We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“villas and spa are excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“villas and spa are excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

went here for a quick weekend trip with my wife stayed in the Villas near the pool and would recommend it to anyone. The service is very good all staff was really attentive and always had a smile. Spa was also nice would recommend also.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhino420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    321
    118
    48
    45
See reviews for
133
913
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I had a great time here. The room was beautiful and the view of the winery was breathtaking. I especially enjoyed the bathroom. The layout was luxurious and provided plenty of space to spread and get ready for the next day. The conversational bathroom bench was a nice touch for those interested in bath time conversations. I'm only giving the overall experience 4 stars because I found a spider in the bathroom and the long walk from the front desk to the room was rather far.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank candace c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

This was one of our best vacations. We go to many local places in San Diego for mini-vacations throughout the year. Our stay at South Coast Winery was outstanding. The staff was very courteous and helpful, the location and weather were gorgeous, the food was excellent and the wines were unbelievable. We joined the wine club we loved the wines so much. I am canceling my subscription to another wine club. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a villa. Simply beautiful. Look for the hot air balloons lifting off early in the mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nnaple N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laguna niguel caalifornia, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Had a lovely overnighter here. Interesting place. We booked a casita, which is basically just four rooms in a "pod" with a central courtyard separating the rooms, but felt like a stand alone casita. It was tucked among the winery's grapevines, with our little patio overlooking a nice section. We were just a few yards from the spa, which is a wonderful facility, with all the amenities you would expect from a first class spa. A rather limited menu in the restaurant for dinner, but what we ordered was excellent (after an initial confusion over the order). All the staff has gone to "smile school," from the front desk to housekeeping. The room was a delight: spacious, well appointed, the shower had 2 separate shower heads coming at you from 2 directions, and a jacuzzi that would fit two :) Refrigerator and wet bar was a nice touch, as was the Keurig coffee maker - way better than your usual in-room coffee maker. We plan to go back - and make it a longer visit next time, as we'd also like to do a winery tour and tasting! Bravo, South Coast Winery, Resoirt and Spa!

Room Tip: Ask for a casita away from the main hotel/restaurant. It's cozy and intimate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teeburd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We loved it here. The Villa was beautiful. The restaurant had wonderful food and service. We went to the pool, beautiful. Used the jacuzzi. Wine tasting there was our favorite. We had trouble with making reservations online. Tried to book hotel/ hot air ballon package with an extra night, but the website would not let us add the extra night. I ended up booking the package twice trying to get it right. Called the hotel, the man helping me cancelled the extra tour/ night and added the second night, and sent me the email. When we arrived for our stay he had cancelled the whole thing. Luckily Julie was able to book us for two nights, it was a Sunday so they were not full. We had to call the hot air balloon ourselves.

Room Tip: We loved having a Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelisaMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary at South Coast and the stay from beginning to end was amazing. The welcoming staff, the servers and the restaurant was great and let us not forget David our wine tasting host and the great wine! We will definitely recommend to all our friends and family. Thank you! We had the best time.

Room Tip: Room 310 has a beautiful view of the vineyards and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxy030754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
523 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

After searching for a beautiful, relaxed, and vineyard atmosphere for the villa accommodations for my daughter’s wedding, I chose South Coast Winery Resort and Spa as the ideal place for our 100 plus guests. The staff who work in group sales were professional, knowledgeable, and personal. They were eager to help us in every way to make this destination wedding memorable and beautiful. We booked the free-standing villas (four which do not share any common walls nestled amongst the grapevines. room is large (around 500 sq. ft or larger), gorgeously appointed with lovely fabrics, vineyard wall stencils, fireplaces, bar wet sink, refrigerator, walk-in closets, and bathroom suites boasting huge showers, Jacuzzi tubs, separate toilets, and quality amenities. The beds are super comfy with dark out shades that invite sleeping. The complimentary internet came in especially handy when I needed to send updates to party guests. Each room is individually decorated. Some of the villas have glass-topped dining tables with chairs, others have sofas and coffee tables. All enjoy tall double French doors leading to a private patio with a small marble topped round table and two chairs surrounded by vineyard views, trees, and flowers. A few guests stayed in the newly built hotel with balconies overlooking the valley and thought the rooms were beautiful as well. On the weekend mornings, colorful hot air balloons filled the sky outside our door. A bottle of South Coast red or white wine and two bottles of water are complimentary. With your villa passport, guests may indulge in discounted wine tastings and spa services, both highly recommended. The Grapeseed Spa offers first class treatments. After a sauna and steam, the bride and I were pampered with a hot stone massage which includes a glass of wine and fresh fruit post treatment. The heated salt-water swimming pool is a delight. When it rained one day, our group huddled in the large whirlpool and the Tuscan cabanas poolside. Order lunch at the poolside grill. You won’t be disappointed with the quality and quantity. You can ask for adjoining villas if you are traveling with another family and want a united front. Or, if you have several friends or family with you, you can request a booking for the entire quad of four villas, which we did. We stayed five days and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect including the Vineyard Rose Restaurant. Although we didn’t have the ceremony on the premises, we did book the Gold Barrel Room for the Rehearsal Dinner. It was the ideal banquet room. Temecula is an up and coming wine destination and South Coast is not to be missed. Roses, gardenias, palms, wisteria, geraniums, lantana, and numerous other flowers dot the landscape. As a gardener and designer, I truly appreciated South Coast’s attention to the tiny details. Everyone working at the resort was friendly and helpful truly making our stay and that of our guests a first class experience. Thank you South Coast. We can’t wait to return.

Room Tip: Loved the adjoining Villa Suites when traveling with two couples or booking all four villas in a qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#2 of 19 in Temecula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
6.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Property: South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing