We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for the Sparkling, skip the rest.”
Review of Thornton Winery

Thornton Winery
Ranked #25 of 93 things to do in Temecula
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offering tours, tastings and national jazz acts during summer and fall.
Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 553 helpful votes
“Go for the Sparkling, skip the rest.”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

They are known for Sparkling wine, and they should stick to that. They have really good sparkling wines, but their still wines have something to be desired.
Go for the Sparkling wines.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank CentralCoastWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    56
    22
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overpriced Cafe and terrible whites”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

We ate lunch at Cafe Champagne and ordered a red and white flight. My daughter ordered the tapas plate. It was priced higher than the lunch items. There was nothing on it and disappointing white bean "salad". The rest of the food was good,not great, like NY deli, but priced too high. The wine, well, the white was not drinkable. Two glasses of white and both worse than anything i've tasted. Obviously bad. The red was drinkable, but nothing special. I cannot comment on the tasting room experience. I am not the type to complain about pricing but will mention it if value is poor.

Helpful?
Thank dgc19522001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice Wine tasting Experience”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Had a great wine tasting experience . Waitress and staff were friendly and informative. We sat inside since it was a hot hot day but on a cooler day it looked like a great place to be tasting .. They did not "rush" us out and the Flights were all great, we had lunch prior to getting there but the small appetizers they offered looked great and were reasonably priced.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravlnDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tried dinner”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stopped by because I thought they were open for happy hour. Nothing going on, so we bought a $17 hamburger. They called it Kobe beef, and it may have been for all I know. Also got one, yes 1, glass of champagne, for an additional $16. Probably the biggest waste of $40 in history. For you math majors, I tip well, until I know the service and or food sucks. The burger was very good, $17 good I doubt, but good. As for the service, well below par for this area

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dwstanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
156 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Puts You in the Mood for Wine Tasting”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Thornton is very close to the beginning of the Temecula wine tasting trail. They conduct their tastings in flights while you are seated, which is a different format than most. A very pleasant setting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jollymon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornton Winery also viewed

 

Been to Thornton Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing