We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great (for the third) time!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Arrived last Monday, February 18th, and stayed through Thursday morning. We had 2 different villas, as we booked rather late so we had to move rooms. No big deal--we had the King Villa on nights one and two, and were a little worried about 'downgrading,' but were not only surprised at how smooth the transition was (they had our room ready at 10am), but surprised at how nice the second room was! The view was not nearly as nice, but the room was--in the winter, it didn't seem to matter.

Ate at the Vineyard Rose for both lunches (excellent), and ordered room service for dinners. Very good as well, although we just ordered simple stuff. The wine tastings were great (Jennifer rules). I am a member, so it was easy to just print our tasting tickets and start the day. Had a good time at the other wineries, but this is my favorite. Great wines, good staff, great food, and great rooms. I will be coming back for a fourth time, hopefully soon.

Cheers from Minnesota!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hotdogwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,925 - 1,931 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

The wife and I enjoyed a 2 night getaway at the South Coast Winery on a Travelzoo deal. When we arrived on Sunday it was more crowded than I've ever seen it there, the wine business in Temecula is doing well. Our room was ready at 4pm and we got to the pool before we would loose sun, but a group of women all went in mass into the jaquzi so we just went back into our room to use our own jaquzi tub. The villas are very nice, though looking a bit worn now. We ate in the Vintage Rose restaurant on property that night, the food and service were excellent. Overall we enjoyed our time here very much....would recommend coming here. The "behind the scenes" wine tour was fantastic.....do that as well.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The villa room we stayed in was beautiful, the service great (rose petals scattered before we arrived), and the bathroom jacuzzi was excellent (large, good jets, no shortage of hot water).

We also ate at the restaurant for breakfast and it was gourmet, but with a large portion. We were very satisfied.

Room Tip: Go in the summer so the vines are blooming. February it is barren.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We enjoy eating here, the food is good and prices surprisingly reasonable. We have spent a night in their villas and they are very cozy and comfortable.
If only the owner would do something about the terrible smell as you walk in and out of the wine tasting area. Whenever we take friends it is awful.
They have been told about the problem but??????!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VTOOLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel and services very good. However, they did not mention that major construction was going on either at time of reservation or at check-in. Due to the construction noise,I asked for another room.They tried to up-sell to a more expensive room or move to an inferior room. At the suggestion of the check out clerk, I wrote to management and did not receive an acknowledgement.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAD624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team Member at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Hi JAD624,

Thank you for taking the time to review South Coast Winery Resort & Spa after your recent visit. We are so glad you enjoyed your Villa suite and experienced great service during your stay. Please know we appreciate your feedback and value each and every comment received from our guests, as this provides us with direction for continued improvement. While our team of dedicated professionals makes every effort to alleviate the inconvenience associated with construction to ensure each guests’ stay is pleasurable and uninterrupted, we sometimes miss the mark and apologize. The good news is our new hotel is slated to be opened by March 1, 2013! Please send us your email address to allow resort management to personally send you a special invitation to enjoy our new all suite addition. We would love the opportunity to demonstrate to you our famous South Coast hospitality the next time you are in Temecula.

Cheers,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed for two nights on a TravelZoo deal. Nice, spacious room, but a few problems with the room--the first problem required a room change, the second by a visit from maintenance. One or both could/should have been dealt with before our arrival.

Further, someone had left a coffee pot, etc., from room service outside of their room, and it stayed there for 24 hours, even after maid service had cleaned our room.

In spite of the problems, we enjoyed our stay. It just could have been better...

Room Tip: Mountain-view rooms are at the perimeter and offer more privacy along with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fred E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My Husband and I stayed here the other day. Wow!!! Beautiful!!! We loved our Villa by the pool. It was very large, and so romantic with the fireplace and jacuzzi tub and a wonderful bottle of wine. They thought of everything from coffee in the room to q-tips and bath salts. The bed was also very comforable. The grounds are very nice too.
We did go to the wine tasting room and yes it was crowded but that is to be expected this time of year. The woman who helped us was great!
We had a wonderful time and will be back!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.6 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.2 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,537 reviews
6.4 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#6 of 19 in Temecula
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
6.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
Price Range: $240 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing