We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great place to camp”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Temecula
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vail Lake RV Resort
Certificate of Excellence
suncity
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a great place to camp”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

dont understand all the negativity. we have camped there forover 10 yeas never had a problem with staff or campsite. and as far as vera being rude is not true she has been very freindly with us . we will always come back great place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dave suncity f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
46
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have loved coming to Vail Lake Resort for years.
There is something for everyone to enjoy,
from sports to relaxation. If you want to ride your dirt bike there is a great down hill track. If you like to ride horses you can go for a beautiful trail ride.
If fishing is your thing ,then you will love the big mouth bass you might catch .a big bass 12Lbs + you can get a day pass to shore fish for $10.
There are a lot of fish in Vail Lake ( The Largest man made, privately owned lake in California ) one of my friends caught 50 fish in one day!

There are things for the kids Water Slides, Pool, Mini Golf, RC Race Track and an Arcade. On Saturdays you can come and enjoy the live music of a good band.

if you just want a quiet place to relax, you can find that to.

My favorite thing about Vail Lake Resort is the people you meet and the memories you make. Come out with your family to a holaday event like Labor Day at the lake or Halloween to see what i mean. Bill and Tish love seeing the families enjoying them selves ….. I will be back to see what is next

PS The community store staff are very awesome and family friendly and the food is yummy. do not forget the tacos, burritos and homemade carne asida grill on saturday evenings

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zach C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We are part of a church who has been coming to vail lake every year for nine years now, the last two years my family and two more families from our church stay for seven nights, for us it is an incredible experience in all areas, starting with the staff, they always try their bes to make our stay as comfortable as possible. They always ask if there is anything that they can help with. I remember one time one of our friends needed a table and the people in charge of maintance brought them one to our campsite, as soon as they could which was nice. The facilities that they offer for large groups are awesome, they have very large sites with a lots of shade, bathrooms with hot water, three nice swimming pools, convenient store, live music on weekends, water slides, horse back riding.... Etc. Also our husbands love to bike ride, they have nice bike trails with amazing views. We just came back, and like always we brought with us beautiful memories, being in a place like this brought the families from church closer together .... And our kids ... They always look forward to having our family camp every summer. We really recommend this place, they're not perfect but they always try their best to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

they think tent campers are undisirables. they put you down and away from the motorhome section so they can ignore you and not pick up the trash or clean the bathrooms

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dave m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VailLakeTed, Manager at Vail Lake RV Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dave,

I am sorry you are unhappy with our decision to eliminate Tent Camping. The decision was made some time ago but we have honored reservations that were on the books and, in some cases, allowed in tent campers who were "stranded".

It is true that we have set aside a certain area for the remaining Tent Reservations but that area is one of our most scenic with scores of ancient Oak Trees. There is no excuse for garbage not being picked up and we apologize for that.

The decision to eliminate Tent Camping was not an easy one for us - especially in this economy. We arrived at it at the urging of our thousands of RV Guest who felt there was a small but boisterous segment of the "Tenters" who were disrupting their peaceful stay.

Again, our apologies and rest assured you were not subject to dirty bathrooms because you were a Tent Camper. We failed to do our job and thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

I would like to say I am not a high maintenance type of person so please read this knowing that. When we first arrived our site was full of red ants, 3 huge ant hills. I went to the front office to ask them to help me out and the answer I got was " you can can drive to town and get spray" Really, wrong answer. So right out the gate we knew we had no support from the staff. The electrical didn't work at all and shorted out of camper which is a whole other story. The bathrooms were scary they were full of mold and had big huge holes in the walls. There was a HUGE black bug of some sort in the corner and I could have sworn that is told me to leave the bathroom.y husband used the bathroom the next morning and there were diapers and poo all over the place. I guess its hard to hit the toilets when your drunk!! The pool wasn't heated and the waterslide was far from the picture you see on the site. It was a tube going down a small hill not worth 5 bucks let alone 20. I agree with all the other comments about the motorized vehicles driving around all day and night with a underage kids driving them. We stayed memorial weekend and I understand partying I get it but it was like a high school party that never stopped. People were still drinking when we got up at 7 in the morning. Poor livers!! My husband had to tell our neighbors to turn their music down at around 2am we just couldn't hear one more kid rock album.. Not worth the money at all. We ended up leaving a day early because it looked like things were only going down hill way to fast. Its not a place you want your kids to be. I have nothing good to say about this place. And the restaurant there was over priced, we paid 30 bucks for 2 hamburgers and a hot dog!!! This place sucked, that just sums it up!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank zander2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VailLakeTed, Manager at Vail Lake RV Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Zander,

I too, would turn back!

I am not quite sure how to respond to the experience you had. I can assure you it is not typical. We have one of the most loyal customer bases in the business and one of the main reasons they site for returning is the kid friendly nature of Vail.

I would like to offer you a free weekend at Vail so you have a chance to see how it is supposed to work. I will communicate with you privately on this offer.

As for what you did encounter there was no excuse for the staff not coming to your assistance with the ant and electrical problem. We have an electrician on staff 24 hours a day to deal with power problems - be they a bad hook up on our part or a faulty generator in your RV.

We have a strict proabition against under age people driving any vehicle on the property and we have very explicit noise control policies. Obviously, you found yourself in an area where our Rangers were not doing their job.

Since the season opened we have had to let a number of our security people go. We now have a top notch team in place and I am sure, if you return, you will not find the problems you encountered early in the season..

I do not offer that as an excuse - we should have been better prepared when the season opened.

Please consider being our guest so you can see what Vail Lake is really like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This place is a rip off! Go to Tucolata Springs or Lake Skinner for a third of the price.

This place will charge you for everything. Lets see, for a family of 4 to go fishing for a day it was something crazy like $70.00

The water slides ( with freezing cold water ) are another $20.00 each.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank dprell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VailLakeTed, Manager at Vail Lake RV Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dprell,

I am sorry you were disappointed with the value you received for your money. You are absolutely correct in saying there are cheaper places to stay.

We feel that the total package we offer guest is something very unique. With your Camp Site comes access to 11,000 acres of wilderness with miles of off road, bike , and horse trials.

You can swim, water ski, wake-board, or just hang out in our 1000 acre lake or enjoy any one of our 4 Pools. We offer entertainment in the evenings, and concerts and fireworks on major holidays.

Granted it is not for everyone. Our prices are higher but we believe we offer one of the best values in Southern California.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almond, WI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We are snowbirds from Wisconsin and we spent our winter as Camp Hosts at Vail Lake RV Resort. The Camp Host program was fun and fair and we met many dear friends who we will truely miss when we go back to Wisconsin.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cfree3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
5.6 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
879 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
5.6 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,369 reviews
9.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vail Lake RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vail Lake RV Resort

Property: Vail Lake RV Resort
Address: 38000 Highway 79 South, Temecula, CA 92592
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Temecula
Number of rooms: 467
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vail Lake RV Resort features 467 full hook up RV sites with 30 and 50 AMP power. The property is adjacent to Vail Lake with great Largemouth Bass fishing and boating. Vail Lake has miles of challenging and scenic mountain bike trails (best suited for intermediate and advanced riders)along with miniature golf course, horseshoe pits, bocce ball and more. The majority of our RV camping sites are located among a large grove of mature oak trees offering shaded areas for relaxing. We are minutes away from the wineries and amenities of the Temecula Valley but the setting is rustic and natural with views of the surrounding mountain region. Currently we do not offer tent camping at Vail Lake but we may be offering some tent sites in the near future. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Vail Lake Village And Rv Resort
Vail Lake Village & Rv Hotel Temecula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing