We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go, go hungry!”

A J Spurs Saloon & Dining Hall
Ranked #5 of 27 Restaurants in Templeton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Monterey
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“If you go, go hungry!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have been to a couple of the A.J. Spurs locations in California. There used to be one in Marina, CA but it is no longer there.
This one in Templeton is obviously still there and serving up great food. Like I said in the title, go hungry. They start bring out the food right away. A pot of soup with beans on the side. Bread. Salad. By the time that your main course is presented to you, you will probably be close to full. The meat is the draw for me. I love a good steak and A.J. Spurs does not disappoint.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    43
    19
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Tons of food!!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Believe me when I say, this place serves HUGE portions so you might want to share. My husband and I shared the Twin Peaks, two 6oz filets and much, much more. Other friends in our group shared as well and everything was really good. Good steaks, great soup! Root beer floats too!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CRiiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Always about opinion...”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Large array of food. Had twin peaks, Filet Minon. When your lobster is made up of put together pieces, you know your meal will be lacking. Salad generic and warm. Soup was interesting when acondiments are introduced. Grilled veg's good, not great. Root beer float was the highlight o the meal.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Knot2L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family style food--decent but only average”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We tried this place hoping for a good steak dinner. Their food fills the stomach, but it's nothing to rave about.

Helpful?
Thank Vicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY/LA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cowboy heaven”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

it's a great tavern/restaurant. We just had drinks - loved all the cowboy decor and friendly folks. A fantastic musician played guitar and sang rock/folk classics - an old scrub of a guy with a great voice and the demeanor of jolly Santa, if Santa was a cowboy . Really fun and laid back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank babelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A J Spurs Saloon & Dining Hall also viewed

Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
 
Paso Robles, San Luis Obispo County
Templeton, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to A J Spurs Saloon & Dining Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing