We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovers Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Southern Ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovers Special”
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My husband and I and our best friends spied this wonderful opportunity to stay at the South Coast Winery Spa and Resort during Valentine's Day Week. Any other time we would not be able to afford such a luxury! We arrived and were able to check in early and enjoy the room with a fireplace in the rain. The room was actually a small "villa" broken up into different areas-eating (small fridge, sink, and microwave and dining table and chairs. The living area had a couch, chair, table lamps and a fireplace. The king size bed with down comforter and pillows was in the corner overlooking the vineyards with a huge bathroom.The bed was a dream to sleep in. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub, separate shower and toilet area( with a phone) and a his and her sink. The decor was done like an Italian villa. We had a bottle of wine of choice in our room as part of our "Lovers'" package as well as a wine tasting for two, a mimosa breakfast the following day, and a book of coupons to use at the spa and restaurant. The breakfast was wonderful and the service there fantastic. The service at the resort from the front desk to housekeeping was the best I have ever had. If you get the opportunity to visit this wonderful resort-do it! I am looking forward to returning again whenever another great deal comes up!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jshimpock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,121
    377
    148
    56
    57
See reviews for
196
1,096
32
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We recently went to South Coast for a belated Valentine's Day celebration. We didn't have really high expectations I hate to say. We are not big fans of the winery. However the resort really exceeded our expectations. Though I will agree with some reviewers that the decor is a little 90s and/or California model home generic, I won't knock the rating down for that reason. The furnishings are in excellent shape and very clean so I consider it a matter of personal taste. The fireplace worked great- which was nice since it was "chilly" for California. The hot tub was big enough for 2 (though we're not tall people) and more importantly was immaculate. There was a nice sized 2-head shower and the bathroom itself was huge. There was a cute table for breakfast, a wet bar, and a nice private patio outside french doors. If you plan to watch TV, you probably won't like its location but I hope you don't go there to watch the game. I think its important to note that this IS a villa and NO walls are attached. Many hotels are using the "villa" moniker a little loosely.We received several nice perks associated with the winery & restaurant. Overall we were pleasantly surprised and happy. I'd like to go 4.5- it wasn't perfect. But we'd go back again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMoCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We stayed over Valentine's Day weekend in one of the resort's premier villa suites. There are two of these types of villas on the resort property. They were not advertised on the website, which indicated they were completely sold out, but when I called and asked if they had any special suites, this one was available. They really should advertise the suite, it was in a prime location, overlooking the vineyards and facing the mountains. The suite we were told was twice the size of the regular villas, it featured two full bathrooms, foyer, large living room with a dining table for 6, and two flat screen televisions and fireplaces located in both the master suite and living room, as well as, a large, private balcony. Really it felt like having your own private condo on the vineyard. The room was super spacious, the bed was surprisingly comfy (I'm super picky about this), and well kept. The decor is not super modern or stylish, but it's fitting with the "wine country style." My only gripe about the room was the noise the AC would make when it switched on. During the night it would wake us up and I had earplugs in! The resort should install central air instead of stand alone units, They were just too loud and would project the cold air directly to the bed. Others staying in the hotel had a similar complaint.

Check in was swift and courteous, even for a busy weekend. Every employee we encountered at the resort was friendly and helpful from the front desk, to room service to the restaurants. I have to give special acknowledgement to the cashier at the gift shop who took the time to wrap a gift nicely and had a real genuine, pleasant attitude.

I appreciated the discounts and amenities provided for resort guests including discounts at the spa, free wine tastings and a complimentary bottle of wine in the room.

Housekeeping did a great job. I am not sure if every room received turn down service, we requested it, and the only miss was that the housekeeper forgot to refill our ice buckets. Not a big deal if there were ice machines nearby, but we had no luck locating one.

We had dinner in the restaurant which was nice enough, next time though I would like to try to eat somewhere in old town. Obviously, you come to Temecula expecting to drink wine, but after the first day I was craving just a simple martini. Warning here----they do not serve liquor at the resort, including in the restaurant. It's beer and wine only. So if you’re not a complete oenophile - BYOB! =)

We did a wine tour in a limo with our friends. We requested tasting smaller wineries, as we had already been to all the biggies. Our tour included Weins, Leonesse, Keyways and Robert Renzoni in that order. I will review these wineries separately on tripadvisor, but my favorite was Renzoni for its classic Italian style varietals (Leonesse was also a favorite of our group). There are several wineries along the "De Portola Wine Trail", they are mostly smaller producing, family- owned wineries and I highly recommend trying the wineries in this area if you want to have a more intimate wine tasting experience. Everyone in our group appreciates fine wine and we were happy to discover several great wines and noticed a real improvement in the quality of wines coming out of Temecula from the last time we visited.

Overall, we had a very good time and enjoyed the quick getaway from Los Angeles. I believe this is probably the nicest and most centrally located resort in Temecula wine country. It was worth it for us to stay in the large suite, as we felt it had the most privacy and comfort. I would likely stay at this resort again when wine tasting in Temecula and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAngeleno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Warm welcome by the front desk staff, several fun extras are included. Free wine tasting and pancake for breakfast with your room. Great amenities in the room. Love the privacy of having your own casita. Plush beds, large bathrooms, it was the best place we stayed on our 10 day trip to CA. Only bad thing was a dirty shower head which was odd since everything else was so nicely cleaned. Room also came with complimentary bottle of wine and glasses. We would absolutely recommend it. Don't forget to get the bananas foster pancake the next morning, was the best breakfast I've ever had!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Stayed at South Coast for a business retreat last week. 3 nights and days. was excited to experience a bit of business and pleasure but feel the property/staff fell a bit short on guest experience. the Temecula Wine area has beauty. the good: 1 hour from San Diego, spacious rooms and mostly detached rooms, comfy beds, nice grounds and very good staff at front desk. The average: very 1990's decor and architecture, service staff for room and really slow internet in the room. food was average to below average for the price. as a venue for a retreat: below average. the barrel room was not as private as it could have been and lacked character.

the true issue for me is value: what we paid for 3 days. $750 in hotel room, $45 in resort fees and $200 for 1 meal and 1 round of drinks for my fiance and I seemed like a lot.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ModernTraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

What a wonderful location for a get-away. The room I stayed in was a bungalow styled building. It was very quiet and set right next to the grapevines. (I bet it's absolutely gorgeous in the summer!) The room, including the bathroom, were so roomy and elegant (the bathroom was on par with what I've expreienced at the Four Seasons.) The bed was comfortable and provided a fine night sleep, the staff was very accomidating, and what a nice bonus to arrive to a bottle of wine to enjoy. I would recommend this location to other travelers for sure.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chickenoregg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I recently stayed at S.C. Winery on a recommendation from a client and they were right. I really enjoyed their property even though there was no grapes in the vineyard it was really pretty. We arrived early and took the wine tour while we waited for the villa to be ready. The tour was interesting and lots of sampling along the way. Followed by wine, cheese, fruit, and chocolate pairing in a garden. The villa's have a large tub and fireplace, cottage styling interior. We had dinner at the restaurant (not sure of the name), romantic with the candle lit dinner. The portions looked so small I was scared we were going to be heading out to Chilies after wards. However, it was delicious and filled me up. After 7 pm the resort is pretty dead. If your looking for nightlife or any fun after dark there's nothing going on. The hot tub and pool area are secluded and they don't care if you bring wine in. It was a fun one day mini vaca but more then that I would be bored.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kendrac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,369 reviews
6.4 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Property: South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing