We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of Southern California's Best Wineries” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Palomar Winery

Mount Palomar Winery
Ranked #16 of 91 things to do in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Mount Palomar Winery is one of the oldest wineries in the Temecula Valley. Established in 1969, Mount Palomar is located on 315 acres of land in the heart of Temecula Wine Country. Escape for a day and tour the winery, take in the breathtaking views of the vineyards and the valley, and enjoy a wine tasting with friends. Mount Palomar Winery is also available as a venue for weddings, receptions, and private events.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of Southern California's Best Wineries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I used to be a member of this winery, but no longer. A year ago, I would have given it five stars. The atmosphere is great and the staff is friendly. Membership brings lots of perks and special wine tasting events. The owner, Darwich, is a friendly fellow, who has not spared any money in fixing up the tables and the grounds. The hallmarks of this winery are their sherry and port. Recently, though the sherry and port have not been quite as good as before. The winery apparently keeps mixing some of its older sherry with the new stuff to try to keep it up to par. The solarium where the sherry is made and the bees land on the outdoor oak barrels to try to scoop up some of the sweet smelling spillage is unique. I bet the honey around there tastes great. The food in the restaurant is very good and priced fair.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    43
    20
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“One of the best....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is one of the best in the Temecula valley! Very friendly, low key staff that are very knowledgable about the wines. A tip - If you join the wine club first, the tastings are free! And they are fantastic wines! From their " house red" (shortys bistro red) to their "Cloudbreak" (which if you have glass with lunch or dinner, is cheaper to buy by the glass than the bottle). Of course they also have specials in the restaurant on wine (Monday thru Thursday). I usually stick to reds, but evn the whites are pretty good! try the Vignier (sp?) for a great summer wine. The restaurant has some great food. The menu is bit limited though. Needs a bit more variety. After a few visits, my wife and I had tried just about everything.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cuub55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner in Barrel Room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

On Saturday, March 23, 2013, my husband and I hosted a wedding rehearsal dinner for my son and his soon to be wife. We chose the Mt Palomar Winery due to it's beautiful grounds, gorgeous barrel room, good food, and the recommendation of a photographer who happened to be there when we were shown around. Lauren Shields, the Event Coordinator, was gracious, knowledgeable, and very patient in every way possible, as we approached the night of the party. And then the night arrived. The Barrel Room was lit up, and magnificent. The beautiful tables, food, wine, servers, etc, etc, etc, everything was absolutely perfect. It was a wonderful evening, a very special start to the wedding festivities, and we could not have been happier. My husband and I 100% recommend the Mt Palomar Winery in Temecula for whatever event you may have. Thank you to Lauren, and to all the wonderful people who helped make that evening so perfect. And just for some added info: we did not choose the most expensive meal, or the most expensive anything. And everyone was happy anyway!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BettySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a must-see winery for its beauty. We had a lovely visit on top of tasting some nice wines. You can get a meal there and sit outside in their lovely courtyard. We had just eaten, so we did not try their food although it all looked great.

We walked the grounds, which are massive. They specialize in weddings, so be sure to check out all the wedding venues. Just beautiful!

I think the scenery was better than the wines. The flowers were in bloom and just magnificent!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank speech529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Good Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Compared to other Temecula wineries, Mt. Palomar is far more low key, more "homey" and very enjoyable. Some of the others were too loud and too small. Beautiful high location with an excellent view. Most of their wines are excellnt, paticularly the reds. Stay and have lunch or dinner in their restaurant.We joined their wine club a year ago.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldBigBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Palomar Winery also viewed

 

Been to Mount Palomar Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing