We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Vail Ranch Steakhouse - CLOSED

Vail Ranch Steakhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Overland Drive
Description: Here, we're in the business of Steak. Real Steak. Not the cookie cutter, run of the mill stuff. Our steak is our passion, and the only reason we're here is to show you what you've been missing out on. We've built our own dry-aging facility to completely control the outcome of our steaks. Everything here has been meticulously tweaked and tinkered to bring out the best in the meat. Only when it's reached it's peak flavor potential do we prep our cuts for cooking. Our expert chefs work the fire and the forks to ensure that perfect cook. Then it gets to your table. When that fork first pierces the meat, and that knife slices through in that first cut, your eyes get to feast first at that juicy pink center. Then, it's just bite after bite, letting that perfect cook release the flavor of perhaps the best steak you've ever had. At least, we'd like to think so. We're just a call or a drive away.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyable food and great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Everyone, from hostess to our waiter, was extremely courteous and polite. Food was very good. Wonderfully cooked lobster tails & we ordered our steaks medium & they were cooked just right, extremely tender meat that melted in the mouth. Will not hesitate to eat there again when we visit Temecula.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel334455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    35
    19
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Good Steaks but Bring A Thick Wallet!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Took the bride out for a celebratory dinner last night and decided to try Vail Ranch Steakhouse in town. The restaurant has been here for 3 years. Here's the 4-1-1. Very nice interior with a mountain and wine country feel which suits Temecula well. The place used to be a Hungry Hunter Restaurant. Nice live piano music and we were greeted appropriately by the hostess and seated promptly to a nice table in the rear. Place was moderately populated with diners.

Vail Ranch prides itself on its dry aged steaks. When you walk through the front doors you can see a windowed steak locker with racks of steaks aging. The menu is varied but meat is definitely featured here. Steaks, prime rib abound. You can order all cuts of meat and can select regular, dry rubbed or aged. I selected a 16 oz regular ribeye $34 - the same steak aged goes for a whopping $42. My wife chose the 8 oz felete mignon $34. I ordered the lobster bisque soup $9 and she chose the french onion soup $8. We paired our dinner with a bottle of merlot $32.

Our meals were delivered in a timely fashion by our server and had simple but nice presentations. The lobster bisque soup was bland and lacked the true flavor of lobster. The french onion soup was more croutons than soup, although the soup we did taste was flavorful. Both steaks were cooked properly and were flavorful and both were nice cuts of meat. For some unknown reason, Vail Ranch charges an extra $3 for any sauce applied to a steak. What?! Actually, if a steak is cooked nicely it doesn't require any sauce, but that;s your choice. Both steaks came with one side and we chose a baked potato which were nicely cooked. The chef had placed a concoction of cooked tomato filled with some unknown filler topped with cheese which was horrible. Note to chef: dump that one!

Summary: Dinner for two with wine and a tip cost $161. The steaks were nicely cooked, flavorful and were fine cuts of meat, but that's it. The atmosphere and music were also nice. However, with people paying $5/gal for gas these days Vail Ranch is definitely way up there in price for what you ultimately get. Everything on the menu is ale cart where you are charged separate for each item. Really? Yes, you can get a good steak and nice atmosphere here but you can get every bit as good of a steak or better accompanied with nice music and atmosphere at Crivellos in Murrietta for half the price.

Vail Ranch is definitely a place to go for those can afford to pay top dollar for a steak dinner. However, my guess is that's pretty much what their demographic will continue to be. The manager says they are doing great and I congratulate him on this accomplishment. As for us (and we are both business owners who can afford eating here) we will dine elsewhere where we can have every bit as nice a dinner for half the price. BTW, Vail Ranch will be increasing their prices very soon. So if you have a fat wallet and want to splurge try them out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrRon1854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beef on a plate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

The server was most informative about the menu items and advising on best options for cooking. The dry aged steaks were delicious and the portions hearty. It was a bit on the expensive side but the food was of such quality it would be churlish to complain. The prawn on cane sugar skewers were an excellent appetizer. The broccoli side in hollandaise sauce was literally a hole head of broccoli and easily enough for two, it was beautifully cooked with just enough crunch.
The background music was provided by a live piano player who was entertaining without becoming overwhelming and his choice of music avoided the normal plinkity plonk junk favoured in many establishments.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cozy & Quality Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Great service, fun, comfortable environment. Excellent meat and great value for high quality and tasty food. Great live music in the evening.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KaFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CALIFORNIA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better choices in the area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2012

Not up to par for the money they ask for a portion! There are many more restaurants in the area that are a better choice lie J Carter's on Murrieta Hot Springs Rd.

Helpful?
Thank AUSSIEGIRL92563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vail Ranch Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing