We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved our stay here!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The pool is prestine, the property is well kept and the overall value is awesome. Clean rooms, beautiful scenery overlooking the vineyards, this property is a gem. Plus, you get a complementary bottle of wine in the room.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suryonhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,259
    414
    173
    64
    58
See reviews for
239
1,225
38
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Wonderful individual villas that provide lovely views of the vineyards. Very comfortable. Woke up one morning to eight hot air balloons gliding above the villas. Great service and food at the restaurants. Nice wines. And very convenient location if you are visiting several vineyards.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLipstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Absolutely loved this place. Saw some bad reviews and was worried but the rooms were great, right in the vineyard, and spacious. Sure they had an old TV in the room (who watched TV) but everything else was dynamic. The bathrooms were huge with Jacuzzi tub (wife loved it) and huge shower (I loved it). Great big pool area, so kids will love it. Wine was good at the SCW but the best was the dinner. I was apprehensive when I saw the limited menu and the price. Then I ordered lobster ravioli and it was the best I have ever had that far from the ocean. Their breakfast needs a little help but maybe that was a hangover from a fabulous dinner. Wine tasting places all around you, including theirs, and you are out in the country. Great sunset walk through the grape vines made it a memorable birthday for me.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plnrboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I've never felt so relaxed! If your idea of a vacation is running around sight-seeing and all until your legs and feet hurt, then there are amusement parks for that. But if you're like me who just wants an escape from work-life, even for just a day, then this place is the place.

It's beautiful here at SC Winery. The rooms, which are stand-alone small houses really, are very cozy and nice, with French doors to the vineyard where one can relax and enjoy the peace. There are a few bunnies roaming around, so enjoy watching the critters, as well. And the pool and spa area? Inviting!

As for the wine-tasting experience, we had fun. The bar attendants were such nice people, very friendly. They had a good wine selection, of course; it's a winery. I like reds so I very much liked the selection they had. And when it was time to eat, a short walk from the wine-tasting side of the building to the other side, which is the bar and restaurant, we took advantage of happy hour and had some really good food. At 50% off, that was a great deal.

The staff was very accommodating as well. The complimentary bottle of wine in our room was white, but they gladly exchanged it for a red at my request. We needed a minor service done in our room, and the maintenance man was there -- pronto.

I really enjoyed our stay. A return stay is a definite.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poweredbys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2011

I felt like I was on a Tuscan vacation for the two nights we stayed. The villas are private, spacious, and luxurious. We booked the Mimosa Special and were provided with a wonderful breakfast by very pleasant staff. We enjoyed the pool area and felt pampered the whole stay. They even had a bottle of wine waiting upon our arrival. Our room was nestled in the vineyard and provided a removed from the wolrd experience. My only complaint was the wine tasting room. We were provided with two free wine flights and we did purchase some wine from the winery. The wine hostess was kind of snobby and treated us with a patronizing tone.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Living in San Diego County, Temecula is a quick getaway to another world. Our little Napa in the southland. We've been to the South Coast Winery on a number of occasions for sipping and meals, but never have we been here to stay overnight. This trip was a romance getaway for me and my wife and a chance to celebrate a friends birthday.

The resort itself is very nice and quite. The rooms are separated from the winery / tasting room / restaurant by a wide expanse of healthy vineyards.

There are 96 units arranged in pods of 4 units each. Each unit is a physically separate building which both enhances privacy and adds to the romance factor of having your own villa. The units are a decent size - roomy and romantic. eahc has a sitting table for coffee & cards, large couch and comfy chair, large fireplace, and a huge comfy bed. The bathroom is large. Everything is clean and fresh. The refrigerator is just big enough for a few snacks and plenty of water for the warm days.

The air at night was crisp and clear and i finally got to see the milky way . . . something i cant do in our little burb because of the light noise.

The sound of the hot air balloons was a nice treat early in the morning.

If you are looking for external stimulation at night, the pool, sauna, and bar are the only things around unless you get in your car and drive to town. If you are looking for seclusion and good conversation with your partner, friends, and those you bump into, this is the perfect place to be.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Abeyta_CLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I had a one night stay here, as a gift from a friend. We had a lovely stay. The villa was beautiful, and the bed was really comfortable. It felt very private and was ideal for a romantic getaway. The spa bath in the villa was great, and the products in the bathroom were really nice and helped with the luxurious feel. The resort was very peaceful and well thought out.

We began our stay with a wine tasting. It was really busy in the wine tasting room when we arrived (about 5pm) but we were told that it tends to be very busy here between 5pm and 6pm because all the other wine tasting rooms in the area close at 5pm so everyone heads here as the last stop on their winery crawl! It consequently had more the atmosphere of a bar, and was a bit loud with people who were really there to get drunk rather than actually learn anything about the wines... but it didn't matter, we still enjoyed it, and the wine.

Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant was good, and the waiters were really attentive and conscientious.

We had a couples massage in the spa, which was great. The spa is beautiful, with excellent facilities and attention to detail. The staff and therapists were really attentive and made us feel very special. Sadly we didn't have time to enjoy the spa all day, but we had a most relaxing morning and felt thoroughly pampered!

The fitness room was great - we used it out of hours (before breakfast), and were really pleased that there was a fully mirrored yoga room we could use (where we practised our Karate). We definitely felt we needed to work off some of the food and wine from the previous night!

I'd definitely recommend this resort for a romantic getaway or pampering trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmonyjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Temecula hotels
0.4 mi away
Carter Estate Winery and Resort
0.3 mi away
Ponte Vineyard Inn
Ponte Vineyard Inn
#1 of 19 in Temecula
1,424 reviews
6.4 mi away
Temecula Creek Inn
Temecula Creek Inn
#5 of 19 in Temecula
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Temecula
5.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Temecula Valley Wine Country
6.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Temecula Valley Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Coast Winery Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Coast Winery Resort & Spa

Property: South Coast Winery Resort & Spa
Address: 34843 Rancho California Road, Temecula, CA 92591-4006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Temecula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Temecula
#2 Green Hotel in Temecula
#3 Business Hotel in Temecula
#3 Family Hotel in Temecula
#3 Luxury Hotel in Temecula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Coast Winery Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Coast Winery is not only known as the best winery in the State of California, it’s also known as Southern California Wine Country’s finest resort, offering up casual elegance in a natural setting accented by estate vineyards. Private, rustic villas and the stately all-suite hotel tower provide ultimate luxury and comfort for overnight stays, complete with fireplaces and oversized marble and granite baths, each with deep soaking tub for two. Exceptional wines, extensive spa, behind-the-scenes wine tours, plus fine dining at the award winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant complement your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your South Coast Winery Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Coast Winery Hotel Temecula
South Coast Winery Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing