We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A more formal setting”

The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery
Reserve with OpenTable
The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 441 Restaurants in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Anza
Description: Housed in an elegant, Tuscan-inspired dining room with a relaxing wine bar and terrace, The Vineyard Rose Restaurant at South Coast Winery Resort & Spa serves contemporary California cuisine sourced from the season's freshest, locally-grown ingredients. Sheltered by open beams in the dining room or surrounded by vineyard views from the terrace, your table will be set with the finest flavors. each of our meals perfectly complement the award winning wines produced by Master Winemaker Jon McPherson.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Have been here twice, both times were very good. Seemed more formal, but I was ok wearing shorts. Wide menu selection for both food and wine. Great place for a romantic dinner (or lunch!)

Thank Cuub55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi Cuub55,

Thank you for your 5 star review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We would like to extend our gratitude to you for being a repeat visitor to our award winning restaurant. Our talented team of chefs has worked carefully to ensure guests are provided with delicious menu options all made from the freshest locally-grown ingredients, and each paired with our award-winning wines. The resort casual ambience of our Tuscan inspired dining room and veranda overlooking the vineyards makes us perfect stop for a romantic lunch or dinner, no matter what your attire! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

567 - 571 of 733 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Yesterday (Monday) we visited the restaurant at the South Coast Winery. We had an unexpected weekday off, so we decided to take advantage and have a late lunch during the non-rush hours.

What a mistake.

We knew that the atmosphere was lovely -- lots of blooming plants, sunshine, and a light breeze. Surprisingly, there was a lunch menu with entrees at $9.95. Sounds good, right?

We both ordered a glass of wine with our meals. The wine arrived AFTER our meals arrived. I had to continually ask for my water glass to be filled. I had the beef dip sandwich. The au jus was in a ramkin container; it was so small that it was extremely difficult to dip the sandwich into it. After I finally caught a server's attention, he brought more au jus in a soup bowl.

We saw our waiter Travis several times off in the distance; he was usually checking his watch. To get our check, we finally got up and started towards the register.

How unfortunate. We are wine club members, and enjoy the property, but after this experience, we will likely not renew our membership.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Lepha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi Lepha,

Thank you for your review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We would like to extend our gratitude to you for choosing to come visit us on your unexpected midday off and for being a valued member of our Wine Club. Your comments regarding the service you experienced during your lunch is very important to us. We are disappointed to learn that we did not meet your expectations and for that we apologize.

We strive to provide each guest with the utmost level of care and work diligently to rectify any issues that are brought to our attention by our valued guests. Thus, your feedback is highly valued and appreciated. We truly couldn't be better without you.

I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Vineyard Rose Restaurant again so that you can experience the level of customer service excellence you have come to love and expect as a frequent guest to our winery resort and Wine Club member.

Sincerely,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa / Vineyard Rose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Ate lunch at the restaurant after our Behind the scenes winery tour. Good grill cheese and soup for vegetarians. Nice portion to share if you're having a snack. Price is average.

Thank happyme899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi happyme899,

Thank you for your review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We are proud of our delicious menu options all made from the freshest locally grown ingredients each paired with our award-winning wines. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Artisan Grilled Cheese sandwich with Roasted Tomato Soup for a relaxing lunch after your Behind the Scenes wine tour. We hope you enjoyed your dining experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to our restaurant soon.

Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This restaurant is huge! You walk in and it feels like you're going to an all-you-can-eat buffet in Vegas. Atmosphere could use some work.

I ordered scallops with risotto, hubby ordered filet. My risotto was not prepared right, and it was crunchy and runny at the same time. Scallops were pretty and fairly yummy. Filet was fine.

We went here to celebrate our anniversary, since we were staying at the South Coast. It is fine food, but considering there wasn't really ambiance and the costs were over $30/plate, I wouldn't return. It was fine, just not anything special.

Thank AmyMCLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi AmyMCLA,

Thank you for your review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. Hearing that you elected to celebrate your anniversary at our winery resort is a complement to all of us, and we truly appreciate that you took the time to provide us with your comments. While it’s true, the Vineyard Rose’s Tuscan inspired dining room and veranda overlooking the vineyards is one of the largest in the region, it is the restaurant’s warm and friendly atmosphere that makes us a number one choice for special celebrations and intimate getaways. We are disappointed to learn that you were left feeling that the food service and ambiance were less than special on your special evening. Please know we take each comment seriously as we continue to take strides in providing the utmost in quality service and ensuring every dining experience is a memorable event. Your feedback is appreciated, and we sincerely hope you give us the opportunity to earn your business in the future.

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa / Vineyard Rose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The winery is amazing... the restaurant....ugh! We waited over an hour for our meal of a pizza, omlette, sandwich, and ceviche. Unacceptable. A glass broke on my mom's lap and the bartender didn't offer to comp her drink or anything. FINALLY, after a LONG wait, I went to find the manager, who made ME wait for another 5-10 minutes. When she arrived, she told me she had to stand back because she was fighting a cold! NOT what you want to hear from someone serving or touching your food. She had no good excuse and told me that she would LOOK at our check to see what she could do. I TOLD her that she would be comping our entire meal. Period. FINALLY, when the food came, it was cold, pizza raw, and my mom, who doesn't like mushrooms, received a sandwich covered in mushrooms (after requesting no mushrooms of course). There are LOTS of restaurants in Temecula...don't waste your time or money at this place. They really don't care about their customers.... we need to send them a clear message. Don't go there! Ponte is next door and has a great restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank TravelingGal_69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Public Relations Manager at The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Hi TravelingGal_69,

Thank you for your review of the Vineyard Rose restaurant. We are sorry to read you were disappointed with your dining experience. We make every effort to ensure our guests enjoy an excellent meal, top notch service and great ambiance so we were saddened to hear that you felt the service was slow and that the food did not meet your expectations. Our chefs use only the freshest locally grown ingredients to prepare each one of our savory menu items, and our expert winemakers pair each entrée with an award-winning wine recommendation. I appears as though we missed the mark on your last visit; and we thank you for the feedback. As a proud recipient of the 2013 OpenTable.com Diners’ Choice Award, 2013 Wine Spectator Award, and voted the Best Restaurant of 2013 by Inland Empire Magazine, we invite you to give us another try the next time you are in the area visiting. Because so many of our guests leave our Vineyard Rose Restaurant with an excellent experience we hope that you will give us another try and come back again.

Sincerely,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa / Vineyard Rose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery also viewed

 

Been to The Vineyard Rose at South Coast Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing