We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escape to Sea Ranch”
Review of Sea Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Escape to Sea Ranch”
Reviewed December 19, 2005

Sea Ranch is one of my favorite places to stay..period. I have had the fortune of being in a business which requires me to travel and I have often stayed at top notch places throughout the world.
Sea Ranch is a slice of heaven..very tranquil, with glorious views from each room. I've found the food to be consistently excellent. My only concern is the soundproofing which is lacking. This is an older building, which is set to be refurbished due to new ownership and this situation will be remedied at that time. However, I read that they are going to add TV's which I think is a big mistake...Please let the beauty, tranquility and silence stand. There are so few places like this in the world.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    241
    93
    43
    13
See reviews for
125
495
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2005

I agree with the previous poster. Two stars? Are you kidding?

Just got back from a quick weekend getaway. It is beautifully situated on a bluff with amazing ocean views and trails for romantic walks. Service was excellent both at the front desk and the restaurant. We stayed in their room with its own garden, fireplace and private outdoor hot tub, and found it amazingly peaceful. I got to look at some other rooms and they looked wonderful as well. Could they use a little updating? Sure, but nothing that was glaring.

They do a wonderful wine paired tasting menu in the restaurant for dinner-don't miss it-the chef is excellent.

I highly recommend this for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ijfri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cottonwood
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2005

I don't understand why the Sea Ranch is listed with 2 stars. It is very elegant and a wonderful place to stay. We had made reservations down the road at Timber Cove and it was awful so we took a chance on a room being available at Sea Ranch. I loved it so much I wrote them later asking where I could by the furniture and linens. I can't think of a thing wrong with the place. The rooms are gorgeous with thick down comforters and $1500 Barcalounger recliners. I'm still trying to find the chairs for my living room.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CottonwoodBonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2005

I own a home at The Sea Ranch and we eat very often at the Lodge. Haven't stayed there in 20 years but we frequently walk to the Lodge for cocktails (best Bloody Mary's on the North Coast) and dinner. Yes, the restaurant is worth our five mile hike. We always make a point of returning for dinner sometime during our stay.
I want to correct a notation regarding The Sea Ranch weather. Winter fog may obscure our mornings but usually burns off by 10 AM. And it doesn't happen every day. Summers are usually bright and sunny EVERY day. This part of the Coast is sometimes called a Banana Belt since it projects outward to the south into the Pacific Ocean and the weather is very predictable.
I have always found the Lodge accommodating and gracious. Service is attentive and responsive. The food has improved over the years and is reliably good. There are restaurants in Gualala, 10 miles north, but we still prefer the Lodge. We are used to good food and wine since we live in Napa. The wine list is overpriced. Bring your own and pay the $15 corkage and you'll stay ahead of the game. Beer is $6. Expect to spend about $120-150 for two for a complete meal, or their tasting menu (includes tip).
Have a great time, the Lodge is worthy of your attention.
AK, Napa, CA

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TnisFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 29, 2004

My new husband and I traveled up the Northern California coast after our October wedding. We had a wonderful time at the Sea Ranch lodge for the two nights that we stayed their (We wished we could have stayed more!). The dinners were incredible (fresh fish, and all of the meals had the freshest ingredients), and the complimentary breakfast was amazing!

Our room looked out over the ocean (but I don't think their would be a bad room in the entire lodge). The staff tended to our every need with a smile - and the massage was much needed.

We would recommend the Sea Ranch Lodge for anyone wanting a few days of TOTAL relaxation. Bring your jacket, and walk the trail along the coast for an additional treat.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2004

We found "Heaven on Earth" at the Sea Ranch Lodge. The very friendly staff, the gorgeous ocean view from our room, the delicious food served in their restaurant, the walking trails, frolicking deer, playful seals, spouting whales. If you really want to get away and relax, this is the place.

Helpful?
6 Thank gervais2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 15, 2004

First of all, lest you think I'm someone from the hotel writing this review, I'll start off with the cons. There are very few.

First, expect the weather at The Sea Ranch to be overcast most of the time. My wife and I liked it, though. Second, the restaurant is very romantic and gourmet, but my wife didn't enjoy either her appetizer or main course. The hotel is not adults-only, so there were a few instances of loud little kids around us at the restaurant and the main parts of the lodge. And finally, our room wasn't stocked with new coffee, enough toilet paper or conditioner, perhaps because we arrived early and they hurried to accommodate us.

Now, the pros: the Sea Ranch Lodge is truly a little slice of heaven. It has the glow of first-class luxury, the intimacy of a private retreat, and the super-friendly and accommodating service of a four-star boutique hotel. All with dramatic ocean views from almost every corner of the hotel.

My wife and I just took a week-long trip up the coast to Big Sur, San Fran, The Sea Ranch, and Mendocino. The Sea Ranch was by far the highlight. When we first entered the lobby after our drive from S.F., we were enveloped in soothing Zen-like music, clean polished wood, and a homey atmosphere that made it seem like we were in a millionaire's vacation hideaway.

We walked down to the restaurant, which offers sweeping ocean and cliff views, then into the solarium -- our favorite part of the place. The solarium a sort of hallway with floor-to-ceiling, uninterrupted windows facing the field behind the hotel and the ocean beyond. Seated at a cocktail table while waiting for our room to be ready (again, we were early), we had rich local beers in frosty glasses. It was the perfect vacation moment -- private, scenic, and flavorful. We couldn't help but feel immediately relaxed and pampered.

The Lodge upgraded us for our anniversary, and our second-floor (of two floors) accommodations were spacious, with a raised ceiling and a sitting area in front of corner windows overlooking the walking paths down to the ocean. I felt I could sit with a glass of wine and a newspaper all day in this delightful spot. But we were dying to get out and stroll the resort's inviting trails across fields and ocean bluffs. There's even a secluded beach nearby. Afterwards, we drove 10 minutes to the town of Gualala, where we bought wine, bread and cheese from two "supermarkets".

Dinner, as I said earlier, could have been better, though the service was crisp and friendly. My wife's veggie roll looked and tasted like it was from the supermarket, and she said her halibut was "fishy". My heirloom tomato napolean was good, and my steak was terrific, if a bit pricy at $34.

We went to sleep very satisfied that night, with the pin-drop silence a welcome change from our nights in San Francisco.

The next day we had the hotel's complimentary breakfast, which was decent if not sumptuous. Then we headed out, sorry we had to leave.

I've been raving about The Sea Ranch Lodge since our return, and I hope you'll look into staying there. We paid a slightly discounted $150 (usually $165), and were upgraded to a $265 room (I think). It was worth every penny, unlike our accommodations in Mendocino. But that's another story.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Sea Ranch
13.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
88 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
297 reviews
11.9 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#1 of 7 in Gualala
233 reviews
1.5 mi away
Terra Glamping
Terra Glamping
#1 of 1 in Stewarts Point
9 reviews
22.1 mi away
The Wharf Master's Inn
The Wharf Master's Inn
#1 of 2 in Point Arena
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Lodge

Property: Sea Ranch Lodge
Address: 60 Sea Walk Dr, The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > The Sea Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY NATURAL SERENITY, UNSURPASSED. A small, secluded property on Northern California’s rugged Sonoma Coast, Sea Ranch Lodge is a serene destination that embraces the beauty and bounty of nature in myriad expressions. A getaway here features nature untamed – ocean vistas, pristine bluffs, dramatic landscapes, abundant wildlife – with miles of hiking trails to enjoy it just steps from your door. This sublime natural setting melds with man’s mindful efforts to live lightly on the land. We respect an ethos of sustainability in lodging, dining, activities, service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sea Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel The Sea Ranch
Sea Hotel The Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing