We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Mount Dora, fla.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Ehis is a unique resort and the facilities are amazing, The villas are spacious and well appointed. The wine tasting included som eexcellent wines, especially since this resort is in southern California.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimMountDora_fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    799
    289
    97
    43
    42
See reviews for
106
802
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My family travels quite a bit in southern California with my son's baseball team. Our stay at the South Coast Winery was not what I expected. As one of the more expensive hotels in the Temecula area, the grounds were beautiful but the service lacked something to be desired. The front desk staff seemed friendly but failed on some of our requests (make or leave linens for the sofa bed). Then the housekeeping staff which wasn't that friendly seemed bothered because we ask them to take care of it after we returned for the evening. Just dissapointed with the overall service for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank travelwithteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Trip Advisor has helped me plan many vacations so I decided to finally write a review. We stayed here Mother's Day weekend 2011 and are planning another stay this July. We are wine club members and I LOVE their wines! I will acknowledge that this place is expensive. We are fortunate to be able to afford the room, dining, and spa treatments but it IS expensive. With that said, I loved my stay here. I was suprised that the room decor seemed a bit out dated but the huge jacuzzi tub and french doors with private outside sitting area made up for it. Since it was Mother's Day weekend the spa was a mad house but I was still able to book a same day massage right before closing. By that time I was the only one there and it was nice and quiet. The pool is beautiful and since it's a winery, there are mostly adults there...which was excatly what we were looking for. It was extremely relaxing. We took the winery tour which ended with a sit down wine tasting and cheese pairing. We liked that! The restuarant is very nice and provides a good opportunity to get dressed up if you want to. Everywhere seems to be so darn casual these days, but here you can put on a nice dress and not feel out of place. (And not just on Mother's Day) The Mother's Day brunch was excellent and the staff was so attentive. They just kept pouring the champagne! (I think I took a wine nap on the way home) The only thing that bugged me during my stay was room service. I took FOREVER!! I won't bother with it next time.

Room Tip: Our room was by the pool, so we had a very short walk. I recommend that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our 3-day getaway at this lovely winery. We were looking for some R and R and we found this to be just the ticket! The villas are very private and fairly spacious with several sitting areas, a comfortable bed, a large luxurious bathroom and quiet patio. The property is beautiful with an abundance of gorgeous flowers sprinkled throughout the landscaping. I loved that the pool was heated and large enough to swim laps, and filled with salt water. And it was heavenly quiet in the pool area on a warm Tuesday afternoon in May.

Initially when we arrived and entered the tasting room on Sunday evening we were concerned it was quite crowded, but everyone was very sociable and friendly - and the wine was great too!

I was surprised to see a few other reviews say the customer service at South Coast wasn't good. We were delighted by how friendly, professional and helpful every employee was that we encountered at the resort. When we checked in, two representatives gave us a warm welcome and provided suggestions on what to do in the area and which wineries they thought were best.

Dinner in the restaurant was tasty but not over the top and it was a little pricey. For lunch, I'd recommend visiting Ponte Winery just a short jaunt down the road and sitting outside in the lovely courtyard. Their food and wines were delicious and the ambiance is very charming and peaceful. I wouldn't recommend dining at Calloway Winery as both my husband and I were not pleased with our meals and the scenery on the property is underwhelming compared to South Coast or Ponte.

During our stay at South Coast, the only annoyances were trying to operate the air conditioner and the doors to the patio. Other than those minor inconveniences, our 3 days there were wonderfully relaxing and we're looking forward to going back to this gem in Temecula next year.

Room Tip: Ask if one of the villas with a view is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene-SanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Best place in a days drive to get lost. You truly will feel like you have left Southern California and have landed in Tuscany. The Spa and warm saltwater pool are unmatched, the wines very good and the Casita Rooms devine. This is the perfect romantic place for a honeymoon or just to get away.

Helpful?
2 Thank TheCaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spototis
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We started out with a great day with a bottle of wine on our patio facing the vinyard. The room looks a little dated but it was sufficient. Beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were huge. The only thing that didn't make this a great time was my bathing suit went missing! Alerted the front desk at checkout (it happened the night before we left) and filled out a form. No word about the suit being found or anything from management!!! No excuse whatsoever! Temecula is a wonderful place to visit winery's but this place I won't be back to stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spototis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We spent 1 night for our anniversary. It is a beautiful setting. Dinner is overpriced for what you get, but lunch and breakfasts were great. My number one complaint was the mattress. There was a huge dip on one side of the king bed. I wondered how housekeeping didn't notice it...Lots to do in the area or you can do nothing and still enjoy the winery and the peaceful setting. Gorgeous flowers everywhere you walk.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captaingr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#2 of 19 in Temecula
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
6.3 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
4.0 of 5 stars 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
6.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Property: South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing