We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Sea Ranch Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sea Ranch Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Wow! Love this place! Such a unique experience and well worth the price if you are seeking a restful getaway with an incredible view.

Rooms are spacious, clean, modern, and very comfortable with unbeatable ocean views. Love the rain shower, fireplace and window seating area in our room. Walked the trails enjoying spring flowers, ocean views, seals frolicking in the surf and deer. Meals were excellent and service friendly and helpful. This is a great stop on highway 1 and/or a retreat for a couple nights. Free wifi in rooms; no TV (yeah!). The Anderson Valley wineries and Mendocino are not terribly far away for a day trip.

The wooden architecture makes this feel like a luxurious camp for adults, and blends perfectly with the setting. Love the environmentally friendly focus.

The restaurant has a nice wine selection and prices are reasonable considering this is all you have here. Food was excellent! Best crab cakes I have had anywhere.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views. We loved our upstairs room, although note no elevators if you have any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mtnwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate you great comments about your room and our property! We are also pleased to hear your dining experience was excellent...those crab cakes are delish! Please come back and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (790)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 790 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I planned a few days in San Fransisco as a quick getaway. We stayed in the city, but wanted one night along the coast somewhere. We drove up to Sea Ranch, and we were so glad we did. Wonderful lodge, friendly staff. We had a regular King room, but were graciously upgraded to a deluxe room. The views were superb. The room was fantastic, including the fireplace we didn't think we needed. But after a great dinner in their restaurant, we did turn it on to take the chill out of the air. Included breakfast was great. We had the pancakes and French toast. Be sure to save time for a walk along the coast. The wildflowers are amazing. And we are from Texas! You will not be disappointed with a stay here. We are already planning a return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelIngLady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for the review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased to hear your stay was relaxing and you enjoyed your accommodations and dining experiences! Please come back and visit us again soon for another R & R getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My husband, daughter and I spent one night at Sea Ranch Lodge in late April. It was a glorious time to visit as the wild flowers were in full bloom along the lodges wild flower trail. As expected, the sea views were wonderful. We saw a seal bobbing around and according to another guest, we just missed a mama and baby whale viewing.
The room we had was excellent with a nice sea (and deer) view. The lodge provided dog beds, food and water bowls, and treats for my daughter's dogs who were visiting with us.
Our only gripe was that although the lodge advertised sea walk trails, they did not offer a map of the trails. It seems to me that if you are going to tout your walks, you ought to make FREE trail maps available. There was a free map of the wild flower walk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Thank you for the review on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you and your furry friends were able to stay with us and are pleased to hear your trip was great! We do appreciate your feedback about the maps, great suggestion! Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

While out driving the coast and visiting the beaches, we found ourselves in a very remote location, with dinner time looming. We stopped at the Sea Ranch Lodge because it was the first place that we came to. And we are so glad that we did, that we've already planned a trip back to stay the night!
We started out with a drink on the couches, while waiting for a table by the windows. Definitely wait for a table by the windows! Great view, and the baby deer grazing right outside were absolutely adorable.
The staff was amazingly friendly and very attentive. The food came at a great pace, even when we ordered extra stuff mid meal. They have some great wines, and they let you bring in your own for a nominal corking fee.
The food was delicious. The Dungeness crab cakes were the best I've ever had. We ordered an extra order after the first one disappeared! The chef there, Phillip Kaufman, really was amazing. All the meats were incredibly soft and well seasoned.
We only stayed for dinner and dessert (which was excellent as well) but we are very excited to go back to stay at the hotel and try more of the food!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aleksias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Ahh, music to our ears, "A Hidden Jewel"! Thank you so much for the kind words about our staff and your overall experience. We are pleased you had a fantastic trip! Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The best there is to offer in the area....but there are some problems: Bedside lamps are low wattage and fluorescent..Bring your own regular light bulbs if you want to read! The bath room door is hung on a railing and huge gaps on each side prevent privacy while sitting on the toilet. The noisy kitchen exhaust fan resonates throughout the entire dining room and drove us crazy. Windows do not have any lockable positions while open.

While in the area...Do not miss the drive through Coleman Canyon Road to or from Occidental and Highway 1 north of Bodega Bay. One of the greatest scenic drives in California!

Room Tip: Go off season and save a lot of money and the roads are not crowded either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rheine35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Thank you for your review Trip Advisor. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and will look into the items you listed for possible future improvement. We are glad you enjoyed our great location and hope that you come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I travelled down the coast recently and the fifteen or so hours I spent at Sea Ranch were by far the highlight of the trip. The room was amazing--from the view, to the complementary bottle of wine, the furniture, lighting, the grounds, the dining room... all of it top notch. I honestly felt like I had entered an alternate United States for the evening, a special place where nature and architecture live in harmony. Staff are great, exactly the right blend of professional, friendly, helpful and reserved. I want to go back and spend a week there.

Room Tip: There are very few rooms here, maybe 20? I walked around the building and noted that every room has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NewYorkStories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Guest Relations Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear your stay as "paradise"! Staying at Sea Ranch is a fabulous experience and we are glad you were able to enjoy all it has to offer. Come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

After a 4 day vacation at this lodge, I can say that the staff is the best I have experienced. From reception to dining to room, all was excellent. Me, my wife and small dog enjoyed a very pleasant stay. Good food, very nice room, great views of the ocean, wonderful trails along the ocean and to the beach. Our only initial recommendation was to upgrade the internet service to the room, and while we there, a service crew was installing new interet service, on a Sunday afternoon... We will definitely return again soon.

Room Tip: We had room #1, which was the ADA room. Although we are able bodied, this room actually gives you ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuestaroble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy K, Social Media Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thanks so much for your nice review on Trip Advisor! We are pleased that our staff met all of your expectations and that you had a fabulous trip! Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near The Sea Ranch
13.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
146 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
381 reviews
12.3 mi away
North Coast Country Inn
North Coast Country Inn
#4 of 7 in Gualala
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Surf Motel
Surf Motel
#2 of 7 in Gualala
251 reviews
11.9 mi away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
7.9 mi away
Gualala Country Inn
Gualala Country Inn
#5 of 7 in Gualala
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Ranch Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Ranch Lodge

Address: 60 Sea Walk Dr, The Sea Ranch, CA 95497
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > The Sea Ranch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in The Sea Ranch
Price Range: $202 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Ranch Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ENJOY NATURAL SERENITY, UNSURPASSED. A small, secluded property on Northern California’s rugged Sonoma Coast, Sea Ranch Lodge is a serene destination that embraces the beauty and bounty of nature in myriad expressions. A getaway here features nature untamed – ocean vistas, pristine bluffs, dramatic landscapes, abundant wildlife – with miles of hiking trails to enjoy it just steps from your door. This sublime natural setting melds with man’s mindful efforts to live lightly on the land. We respect an ethos of sustainability in lodging, dining, activities, service and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Ranch Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Ranch Hotel The Sea Ranch
Sea Hotel The Ranch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing