We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"*****5 Star Stellar Service*****"”

Chapin Family Vineyards
Ranked #33 of 91 things to do in Temecula
Attraction details
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
420 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“"*****5 Star Stellar Service*****"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

TRAVEL BACK (to the road less traveled) STOP BY, YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!

We accidentally stumbled onto Chapin as we were heading to Doffo, we were glad we did, it was a GREAT experience!

We have been visiting Temecula wineries before S.Coast was S. Coast...we have experienced every level of customer service one can imagine. From what we thought was the best to the lowest of the low, we NOW know that for Stellar service one needs to go to Chapin.

Jana was outstanding! She was very accommodating as she carried our wines, cheese, crackers & salami to the outdoor patio. She knew we much rather sit outdoors staring at their beautiful vineyard, they have a GREAT VIEW from the patio.
It was truly refreshing to finally find a server that went beyond the typical "this wine contains some much percentage of this & that" that is the extent of a lot of the wine servers knowledge of their wineries. I find it sad. Not at Chapin, these ladies really have a grasp on what pairs well & what methods they follow. Our party really enjoyed all the information. It was fun!

Pro's-
The stand out's: The Syrah & the Cab. They have a great port as well.
Phenomenal customer service/no other winery can compare.
Love their outdoor patio, you can feel free to ask for your wine tastings to take place in the patio. Great views.
They sell all kinds of crackers, cheese, cold cuts ect.
Their wine servers really KNOW about their wines, they don't pretend & wing it (like many) they are fully informed. That in itself is a BONUS! We enjoyed it!

Verdict:
Thus far the BEST service in ALL of Temecula!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    11
    2
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great way to start our touring day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We drove to the end of Rancho California Road - not sure what we would find. We found Chapin Family and it was a great way to start our day of wine touring. The gentleman in the tasting room was very knowledgable and gave us tons of information about the valley, the wines, the growing region and Chapin Family Vineyard. We did the full tasting and brought home a bottle of the 2009 Cabernet Sauvignon.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank epd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon
Level Contributor
264 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A real jewel of a winery in Temecula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

This lovely winery and tasting room is situated on a small hilltop with an indoor tasting room and scenic patio overlooking vineyards. Very, very nice. A good variety of wines, the new Syrah being an absolute favorite BY FAR..."Jana" the wine server was stellar in service and information and congeniality - one superb gal! I ALSO enjoyed the fact they had cheese and crackers and salami for sale to go with the wine tasting...REALLY MATTERED. I have no doubt? This is one of the top 3 wineries in Temecula, "hands down" as they say. Understandably so.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsBunny2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
729 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Really have taken several steps back since the last visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I had quite a disappointing 2nd trip to Chapin. On the positive side, the new tasting room is quite nice. Several things were not so positive, though.

1) The older gentleman pouring the wine was so overly pre-occupied that it disrupted our experience. He kept answering phone calls, walking away (at one point he said he needed to do some paperwork). It was very awkward. Two other people filled in and gave excuses (in a friendly manner) for why the other guy kept leaving.

2) The quality of the wine is just not that high. Out of 6 tastes, the group overwhelmingly seemed to only like one or 2 consensually. Even worse, the prices are super high. It just didn't seem to dovetail with the quality of the wine.

I'd put Chapin on the backburner as a place to visit while in Temecula. There are several places that are better and will seem to appreciate your business.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlendaleCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good reds at Chapin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

Chapin Family Vineyards is relatively new in Temecula. The tasting room is gorgeous! Personable Leroy was an excellent host as he guided us through our tasting with great information about the winery, wines, and life! They produce mainly reds with good structure. They are growing more Italian varietals than I've seen in the valley. Definitely worth a stop!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank af3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapin Family Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Chapin Family Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing