We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AFTERNOON DELIGHT”

Monte De Oro Winery
Ranked #21 of 93 things to do in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monte De Oro Winery is one of Temecula Valley’s newest premier wineries with a passion for growing quality grapes, handcrafting premium wines and providing “the ultimate” wine experience for its guests. Featuring 100% estate wines, Monte De Oro has 4 vineyards with over 70 acres producing twelve red grape and five white grape varietals. Monte De Oro barrel-ages its red wines in 100% French Oak (85% American Oak for our Zinfandel) for up to 28 months to produce beautifully balanced wines accentuating the terroir and grape characteristics of our four vineyards. Our wines then bottle age for an additional 6 months before being released to the public.Monte De Oro Winery planted it first grapes in 2002 and opened its winery in 2010. Since 2010, Monte Do Oro has won over 60 awards, including 19 Chairman Trophy, Platinum, Double Gold or Gold Medals. We offer 13 red wines, 2 reserve wines and 5 white wines.
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
1,136 reviews
331 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
“AFTERNOON DELIGHT”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We recently spent part of an afternoon with friends at the Monte de Oro Winery in Temecula. They have a beautiful building surrounded by patios, both open and covered. They offer live entertainment, which was not too loud.

Their wines are very good and a sampling allows you to pick the wines you might wish to purchase. There is no pressure to buy and their staff are very knowledgeable and helpful.

They also offer food like sandwiches and a meat and cheese tray to go with the wine.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    16
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“An Excellent Winery”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I had a few days to visit wineries in Temecula. This was our first winery to visit. The tasting room was elegant with a large crowd having a great time. The wines were very good. The outdoor patio provided a beautiful panoramic view of the Temecula area. They had live music on the patio from 2 pm - 5 pm which was a nice touch. The musicians provided a broad array of songs - country, classic rock, mellow rock, oldies etc. We had a great time at the winery, bought some good wines and enjoyed visiting the fun crowd there. We will definitely come back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Had a wonderful time at the Monte De Oro vineyard and tasting room. Our wine expert, Penny, was most helpful througout the tasting....she was involved and provided a winning commentary on the wines. Purchased a nice bottle of Merlot to finish off the afternoon...the views are wonderful and nothing nicer then a lazy afternoon among the vines. Thanks Penny!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Get a Glass (or Bottle) and Relax on the Patio... Take a Moment and Enjoy Life”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

So... this isn't a quaint or small tasting room.

It's big, spacious, open, lots of space to move around in the tasting room and on the patio.

I can see how the tasting room could get quite loud with its high ceilings and tile floors.
But we lucked out and it was not crowded or noisy.

Had a lovely experience here!
The service was friendly and not pushy, and they were able to attend to the several small groups of folks tasting all at the same time.

We tasted a number of whites and reds…. Everything we tried was wonderful. Our favorites were their Viognier and Nostimo (which is a blend of 4 varietals – Viognier, Pinot Gris, Sauv Blanc and Muscat Canelli). {Note… I was on a mission to find some white and lighter drinking wines for the summer… so we focused on tasting and buying those on this trip.}

We actually purchased a bottle of the Viognier and sat out on their patio for a bit while we enjoyed our lunch and their live music. It was relaxing and such a nice day to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful scenery and weather while listening to a nice musician.

Their food is quite tasty here too.
So, if you’re looking for someplace to eat lunch… I’d recommend MDO Bistro.
They have a short menu … and you order at the cash register near the door (where you also pay for your wine tasting) and then they give you a number so the food runners can find you in the tasting room or out on the patio.

I had the portabello Panini and it was fantastic…. I was hungry so it might have tasted better than it really was… but it really was fantastic. The portabellos were thick and juicy… the bread was not overpowering… and it was served with a small side of mixed greens. The husband ordered the tri tip sandwich and it was pretty fantastic too. His came with sweet potato fries that actually tasted like sweet potatoes… crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside. We also ordered a side of cilantro jalapeno hummus…. Super creamy with a nice hit of heat and an earthy finish.

Net, Net…. Definitely will go back to MDO for more wine tasting and good eats.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Alia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, Ca
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great vineyard views”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Monte de Oro is situated among the popular Temecula Valley wineries. The area is maturing & this winery is a great addition, and their reds are fantastic.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BVI_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monte De Oro Winery also viewed

 

Been to Monte De Oro Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing