We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveler rating
391
254
102
46
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
254
102
46
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews window seat walking trails adirondack chairs california coast gas fireplace hot tub ocean view king room black point grill gualala deer coastline insulation whales retreat robes linens
Filter
Updating list...
751 - 756 of 813 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2011

This place is in a great location but is in need of an update. It is very 70's. The beds are small and not very comfortable. The restaurant is awesome.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mazsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushyeyebrows, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for this review. I wanted to update you on our progress. The rooms are undergoing a thorough renovation, including new Cal-king beds, all new pillows and soft goods, and completely new bathrooms. I think you might find the results much more to your liking. Thank you again for taking the time to review us and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We got married at The Sea Ranch Lodge in September 2011. And if we could do our wedding weekend all over again, we wouldn't change a single thing. Everything was perfect. The lodge itself is straight out the pages of DWELL magazine. Rustic modern style with amazing architecture that effortlessly blends in with the rugged landscape of the Sonoma Coast. The setting couldn't have been more ideal for what we were after. As for the staff, they were outstanding. Asuza is an exceptional talent with an impressive resume. She was remarkably responsive throughout the months leading up to our event. Patient with all our questions, quick to offer recommendations, and always eager to help us bring our vision to life. On the day of our event, Azusa, Greg, and their entire team surpassed our already high expectations. Our guests constantly commented on their great service, warm hospitality and attention to detail. The whole day and night flowed perfectly - ceremony on the bluff, champagne by the barn, cocktails in the solarium, and dinner and dancing in the Fireside Room. Dinner was delicious. The restaurant is all about local sourcing. Seriously local - like no wines from Napa, Sonoma only. We served rack of lamb and halibut - both were exceptional. The chef even prepared a custom dessert just for our menu. It was truly a wonderful weekend for everyone - not just the bride and groom. Even a month after our wedding we're still getting gushing calls and e-mails from our guests. The Sea Ranch may not be for everyone, but if you're a locavore after a laid back vibe, with a bit of mid-century modernity, tucked in one of the most beautiful corners of California - I can't imagine more perfect place to make memories that will surely last a lifetime.

Room Tip: Room 20 is the only room without a view. All others have spectacular views.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Murfisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I was pleasantly suprised by my stay at The Sea Ranch Lodge. I had read reviews of the rooms being dated and frayed. Our room (deluxe queen) was large and had been cosmetically updated with new paint, linens and flooring. It also had 2 reclining chairs that made watching the sunset out of our window comfortable and enjoyable. We had delicious, made-to-order breakfasts in the dining room.

A couple complaints would be how we were greeted at check-in, we arrived 15 minutes to the check-in time and our room was not ready. The clerk was curt and treated us like we were imposing on her. The when we returned almost an hour later, she was nowhere to be found. This was prime check-in time. Another thing is that the wi-fi is spotty. We were only able to access it in the bar and lobby and then it was hit and miss. AT&T cellphone reception was not available, but there was a massive cellphone tower across the road from the lodge. Oh well, we were there for a romantic getaway, not to conduct business.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I chose Sea Ranch Lodge because of the location and reports on the view. Since my expectations were based on these two factors I was not disappointed. The view is spectacular and peaceful. We got lucky on the weather and the sunset was probably one of the best I have ever seen over the Pacific. We stayed in room #2 and it was lackluster. The bed was small (a queen that felt like a double), the carpet was 1980 brown pile that was worn, there was a wood burning stove with a ambiance log you could light - we didn't, and there was one chair facing the large window to the ocean. The best feature of the room was the window -- we could lay in bed and see the ocean through this very large window. It was strange to have only one chair in the room, I mean, the resort should spend a buck and get an extra one since it must be nearly 100% couples who stay there. There were some old beat-up adirondack chairs (6 of them, only) on the lawn just off the restaurant/bar where you could sit and look at the ocean. There was no community hot tub ... in our minds a significant missing attribute that would be an easy and relatively inexpensive add. The stars at night were spectacular because there is really nothing around this place. You can walk the paths on the grounds, which were pretty, and get down to the beach. It is a really pretty location (the drive is beautiful, but if you get car sick watch out because it is VERY curvy). My advice is to go here for one night of seclusion, but maybe rent a house/condo nearby for better accommodations. There are no TVs in the rooms and the wireless did not work, despite them telling us it did. If you have AT&T cell phones you are out of luck here.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CSB_Edina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushyeyebrows, General Manager at Sea Ranch Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for this thoughtful and well written review. Not only do we agree with your assessment, but I can proudly report that renovations are well underway for both the rooms and the restaurant and main building. All of the areas of concern you mentioned are being upgraded, including internet reliability, beds, bathrooms, chairs, fireplaces, and much more. I should note to readers that we do sometimes have issues with internet that are beyond our control - usually due to high winds which disrupt the ISP services - but that we do recognize the need to increase reliability in the guest rooms within our current upgrade plan.

I also agree wholeheartedly that an outdoor hot-tub would be a great feature, but alas this is neither simple or inexpensive due to very strict design guidelines on our pristine site, and I cannot promise this any time soon. There are no TVs in the rooms, nor will there be, as the main attraction here is to unplug and disconnect (despite the apparent contradiction in improving the WiFi). And yes, all phones that do not have Verizon are not functional here.

Thank you again for taking the time to write this thoughtful review. Best wishes in future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Sea Ranch is about peaceful getaways. Come here for the coastal trail walks, the sound of waves, colorful wildflowers, welcoming staff, and lots of quiet time. Do not come here to catch up on work, watch tv, or experience "resort life". This is my yearly retreat and it restores my spirit. The rooms are simple with 1-2 recliners and no desks; they're designed for reading and resting, not working. Some have fireplaces - a wonderful treat on foggy evenings and window seats - perfect for looking out at the ocean. Breakfast (try the eggs benedict) is included. The restaurant and lounge are part of the lodge buildings, have beautiful views and the servers are very friendly. Visit the Sea Ranch chapel and then head to Gualala for shopping (Four Eyed Frog Books is a delight) and lunch - or pick up a sandwich to bring back. Best of all, just take advantage of Sea Ranch's beauty and peace.

Room Tip: With one exception, all rooms have ocean views - north coast rooms have corner views. I would choose a fireplace room, not a hot tub room. Upstairs rooms are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank monisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews