We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little secret, the best latte !”

Havana Kitchen Cafe
Ranked #17 of 418 Restaurants in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A little secret, the best latte !”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Sorry Starbucks ! I come in for a Cuban Sol Latte with half the sugar, whenever I can. It is definitely the best latte I have ever had. What a special treat! The Cuban coffee served in a decanter is also very good if you like good strong coffee. Hope you're not in a hurry, it takes about 10 mins, but it's worth it. The food is pretty good too. I had the pork & rice dish which I enjoyed & its gluten free. Prices are very reasonable & I love to sit out on the patio & just enjoy.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnj77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    40
    8
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
575 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were here for dinner on a Friday night. Luckily we got there early because after 6 it fills up quickly. The service was impeccable and the food was very good. There were 8 people in our group and everyone enjoyed their meal. It is quite reasonably priced and has a great selection of Cuban food. If you are looking for something different than Mexican and Italian, then this spot is IT! You order at the counter and they bring the food to your table. And they clear up the dishes after you are done. A great little place!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Addicted!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I will begin by saying that I had ever had Cuban food until I tried Havana Kitchen in Old Town Temecula. Since I didn't know what to expect I just tried something that sounded interesting. The item I ordered is called the Guajiro dish. It is such a simple dish, yet full of flavor. It consists of perfectly ripe avocado that is diced and covered in the mojo sauce. This sauce is lime, garlic, onion and a little oil, I believe. The garlic and onion are not strong at all. They are perfectly balanced. The mojo is also on the yuca as well. I didn't know what yuca was until I had it here. It reminds me of potato in a way. There is also a small container of their fabulous black beans and white rice that come along side the avocado and yuca. There is a small bit of fried yuca that they put on the top. It sort of looks like a tiny pancake. It is very good and not greasy at all. My favorite part is the plantain that is included. It is cooked to perfection every time. I usually get this dish to go on the weekend. I have also tried the Avocado Sandwich and that is tied for first place in my book! It is a must if you like avocado. Their empanadas are also good. I think they have five different flavors to choose from. It is perfect to get a few different ones to share. I have tried a few other dishes as well and liked all I tried. But, I keep going back to my favorite, the Guajiro dish.
Every time I go there it is busy, so be prepared to wait a bit. They get the food out as quick as they can, but being that they are so popular, they can only cook so much so fast. Go before the lunch rush or wait till a bit later. I always call in my order and pick it up.
I don't drink coffee, but everyone I know says theirs is the best! I tried one once. I will admit it did taste good, but coffee just isn't for me. I go for the food and will say that I am addicted to it. It is a must at least once a week for me!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Cuban food and really masterful coffee!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Whenever we go to Havana Kitchen, I get their "traditional" Cuban sandwich. I can't get past them! That and the sweet plantains! All their food is wonderful and I haven't tasted a bad dish there. Also, be sure to try their espresso drinks. One of the best espressos I have ever had! Really a fun, casual dining experience mixed with a coffee shop vibe!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

You must eat here. Feel free to order anything on the menu because you will not be disappointed. The steak is so tender. The chicken is well flavored. The avocado salad is perfect. Save room for a guava pastry and Cuban coffee. We tried the tableside fresh drip brewed coffee served with milk and sugar...oh my...fantastic!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jodi_Marie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Havana Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing