We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting, great amenities, close to wineries”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 13, 2014

A combination of hotel, resort, spa and winery makes this a unique setting at present, although other wineries are adding resorts and bungalows quickly. Set along the wine trail, there is a main hotel (behind the winery) with a spa, pool and weight/exercise facilities. Cabanas surround the pool along with pool chairs for a comfortable and relaxed environment. We stayed in one of the several cabanas on the property. There are four rooms surrounding a small central courtyard. This meant as friends we were all in the same area, but not in the same nor in adjoining rooms -- giving just a few inches more space. The rooms are nicely appointed, with comfortable beds, a nice fireplace, and in-room jaccuzzi-style tub, mini-fridge, and even a nice fireplace, with a small patio off the bedroom. All in all, including a free bottle of wine, this was a great value in an easy to find location near all of the wineries.
A suggestion: Give a coupon for a free bottle of wine instead of leaving one in the room. Since we didn't like the varietal, it doesn't help with wine sales or tasting. But, with a coupon, I would have gone to the tasting room sooner, bought a tasting ticket (or two), tried the wines, and then exchanged my coupon for one I really enjoyed! Besides, you will probably have 1/2 the people never claim their coupon, and you can spend more on a higher speed internet connection.

Room Tip: Room block 15 is close to the pool and spa, but not so close that you hear noise -- and you can slip...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lestertheinvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi Lestertheinvestor,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are happy to see one of our guests so highly recommending our resort. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your luxurious villa with comfy bed, Jacuzzi tub, fireplace, private patio overlooking the vineyards and complimentary bottle of wine. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon perhaps for dinner at the Vineyard Rose restaurant or a relaxing spa service at the GrapeSeed Spa.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,072)
There are newer reviews for South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,434 - 1,440 of 2,073 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Pamela and Mossie were great. Great service and wine! We enjoyed our time and we will be back!

The reds were particularly good.

We went to a lot of Wineries and this was the best!

Really beautiful property!

Friends went to the spa since they could not drink and enjoyed it too.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank lisam683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi lisam683,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to hear that you had such a wonderful time sampling some of our award-winning wines in our Tasting Room. We would like to thank you for recognizing our talented Tasting Room staff members, Pamela and Massie, that were part of making your time at South Coast so enjoyable. We hope that you will come down and visit us again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I stay here every year and absolutely love it. The staff is friendly and the property is the best location and has the best rooms of any place in Temecula. The Villas are rooms that are so nice you could live in them. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: Stay in the Villa.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyDogBarkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCWRS, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Hi MyDogBarkley,

Thank you for your 5 star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa! We would like to extend our gratitude to you as a repeat visitor to our winery resort. We are always happy to read that one of our guests is so highly recommending our resort; from our beautiful location in the heart of Temecula Valley wine country, to the private villas overlooking the vineyards and our friendly and talented staff members. We are so glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

My husband and I drove from Phoenix to Temecula for a mid-week get-away. We booked the "Kit and Cab-oodle Package" at South Coast Winery. We upgraded to a vineyard villa which was lovely beyond words. It was very spacious and featured a comfy king size bed with luxurious linens, jetted tub, fireplace, cozy couch and a dining area. The package included a bottle of wine upon arrival and a mimosa breakfast both mornings. The first morning we enjoyed our mimosa breakfast on our patio which was surrounded by vineyard. We loved the behind the scenes winery tour and our tourguide was awesome! We enjoyed it so much, we joined the wine club! We visited several wineries and tasting rooms in the area, but South Coast is the best. This may seem hard to believe, but the package also INCLUDES a CASE of South Coast Cab. It is a great deal at a great resort for wine lovers!

Room Tip: Recommend upgrading to the Villas. It is worth the extra $$
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ehillestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We received a gift card for the Winery and decided to use if for Christmas Eve dinner and a room for 1 night. We were reserved all set to go and discovered on the way out the door the gift card must have been thrown out by error. I was just sick about it. I called in panic and ended up being saved by Brittany Rodriguez Reservations Manager and Brian Montoya in Accounting. They were able to track it and made it happen for us to enjoy our room and dinner.
We had a lovely time and everything was just perfect. Needless to say it could have easily gone in other direction.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwitul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We are at the resort right now and you can't really fault it. Well I guess you could, but only if you don't have any real things to worry about. ( actually, I do have a stinking cold and they haven't done anything about that! :). )
Place is exactly what you would expect. Five star ish without being the four seasons.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rioruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagon, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Rioruss:

Thank you for taking the time to provide your five-star review on your recent stay at our Southern California Temecula Valley Wine Country Resort. Given that you are an appointed "Senior Contributor" for Trip Advisor, it gives us great pleasure to have South Coast Winery receive your highly recommended "worth a visit" rating.

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa prides itself in offering guests five-star service, without being "four seasons-ish"! Yet, we are saddened that you didn't let us know you had a "stinking cold" while you were staying with us. We do have the perfect remedy: a steamy cup of Chef's delicious homemade soup, followed by a nice relaxing soak in the tub of our oversized baths with a few candles added; and then, of course, you might even add in a little wine too to top off your R&R treatment. Our multi-gold winning Black Jack Port works wonders for soothing away annoying coughs. Please get well soon, and we will look forward to welcoming you back with us on your return visit next time you return. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in one of South Coast Wineries Villas. Each villa is in a Pod of 4 villas and you have your very own 'pod' that includes a nice outdoor-private balcony overlooking the vineyards. The villa is furnished with a dining table, living area (ours included a fireplace), bedroom and large bathroom. The villas are a short walk to the winery tasting room and restaurant as well as the Grapeseed Spa. If you are thinking about staying close to the wineries and out of the commercial mess in Temecula, this is the place to be. Our villa was actually cheaper than staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Temecula and we truly felt like we got a great deal being on property. Would stay here again but request a villa with mountain view...

Room Tip: Order room service breakfast and eat on your villa patio…was a nice experience in the morning prior...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridget k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagon, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear bridget k:

Thank you for posting your five-star Trip Advisor review highlighting your recent stay at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. There's no greater compliment than to read the part of a review when our guests state that they will stay with us again. Thank You!

We are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful experience and that you loved your beautiful villa accommodations. We're particularly pleased to see that you enjoyed the value of staying with us: having your very own private villa tucked away in the vineyards (where each one comes complete with fireplace and jacuzzi tub); and all the while, being just a short walk from our award winning tasting rooms, restaurant and spa.

Thank you again; and we'll see you next year.

Cheers,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,452 reviews
6.4 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
1.6 mi away
Inn at Churon Winery
Inn at Churon Winery
#14 of 19 in Temecula
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
Price Range: $206 - $425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing