We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience”

Wiens Family Cellars - Winery
Ranked #4 of 91 things to do in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wiens Family Cellars is a Temecula winery located 7 miles East of the 15 on Rancho California Road in Temecula, Southern California. Wiens is especially known for their quality red wines, "Big Reds". When planning your trip to the Temecula wineries make sure to visit Wiens for a tour, wine tasting, and a picnic on our patio.
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Thank you Wiens for the great experience when we visited last week. We appreciate the time you spent with us during our wine tasting. It is definately a plus to visit during the week when it is not as crowded. We truly enjoyed the experience and look forward to receiving your great wines in our wine club.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank mekeroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    54
    11
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good start to our day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I drove up from San Diego to spend a day in Temecula wine country. We had a list of 5 wineries was wanted to hit and we only made it to 3 as we spent so much time here.

It's a rude awakening when it's $15/person for tasting. It's been while since we've tasted outside our home state and it was a little surprising. But we paid and noticed the tasting bar was full. We eventually found a spot and settled in. We happened to be next to a member and he helped us through the wine list along with the Wien worker.

We had a great time. Very good wine. After some consideration we are now members. We live no where near CA but thought it was worth it. We'll back in the area in January '13 so it gives us an excuse to use our membership to it's potential.

We didn't feel any pressure to join the club. In fact, we brought it as our tasting was coming to an end.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Uasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING REDS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My girlfriend and I first visited here in Jan '12. The sign "Big Reds" is what attracted us in and we left wine club members that day. Their regular tasting room features good wines but what sold us was their cellar room tasting which features the big Bordeaux style reds (all reserve such as Cabs, Merlots, Syrah, etc.). Their reserve tasting is $30 but worth every penny.

If your palate is softer reds or whites, they have wines for you as well. They also have a very good Amour De L'Orange (Champagne with an orange twist). The staff is knowledgable and can answer any questions you may have. If you opt for the reserve tasting, you will also get a wine education.

I highly recommend Wiens to anyone that as an appreciation of finer Temecula wines. I enjoy going in often for club events or even just another tasting.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Southpaw951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“reds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

we like napa style reds. these were close to that, or at least what we found in Temcula. Nice , large tasting area. Very nice friendly staff. Enjoyed our time there. will go back

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank brian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Heavy sales pitch in the tasting room, and although we were told there was a place to buy a modest lunch, we couldn't find it anywhere on the property. The tasting room is more gift shop, and despite our best efforts, we never tasted a drop of the grape. However, I could tell you every nuance of the "Wine Club" membership contract, which was reviewed in great detail for us. There are lots of lovely wineries in the valley, keep driving.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank AngusPodgorny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wiens Family Cellars - Winery also viewed

 

Been to Wiens Family Cellars - Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing