We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Palm Desert, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Incredible place”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at this amazing property.Selected it based on reviews on trip advisor and no wonder it has a hight rating. We travel with a 3 year old so having access to a pool was nice.We stayed in the villa for 2 nights and wish we could stay longer.I feel like the villas is the way to go (I didn't stay at the hotel),clean crispy high quality sheets,comfortable bed and pillows,jacuzzi tub,fridge,patio, fireplace,TV and bottle of wine included with a stay. Grounds are breathtaking with amazing flowers,bushes,trees almost feels like botanic garden.Bring a camera many great spots to take pictures.We enjoyed very informative tour with Laura who was awesome,worth paying $35 per person. I also like the fact that we were able to bring our 3 year old with us-she was free.Since wine country doesn't typically cater to little ones it was a nice surprise.
We had a dinner and a breakfast at the property and it's a MUST, very very good food.I ordered Frutti de Mare-seafood stew with linguini and it was the best I ever had.My husband got a white fish with rice pilaf and it was also fantastic.Wines are great too, no wonder they won 1600 awards in the last 10 years. We met people by the pool who love it here so much that they have been coming to this property for years, bringing their families and friends and celebrating birthdays, anniversaries etc.That says a lot, they said that they have always been well taking care of and had no complains.I love their passport to excellence idea that you get upon your check in. It has coupons and discounts for variety of things around the property. I also loved their spa, got a express pedicure $ 25 for 25 minutes but Mon-friendly lady who was taking care of me spend more like 40 minutes and was super sweet and kind.We will be coming back here for sure,feels relaxing, quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Stay in a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmagon, Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Good afternoon, Evie631:

Thank you for your 5-star review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa! We are so pleased to hear you had such an excellent stay with us. We are glad you chose our winery resort for your family getaway and are happy that you enjoyed your beautiful villa room overlooking the vineyard, the comfy custom made king-sized bed, spacious spa tub, luxurious sheets and that special bottle of South Coast Winery wine.

We're delighted to learn here too that you took the extra time to enjoy some of the other fine amenities our resort has to offer: Vineyard Rose Restaurant, our GrapeSeed Spa, the breathtaking vineyard views, Wine Tasting Room, plus the Behind the Scenes wine tour.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort again soon!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,193
    398
    156
    59
    57
See reviews for
213
1,167
34
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

From the reception at the front desk to the beautifully landscaped and appointed villa this was a wonderful experience for our anniversary. Everything went well and sometimes above what I expected. The tasting was awesome with Greg sharing his knowledge and expertise. We had a wonderful dinner with average food. Our waiter Noir made the evening memorable with his service. The villa was special with everything you needed for a romantic stay including rose pedals leading to the spacious bed. A definite must for a return and only positive things to say on recommending the spa because I know that anyone that comes here will experience the same as We did. I'll save my money and come back.

Room Tip: Get a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Luis D,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful winery resort for celebrating your anniversary. We are so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful experience during your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations from your wonderful dinner at the Vineyard Rose Restaurant, wine tasting in our Tasting Room and enjoying vine-based spa treatments at the GrapeSeed Spa. We pride ourselves on delivering the best customer service to our guests and we appreciate you for recognizing our great staff member Greg and Noir! We hope to welcome you back to our winery resort soon!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here for the first couple of nights of our honeymoon and had a really nice stay. We decided to stay in the hotel itself rather than the villas as we had checked reviews on Tripadvisor before going. We were really happy we did as the room had recently been decorated and was really spacious, clean and tidy. The bathroom was huge and very nicely done. There was also a nice bottle of wine to welcome us. It felt very luxurious.
The gym, pool and hot tub were a nice bonus and were all really quiet when we visited.
We also took advantage of the hot air ballon ride from the hotel, which was amazing. Very expensive but worth it as a one off treat.
The only thing I found was the adjoining restaurant was very expensive. The food was lovely but main courses averaged $30 and wine was pretty expensive too. I found it a bit restrictive as the hotel is a bit of a drive to anywhere else to eat so you are a bit stuck with these prices.
The hotel would be better if it had a few other bars and restaurants close by, but this is fine for a couple of nights. I wouldn't want to stay here much longer though as there is not much to do.
Also, for the price, breakfast should really be included. But this seems to be a common theme in the more expensive hotels in California.

Room Tip: Stay in the new rooms in the hotel itself rather than the villas, they are cheaper and much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Bethan81,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We would like to thank you for choosing our beautiful winery resort for celebrating your honeymoon. We are so glad that you had a great experience during your stay with us and that you loved your beautiful hotel suite with balcony view of the vineyard, luxurious spa tub, complimentary bottle of South Coast wine and your hot air balloon ride overlooking Temecula Valley Wine Country. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for a Behind the Scenes wine tour or wine tasting in our Tasting Room.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckeye, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised with upbeat staff and rooms. Stayed in the villas and loved the layout. Located in the heart of Temecula's wine country. Wine tasting staff was excellent. Getting noticed at the restaurant was spotty, but once seated service was good. Breakfast was good with ample servings. I had the steak and eggs. Sliders were tasty but tiny. I will definitely stay here again. Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Robert D,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are so glad to hear that visiting our winery resort was such a pleasant surprise and that you had such a wonderful experience! We appreciate you recognizing our hard working staff and we always strive to provide our guests with the best customer service. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I have not stayed at one of the nice Napa Valley or Sonoma County resorts, but I imagine the in-room experience would be similar to what you can find at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. The rooms are nice and have great decoration to make you feel at home. Bathrooms are also very nice and the outside living area is comfortable.

Pros: Villa-setup provides a great stay experience (spacious rooms with private outdoor areas and the ability to park your car next to your room), nice bathrooms, upscale touches throughout the area, nice area around the villas, reasonable room rates are possible at this resort if you look online for deals.

Cons: The room service food is very overpriced and not that good, there is not much close to this resort so getting food outside of the resort can be inconvenient (food is just not nearly as good as what you will find in other wine regions).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Anthony N,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are glad that you had a great experience during your stay with us and that you loved your beautiful villa with private patio set amongst the vineyard, upscale finishes throughout and luxurious and spacious bathroom. We strive to provide our guests with excellent room service at reasonable prices. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the price and quality of our food. You can be assured that we are always looking for new and fresh ingredients as well as new and excited food offerings to add to our already extensive dining and room service menus. We would like to extend an invitation to you to come back again soon for a meal at the Vineyard Rose Restaurant and try some of our breakfast, lunch or dinner selections featured on our new seasonal menu launched on July 18.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

While it was nice to have a private space with no other rooms connected, I felt like I had rented a weekend studio in someone's backyard. The carpets were dirty, the fireplace timer did not work properly, sofa and other furniture jammed in next to each other. There was an end table tight between the couch and the bed with nothing on it; wasn't sure of its purpose. There was one bedroom lamp in the 600 square foot room and esthetically, decor needs badly updated. The bathroom was impressive, very large and accommodating. No ice available, but could get by bellboy service or by walking a big distance. It rained and there were no accommodations of a shuttle to get you around the compound. You get in your car and drive, sort of defeats the purpose of service. Restaurant lovely and food is wonderful Wine tasting absolutely great! Staff top notch. Would not stay again for the money paid; but still give it a "very good" as grounds and vineyard setting were tops.

Room Tip: Not sure if there is an option for a better Villa. 4 Villas to a pod. But for convenience of being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVerne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi LaVerne R,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa would like to thank you for your recent visit to our winery resort and for your review. We strive to provide each guest with a wonderful experience and first-rate service during their visit. We were disappointed to hear that your experience in our villa did not meet your expectations and for that we apologize. That said, however, we value every comment received from our guests, as this provides us with direction for continued improvement. Customer feedback, such as yours, continues to play a contributing factor in the many room upgrades and resort improvements we are implementing today. We hope you'll visit us again soon to enjoy another stay in Southern California's Temecula Valley Wine Country.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Gorgeous roses & fragrant flower plantings greeted us when walking up the path to our Villa & once inside, the Villa interior was perfection! The rooms exude a quiet elegance in a sort of old world French country style with all the amenities for a comfortable stay. The Fang Shui was just about perfect. My first thought was - "Wow, I could live in this space!" There was a subdued color scheme with nice touches like the dark marble topped bar sink/cabinet in dark wood with mini bar and fridge discretely enclosed & a dining/work table with gorgeous light fixture - I met a friend here after business in San Diego & we loved the huge bathroom in marble with both a large shower with a seating bench & two shower heads (one a wand) AND a large jacuzzi tub. Very convenient for two people sharing a room. Our room had a lovely sitting area with small sofa & chairs with reading lamps facing the fireplace next to a sliding glass door looking out to our private palm shaded patio next door to the Spa & pool. (A wonderful extra warm outdoor salt water pool with hot tub area at one end. We indulged in relaxing aromatherapy massages & loved the spa services/gift shop as well). Our room had two large comfy beds done up in crisp white linens & tasteful dark wood bedside tables & dresser with large flat screen tv. Our room special included gratis bottled water & a bottle of SCW Merlot...and the Spa 'special' came with a glass of champage & truffles. The 'passport' we got upon registration included discounts on everything on site from winery & gift shop to spa so we were able to same a bit on some items from the gift shop & restaurant as well. Just a note- it looks like the building for check-in was recently completed - It's a bit hard to find and seems a bit like construction not quite finished - One lovely thing however- I arrived just before dusk - found the check-in building with vaulted, collumned entry and was delighted by the swooping, darting swallows who seem to have decided the high arches would make a perfect home. Roses, swallows, luxurious comfort - just the antidote for today's stress filled life!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladida12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Ladida12,

Thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We are glad that you had a such great experience during your stay with us and that you loved your beautiful villa with private patio set amongst the vineyard, upscale finishes throughout, luxurious and spacious bathroom, gorgeous landscaping, complimentary bottle of South Coast wine, comfy beds and of course our fabulous Passport to Excellence full of great offers to use throughout the resort. We are happy to hear that you treated yourself to a spa treatment at our very own GrapeSeed Spa complete with a glass of champagne and truffles! We like to think that we are a one-of-a-kind winery resort and we love to know that we are the antidote for today's stress filled life! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,402 reviews
6.4 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Property: South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing