We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great place to stay and enjoy"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Templeton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Santa Maria, California, United States
1 review
“"Great place to stay and enjoy"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

If you desire to have a delightful experience in the wine region of Paso Robles, then I highly recommend staying at the Carriage Vineyards Bed and Breakfast. The setting is in a beautiful country vineyard surrounded by rolling hills and olive orchards. A short walk up the hill will enable you to see a magnificent view of the entire area.

At a recent weekend stay, I found Larry, the owner, very cordial to the guests. He told stories about the property, and shared his collection of vintage carriages. Each morning he came by at breakfast to say "hello." The rooms were comfortable and tastefully decorated with many family antiques.

A two night stay is perfect to visit the fine wineries and restaurants. Other areas of interest include Hearst Castle, Cambria, and a drive up the scenic highway 1.

I thoroughly enjoyed my "mini vacation" and would certainly visit again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
It was a pleasure for you to stay here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    15
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
106
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in the upstairs Victorian Suite, a large room plus large bath that was very comfortable, clean and modern. The location is countryside and quiet - a very peaceful setting. Its location makes a great central location for Paso Robles area wine tastings, the reason for our visit to this area. The proprietor is friendly and gracious and low key. Breakfast each morning was wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank You! Great guests--
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Carriage House. There are great walks around the property, through the vineyard and over the hills. Larry the proprietor was most helpful and friendly and has a tremendous collection of vintage horse-drawn carriages in a museum next to the house. Breakfasts were very tasty and our room was clean and most comfortable. It was a home from home. We would definitely recommend this B&B to anybody visiting the Paso Robles area and will certainly visit again ourselves. It's a good idea to have a GPS navigation system to find the place, however.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
It was a pleasure having you share the ranch with us! Larry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My sister and I (middle-aged women) spent 2 days in Paso Robles, staying at Templeton, a short drive south. I chose Carriage Vineyards based on the reviews here and they couldn't have been more correct! The property is lovely (a tad hard to spot the sign on the road at first, but Larry tells you that in his welcoming e-mail/confirmation), sitting back off the road some ways. Altho it was rainy/misty most of the time we were there, there was enough break in the clouds the first night to see incredible stars with no light pollution! Breakfasts were all you could want from a B&B: wonderful quiche with fresh fruit, fresh OJ, and muffins. Larry recommended several wineries (with discount coupons, thank you!) which were not on our list, but we added them and could not have been happier with them. We had the vis-a-vis suite, a 2 room suite with a bathroom. Perfect for singles who want their own bed (or travelling couples). Larry was a wonderful host with great knowledge of history of his family and a keen interest in carriages (hence, the name). If you like rosemary bushes, the property abounds with them--I had to sweep my hand across them for that wonderful fragrance every day. My next visit to the area will include a return stay!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thanks! Nice talking with the ladies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Staying at the Carriage Vineyards B&B is like having your own private home in the country. The house is comfortable, clean, and attractive - with plenty of privacy. Breakfast is served to the house at 8:30AM and you can mingle and share your adventures with the other guests. Larry Smyth is the owner of the vineyard and is always available with suggestions about restaurants and wineries. Join Larry's Brix Society and you will have a row of grapes tagged with your family name. Walk the property, watch the harvest, visit the adjacent carriage collection, relax on the front porch, and come and go to visit local wineries. It has been our choice on where to stay in the Paso area for the past 7 years!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for staying again and the kind words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We read most of the reviews before staying in the Victoria Suite and found them to be true. What we would add is a strong recommendation to allow time for walking around the property to see the vineyards, olive orchard, horses, carriages, etc. - otherwise you'll miss the most unique part of a stay at this B&B. We're looking forward to a return visit especially as Larry, the owner is so hospitable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
You were such nice people. Your history from growing up in Chili is interesting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Very delightful experience. We stayed in the Victoria Suite. Gorgeous room decorated with antiques and featuring a jacuzzi. We thoroughly enjoyed the grounds. Hilly 1.3 mile driveway through vineyard and olive trees makes for a physically challenging, yet visually stunning run at sunrise. Larry was very hospitable and spot on with his recommendations for restaurants and wineries. We would visit again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
It was a pleasure having the two of you here for four days week before last. You had so much energy running around the vineyards we should have put you to work with Harvest! Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Templeton
6.1 mi away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 536 reviews
8.7 mi away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
9.0 mi away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#1 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Paso Robles
7.9 mi away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 19 in Paso Robles
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#4 of 8 in Atascadero
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast
Address: 4337 S El Pomar Rd, Templeton, CA 93465-8668
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Templeton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Templeton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing