We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the tapas and the view!”

Meritage at Callaway
Ranked #35 of 418 Restaurants in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Sitting high atop Temecula's breathtaking wine country, Meritage at Callaway offers guests incredible panoramic views of the rolling hills and vineyards. At one of the most relaxing, tranquil and truly unique Temecula winery restaurants guests can enjoy a delightful array of fresh, farm-to-table, made from scratch meals. The menu, which is paired with Callaway's award-winning wines, changes seasonally. Executive Chef, Josh Diamond believes in serving his guests only the freshest, most delectable meals. Chef's cooking philosophy stems from his passion for quality food, creating in the kitchen and farming. This is apparent not only in his dishes but also in the fact that he maintains an onsite greenhouse and garden for Meritage. Many of the ingredients used by the restaurant come from the greenhouse and garden when available, otherwise Chef sources and supports seasonal, sustainable food from local farmers. Come in and taste the difference!
Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love the tapas and the view!”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Referred here by Chef Dean at the INN at Europa. We had a table for two hours and enjoyed a slow dinner with tapas and wine.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    20
    11
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were in Temecula for the week and I was looking forward to dining at the Meritage for lunch the day we visited Callaway Winery. I ordered a burger plate without the bread. The bacon cheeseburger was dry and sub-ordinary and the bacon that was left out. The others at my table were also unimpressed with their orders. We waited longer than usual for our order. I thought the meal was overpriced and under impressive, certainly not a place I would recommend or return to again. On the plus side - we did enjoy the wine tasting at their winery.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NichaPhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wines must be good”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

They are pricey, but we didn't try them today. This was the least impressive of all the wineries we toured today.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mzglorybeCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome lunch”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We enjoyed the view, Sauv Blanc and Tapas: Ceviche, Chorizo Croquettes, and Steak Fries (huge order). Great atmosphere.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank storsav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not a bad place but expected better”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This is a nice enough place for enjoying a glass of wine and a casual meal but we found the menu to limited to chef "creations" and somewhat over priced. It would have been nice to have a few "traditional" style lunch offerings. The setting is and partially enclosed patio overlooking part of the vineyard and a barren valley. Because this is a warm area it can be to the uncomfortable side on warm days. Our visit was one of those days and they had all of the fans ( and there are quite a few ) running at full speed which added to the noise level. We had the olive plate which was excellent and split the ham and brie sandwich which was also excellent. The "green" ice tea ( the only ice tea option ) was awful but to be fair I am not a big fan of green tea. The service was ok, not bad but not excellent.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Meritage at Callaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing