that the housekeeping was not great. We walked along the cliff walk, which was stunning. We drove all over the surrounding area, finding many terrific restaurants. There is a plan (by owners of Post Ranch) to build a new lodge and tear down the existing building. I would hope to return, either way.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karmamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Sea Ranch
13.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
127 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
341 reviews
8.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
12.3 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Lodge

Address: 60 Sea Walk Dr, The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > The Sea Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Price Range: $206 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY NATURAL SERENITY, UNSURPASSED. A small, secluded property on Northern California’s rugged Sonoma Coast, Sea Ranch Lodge is a serene destination that embraces the beauty and bounty of nature in myriad expressions. A getaway here features nature untamed – ocean vistas, pristine bluffs, dramatic landscapes, abundant wildlife – with miles of hiking trails to enjoy it just steps from your door. This sublime natural setting melds with man’s mindful efforts to live lightly on the land. We respect an ethos of sustainability in lodging, dining, activities, service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sea Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel The Sea Ranch
Sea Hotel The Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing