We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So/so stay for what was hoped to be a romantic getaway.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Churon Winery

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inn at Churon Winery
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“So/so stay for what was hoped to be a romantic getaway.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Like other reviewers, I wanted to love it. Unfortunately, the Churon is just unimpressive. We checked in around 4pm. The woman checking us in was not very friendly nor welcoming. She also failed to mention that there is no front desk staff in the night. We retired to our room. It was an odd shaped room with 2 queen beds instead of the single king we requested.

The good parts: rooms were quiet for us on day one, the beds were comfortable, the room is large, w/ a gas fireplace, has a mini fridge, also has a nice balcony w/ a table and chairs, bathroom was also large, with big shower and hot tub.

The bad parts: rooms were noisy the next morning w/ loud clacking, the fireplace only worked 1/2 the time, the air conditioning wouldn't work (I'll explain later), the hot tub is slightly small for a man of average height, there were ants all over the cabinet w/ the fridge, and the maid opened the door (which doesn't have a chain lock) while the "do not disturb" sign was up a half hour before check out.

Just a note on the air conditioner. The thermostat only goes as cool as 70 degrees Fahrenheit. I forget how warm it goes, but it is limited too. During our stay it was rather warm. We tried to cool the room which was a stuffy 74 degrees. Finally we called down to the front desk for help, but they had already left for the night. We ended up opening the balcony doors for cooler fresh air. The next morning we discovered there is a switch in the closet. It looks like it is taped up to stay on, with a note saying "do not touch". But it had been flicked off. Once turned on, the air conditioner kicked in. Perhaps that's something the staff should check beforehand and it made for an unpleasant stay.

Over all, I was not impressed. All in all, I'd likely never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliGirlieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatChuronWinery, Owner at Inn at Churon Winery, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review as we do take these seriously. We certainly apologize for any rudeness our front desk personnel displayed and we will address that concern. As for your comment related to no front desk personnel at night - there is a person on duty at night and their personal phone number is listed for you in our Guest Directory Book. This person is there to deal with any problems that arise after hours.

For your problems with the air conditioner - the company who installed the air conditioners set a governor on the units for control. We do realize that at times this can be difficult to deal with, but it unfortunately is beyond our control.

I am surprised at your comment about the spa tub as these are 2-person spa tubs and are the largest available. I am sorry it did not meet your needs.

I certainly hope you were able to report the problem with the fireplace to the front desk so we can make sure any equipment difficulties are fixed immediately.

Again, thank you for your comments as we will address each and every one of them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    63
    44
    21
    21
See reviews for
13
172
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Orange, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I enjoy staying at Churon. The beds and rooms are very nice and comfortable. You can enjoy the morning watching the hot air balloons take flight from your balcony. The front desk was very helpful, and we love the location. They also have a very yummy peach champagne.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 25yrstime2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Lakes
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend in Temecula, which included one nite at Churon Winery.Let me say it was wonderful.Is it a five star? No. But it was pretty close. What a view, and the rooms were, I thought ,very comfortable. The wine tasting at nite and the breakfast the next morning only added to the value. The staff were willing to answer any questions and give their recommendations.Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Inn was very nicely decorated (older, but decorated with taste), clean, the rooms were spacious, the bathrooms spacious, and the full breakfast very good. The shower is extremely slippery and needs a mat. This is an accident ready to happen. Our room was on the ground area and opened up to a small patio with grass. Wine tasting came with the Travelzoo deal, but we never partook of this extra. Upon arriving, we were given a bottle of wine and told that there were NO wine openers in the room; we were told that the guests had removed what few wine openers there had been. If we wanted the bottle opened, we would have to take it to the desk so they could open it. I suggested that the Inn should have wine openers in each room that have their name printed on it. That way, the guests can take them as a souvenir of the memorable stay. This is a good marketing idea and advertisement for the Inn, and the guests would be able to open their bottles of wine at their leisure. This would be a small, but profitable, investment for the Inn, and the guests would be satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhonda062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatChuronWinery, Owner at Inn at Churon Winery, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. We have ordered wine openers for the rooms and they should arrive shortly. We certainly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
182 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Let me start by saying I really wanted to love this place, and my first impression was really good. We arrived late, so they called us to warn us the desk would be closed and where to find our key. We arrived after dark, got into our room OK, and were very impressed with the room, and especially the balcony and bathroom. Then it got light out the next day. This place is run down and only superficially clean. Most of the paint is dirty, chipped, etc. Some of the windows in the hall ways are so dirty you can't see out of them. The door to the hotel near where we parked has a card reader that is completly dismantled, so anyone can just walk into the hotel. The water pressure is a drizzle, the ice machine did not work all weekend and the last day we had no hot water in the shower. What a shame to let this terrific property go to hell like this. Then to see comments in the reviews, going back years say similar things, it make me wonder how this can continue. I will say the staff was mostly friendly, and the breakfast, made to order was really good. When we left I shared some of my concerns about the water and the ice machine, and I just got excuses, and not even an apology. What a shame, I wanted to love this place, but totally did not. Those rating this so high must be willing to overlook the maintenance issues.

Room Tip: Get a vinyard view, but first ask if they have hot water and a working ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnatChuronWinery, Owner at Inn at Churon Winery, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Inn at Churon Winery. We certainly apologize for your problems with the hot water pressure. The city had a broken water main that we were not informed about until after your stay. The problem has now been fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Inn was nice, comfortable with very spacious rooms and offered great breakfasts with the Travelzoo deal. The views were very nice from any room and the service was very good. The only improvement that could be made would be on the grounds which had minimal landscaping and old parking lots. Wine tasting also came with the Travelzoo deal making it even a better value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biggmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

An older, very comfortable Inn. Not pretentious. Many of the staff are related to the owner and make the stay personal, special. Thank you again to Damon, Debbie, and Danny. FANTASTIC employees! Your ability to welcome your guests (in our case, return guests) makes each stay all that much more enjoyable! The suite was beautiful, bed so comfortable, view spectacular. Quiet. Fun wine tasting hour for the guests staying there. Nice way to meet people from all over the world. I even appreciate it more since we were just in Italy...the wineries in Temecula are just as beautiful!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite....Close to many other wineries making it a nice way to have a variety. Private d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christinebauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
1.6 mi away
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
1.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
2.0 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#2 of 19 in Temecula
4.5 of 5 stars 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
4.5 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Churon Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Churon Winery

Property: Inn at Churon Winery
Address: 33233 Rancho California Rd, Temecula, CA 92591-5107
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at Churon Winery 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at Churon Winery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At Churon Winery Hotel Temecula
Hotel At Churon Winery
At Churon Winery Temecula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing