We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return to the glory days!”

The Gambling Cowboy
Reserve with OpenTable
The Gambling Cowboy is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 418 Restaurants in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Front Street
Villa Park, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A return to the glory days!”
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We remember this 3rd floor restaurant when it was Penfolds, both the good & the bad. Over the years this establishment had been Oldtown's best stop for a good steak in a fun atmosphere. When the value disappeared so did the restaurant. But now, reopened as the Gambling Cowboy the goodness is back. We split a delicious Porterhouse that was seasoned and cooked to perfection. The bar staff offered a friendly welcome, good service & a decent drink, all at a resonable price. Parking can be a little challenging and the elevator entrance can be a bit intimidating, but the effort is once again well worth it.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank burgskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    97
    17
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, Ca.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“If you're looking for a great steak, this is it.”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I’ve eaten here a few times and have never had anything but a great dining experience. Their steaks are top quality, and every other dish that I’ve eaten there has been excellent. My wife and I have two restaurants that we go to for high end celebrations… Duane’s at the Mission Inn in Riverside and The Gambling Cowboy in Temecula (for Steak). I do have to agree with the one post that said the live music was too loud on Saturday nights, but I seldom go to restaurants on a Saturday night. It does get busy, so I recommend reservations.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rso1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Music Too Loud For Dining”
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We, 5 adults visited for the first time on Friday, June 10th. Our reservations were at 7:00PM. We were seated right away and our server was attentative and did a great job. We ordered Prime Rib, Rib Eye and Porterhouse Steaks. All of us enjoyed our food and would recommend the food. What we all complained about was the music. On Friday and Saturday evenings they offer loud music. The music was so loud that you had to YELL across the table to hear each other talk. We asked several times to have the music turned down some, but apparently the musician couldn't hear the request to turn down the volume as we watched our server ask him several times. We were there for dining. Music is to be background, ambiance. Not so overpowering that you don't enjoy your experience at a new restaurant. Would I go again? Only if I could be seated on the patio, so that I could actually talk with the friends I came with.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Primary flavors”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

I'm not sure why the Gambling Cowboy was full with a waiting list of one and half hours 3/5. The food was okay. I would place the taste level at an experienced home cook level as the food was devoid of subtlety.

Other than not knowing where to go there is no reason to wait for a table. We waited or more accurately, walked to other restaurants to see if we could be seated earlier.

Service was earnest not distinguished. We were happy with the time it took to get the food to us as every chair and table was full when we were seated.

Ended up drinking our wait at a saloon around the corner and can't comment on GC's bar or wine selection.

If you're after steaks or prime rib it is serviceable joint and won't disappoint and certainly not wow you. Think of it as a high end Sizzlin Sirloin, a place to go if you're with, or are, a picky eater. Not a place to seek out for a dining experience.

Mike

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food - rude management”
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We arrived 5 to 10 minutes late for a 6PM reservation due to having to park 3 blocks away (ie - no dedicated parking lot). We waited for 10 to 15 minutes for our table and were seated about 6:25. The girl seating us told us that the management had instructed her to tell us that since we were a half hour late for our reservation - the we were required to finish our dinner and leave the table within one hour. We were amazed at the rudeness and protested that we were only 5 to 10 minutes late for the reservation. Our server however was pleasant and took our drink, salad and meal order. Our main course arrived at 7:20 - 10 minutes before we were scheduled to vacate our table. We finished dinner, ordered dessert and coffee and left the table at 8:45 making sure we stayed well past our allotted hour.

The food was great and the waitress efficient and pleasant. The service was a bit slow but not unbearable. It is a shame that the atmosphere for the evening was tarnished by the initial rudeness and that we cut out tip in half to 10%.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KenH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gambling Cowboy also viewed

 

Been to The Gambling Cowboy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing