We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past It's Prime”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
“Past It's Prime”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just got back from a weekend wedding at the resort. The carpet in my room appeared as if it had not been cleaned in years. It was so full of stains that I was afraid to walk on it in my bare feet. The digital feed on the TV was so poor that it rendered the TV useless. The entire facility seems to be past it prime. It is obvious that they have become a wedding mill that is paying little attention to facility upkeep.

Room Tip: Stay at the Ponte
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Hi Tom M.
Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. While we genuinely appreciate you choosing South Coast Winery for your stay, we are disappointed to hear that our villas did not meet your expectations. Our staff takes pride in maintaining the highest of standards in the cleanliness and guest satisfaction, and we regret you were left feeling that your experience was less than exceptional. We can assure you that each and every room is thoroughly cleaned and inspected before it is released. We also know how important special occasions are, and we are here to create weddings catered to the exact desires of each unique couple that we have the pleasure of working with. We thank you for sharing your experience and offering feedback, as we take it constructively and direct it toward our ongoing efforts for improvement. We trust that you will give South Coast Winery a second chance, and revisit our property upon your next return to Temecula Valley Wine Country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    414
    175
    64
    58
See reviews for
241
1,228
38
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange county
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We come here every year for the spa, wine, villas, FOOD. BUT what really is what brings us back is top notch service.
Every year, I get in touch with Sarah who oversees the events at the restaurant, etc. She communicates with the Chef and they put together an amazing chef table experience for us. She goes above and beyond each year to make sure the evening is absolutely perfect. Chef Jason....wow!! What a talent and I love when he comes out to the table and presents the food. He is so laid back and his food is to die for. I HIGHLY recommend you splurge and do the chef table.
The villas are so wonderful and private feeling. They are a little dated and need some new modern touches but we still love it.
The spa is always a highlight. Belinda is amazing. Perfect touch on my massage. We love meeting after on the second floor veranda and have a glass of bubbly and just relax in comfy robes. The pool is wonderful. It's usually very calm and relaxing. It would be perfect if there was an adult only pool. Don't get me wrong!! I am a mother of three little ones. But when we go,out here it is a little getaway and this trip kids were screaming in the pool. Not as relaxing.
Food at pool, good but it would be so awesome if more chooses!!!
The breakfast was delightful. We sat outside and it was quite good. Service in the am a little slow, but we aren't in a hurry, right?? :)
The behind the scenes tour is always a lot of fun. The wines here keep getting better and better. Years ago, they focused more on the whites. Well, now they are all grown up. The reds are awesome. Laura who was the tour guide is very knowledgeable and lots of fun.
Thank you Sarah and Chef Jason. It was so amazing thanks to you both. ❤️
One thing.....front desk was very slow and we had several glitches. I remember when the check in area was at the main building where the wine is. I liked that so much better. One special touch would be if when you check in, they hand you a glass of wine. I know several resorts that do this. It would be an extra touch that would make you feel like your truly in vacation!!!! Just an idea......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HBsurferwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi HBsurferwife,
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a thorough review of your yearly escape to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We truly value you as a return guest, and cannot thank you enough for sharing this exceptional experience and recognizing the staff members that made it so special. The Chef’s Table dinner at the Vineyard Rose restaurant is a dining experience unlike any other, and we are so glad you make it a part of your yearly, well-deserved, wine country getaway. Please know that your generous compliments are deeply appreciated, as is your feedback. We welcome any and all suggestions, as we are always striving to create the best experience possible for our guests. The next time you need to get away and enjoy a comfy robe and glass of bubbly, we hope you revisit us at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa! Until then, cheers to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The new Wine Wednesdays with wine tasting from 6 to 8pm and a special discount at the hotel with a bottle of wine, made for the perfect mid-week anniversary celebration!
The South Coast Resort room with jacuzzi tub and a patio facing the vineyard,was beautifully furnished. The restaurant, pool, and spa, along with the evening wine tasting, made it a truly
memorable anniversary. We'll be back!!

Room Tip: The first floor of the hotel has jacuzzi tubs and have patios facing the vineyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotalove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Hi Lotalove,
Thank you for your 5-star review of your mid-week getaway at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. Happy Anniversary! By your review, it looks like you took the time to thoroughly enjoy every amenity we enjoy providing to our guests’ for enjoyment: one night accommodations in the tranquil setting of our vineyards, the GrapeSeed Spa, Vineyard Rose restaurant, the award winning South Coast wines. We are so glad to hear our new Wine Wednesday offer made your special occasion a memorable one. We truly appreciate you choosing our resort for this celebration, and we look forward to seeing you in the future! Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This property is quite beautiful. Everywhere you go, there are grape vines... you can quite literally walk out the door and there are beautiful vines all over. We're staying in a villa at the moment and it is quite large and it's nice to have more seclusion over their standard rooms; however I will say that it definitely looks like they've been around for quite some time. Everything is clean, no worries... but their jacuzzi tub looks like its from the 80's... it isn't porcelain, it's that beige plastic so it looks dirty even though it isn't. They could definitely spruce up the paint or the wall paper here, as well as the curtains to give this place an updated look. I think this place is great, but as a 27 year old walking into this place... I feel like I've aged 15 years.

Aside from the outdated decor and in room amenities, this place really is quite beautiful and very much relaxing.

Room Tip: The villa's are really nice because of the privacy; however, make sure to ask for one that is fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Chrissy K.
Thank you for your 4-star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We appreciate you choosing our beautiful winery resort for your recent trip to Temecula Valley Wine Country, and so glad you enjoyed the gorgeous vineyard in such close proximity to your private villa. The villas here at South Coast Winery were carefully designed to evoke the old-world styles and rustic charm of an authentic countryside villa found in the wine regions of Province or Tuscany. For those who prefer a more contemporary style and design, we offer up a three story, 50-unit, all suite found hotel tower set in the midst of the vineyards, equally spacious & luxurious with a modern-twist. Whether you prefer modern chic or countryside charm, we want you to know South Coast strives to provide the highest standards of excellence to each and every one of our visitors. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to Temecula Valley Wine Country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had a three night stay in one of the villas at South Coast for a business wine tasting event. The villa rooms are delightful with nice patios looking over the vineyard and they are very comfortable and all with gas fireplaces for the cool evenings. The people were great, the pool area is nice, the spa is excellent, and the prices are very reasonable. We had a winery tour which was excellent and South Coast produces some enjoyable wines. Their restaurant, Vineyard Rose, is also very good. Definitely worth a return visit.

Room Tip: Request a villa with a vineyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi John N.
Thank you for your 5 star review of your recent visit to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are so pleased to have had you as a visitor from Washington DC, and especially pleased that you enjoyed your private villa, the pool at the Grapeseed Spa, and dining at the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We appreciate you taking the time to experience the Behind the Scenes Wine Tour, allowing you an up close and personal view of a working winery. We trust we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Southern California’s Temecula Valley Wine Country. Until then, cheers to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Starting the minute we walked in (room was ready 4 hours early) the experience was an 11 on a scale from 1-10. The service and professionalism were superb. The atmosphere and being able to get up close was the best we have ever experienced and we have traveled to many places over the years. Another positive for us was this place is right in our back yard! We live in Menifee and Temecula Wine Country is roughly about 25 minutes away. We did the behind the scenes wine tour and our guide (Tony) was the best. Informative and funny at the same time. A lot of knowledge along with his peer Sonia.
The food and wine that we had was over the top. I can't believe that being here in South County Inland Empire we haven't been here before. Our room in the main building was the best we have ever been in. All modern electronic stuff (fireplace had a remote control with about 15 different settings) that would not turn on until you place your key card into a special slot for electrical to work. Not only a perfect room but takes our environment into account as well. Never have seen that before. It just seems that the entire resort was built with the guest in mind and not built with cutting corners in mind. The bathroom, well I want that bathroom in my house but I won't describe it. You need to go and stay to see it for yourself.
We are going back so we can enjoy the Spa next time. Oh, we joined the wine club. Couldn't resist.
Anyway, that was our experience. I am sure when you all try it out for yourselves you will hopefully have the same type of exceptional visit.

Room Tip: They have private bungalows that seemed great but we did not stay in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stu R Blaze Tra... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi Stu R Blaze Tra…B
Thank you for your 5 star review of your recent stay at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. It’s always extra special when we get to introduce our “neighbors” to the beauty that can be found in our own back yards. As you noted, our team strives to provide the very best service for our guests, and we are so pleased to hear you experienced an 11 on a scale of 1-10. We are also just 1 of only 57 wineries in the state to be a California Certified Sustainable Vineyard, and we take great pride in being good stewards of our planet. Thank you for recognizing it and for mentioning your fun, yet informative, Behind the Scene Wine Tour provided by Tony and Sonia. We are excited to welcome you to our Wine Club, and look forward to your future visits to South Coast Winery in the months and years to come. Until then, cheers to you, our new Wine Club members!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Uruguay
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We just spent 3 days at South Coast and loved it. We got a villa, and book 2 separate online special packages during our 3 days stay, the luxury package for the first 2 days, and the Carter Estates Wine Package for the 3rd day. This allows you to get more for your money s the packages are bundles with extras like massages, lunches, breakfasts, wine tours, wine tastings, spa and gift shop discounts, etc which complement your stay and makes it just a tad but more expensive than a regular room but with a lot of extras included that make it hundreds less expensive in the long run. The villa was great, as was the restaurant, pool, wine tour, tasting, and spa. I was a little under the weather one day, but the massage brought me right back to life. Thanks South Coast for an awesome getaway!

Room Tip: Villas are nice and quiet with a private patio and Tuscan flavor. I think they are probably all goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckckckckckck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Hi ckckckckckck,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your 5-star review your recent three-day getaway at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. Our special packages are designed so that guests can experience several different features of our Resort, and we are so glad to hear you were able to take advantage of all that we have to offer. We are especially happy to hear that your massage brought you back to life after feeling under the weather! As a Top Trip Advisor contributor, we look forward to your return visit to South Coast Winery in the not-too-distant future. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,428 reviews
6.4 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
6.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Property: South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing