We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh Fish”
Review of Fish House Vera Cruz - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Fish House Vera Cruz
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We dine here & the Fish house Vera Cruz in San Marcos regularly. The menu is a bit on the pricier side, but as a flight attendant- I dine @ great Fish restaurants around the world ... This is what great seafood would cost!! ALWAYS the freshest of fish & the servers are so very pleasant & attentive.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good selection of fresh fish ”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent fresh grilled fish dinner here. The side salad was fresh and beautifully presented. The fish was Grilled over mesquite wood expertly. I had the wahoo and my wife had white bass, both were great, the restaurant is a bit older but the fish is top notch.

Helpful?
Thank JimCfmDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond
2 reviews
“Don't Even Bother...Horrible Food & Overpriced”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Went last night with husband. Ordered the "jumbo" shrimp cocktail.... Their idea of jumbo leaves a lot to be desired. They were medium at best and overcooked. I ordered the fish house pasta with shrimp. Pasta was mushy and the shrimp were overcooked. My husband ordered the halibut and shrimp kabob. He said the halibut was really good. And his shrimp was good also. He ordered the twice baked mashed potatoes and cole slaw as sides. The cole slaw was bland. The potato side was so disgusting looking and tasting. It was burnt on the bottom and had an artificial flavor and look to it.

The hostess was weird and rude. Our waitress was very friendly and gave top notch service.

All in all I would tell you to find somewhere else to go for seafood. I've had fresher and better from Red Lobster

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good seafood at reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just went on Dec 28th - had the blue nose sea bass with rice and veggie. Husband had the regular sea bass with cheese potatoe and veggie. He also had the fish chowder. We had wine and bloody marys. All were good. Service was prompt and friendly. I'd recommend for a relaxing meal (we were there around 7pm and I think the early crowd was gone).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
1 review
“Not up to par”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have been a Fish House Vera Cruz customer for many years. When my boys were young we would travel from Temecula to San Marcos for a great fish meal. When they opened a store in Temecula we were delighted. In the beginning the Temecula store was every bit as good as the San Marcos store. But over the years that has changed. In the last 24 months my lady and I have visited the Carlsbad store (about 40 miles away) 3 of 4 times. Every visit has been a GREAT experience. GREAT food and GREAT service. In that same time we have been to the Temecula store the same number of times. Each visit has been a BIG DISAPPONTMENT. We did again last night. We debated before we went if we didn't want to make the 40 mile trip Carlsbad. We decided to give Temecula another try. BIG MISTAKE!! The service was bad. The waitress had promised bread twice we finally had to ask the Manager for it. We ordered and the waitress was little help when asked what she would recommend. The manager was helpful as we didn't see our waitress for long stretches at a time. When we got our meals were wrong and the food was OVER COOKED. The manager didn't charge us for her Halibut (DRY) but that did little to make our visit better. The staff at the Temecula store should visit the Carlsbad store. They could learn a lot.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLM1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish House Vera Cruz also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing