We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wine Tasting”
Review of South Coast Winery

South Coast Winery
Ranked #9 of 94 things to do in Temecula
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This profile is made for South Coast Winery which produces wine only and not South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Please leave your feedback
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Came here for a quick day trip with my wife to sample some wines from a winery we hadn't tried yet in Temecula. We bought the 5 samples for $20 price isn't too bad but not great. Every wine we sampled we loved. We tried all red wines and they were all good and we bought a bottle to sit outside and enjoy the afternoon there. I would definitely recommend this winery to anyone who enjoys a good wine.

1  Thank Rolando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hello Rolando P,

We wanted to thank you for choosing South Coast Winery Resort & Spa during your recent visit to Temecula Valley Wine Country and for taking the time to post a review about your enjoyable experience. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and are incredibly pleased to know you and your wife enjoyed your visit and loved every sample of our wines that you were able to taste. Knowing our wines and resort have brought you joy fills us with a tremendous amount of pride and accomplishment. We thank you again and trust you'll come back soon for an overnight stay in one of our luxury hotel tower suites or deluxe villas and enjoy a romantic meal in our award-winning Vineyard Rose Restaurant or a blissful couples massage treatment in our GrapeSeed Spa. Cheers!

Best Regards,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
There are newer reviews for South Coast Winery
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

129 - 133 of 234 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stopped because they had a flea market out front, but the wine was good, staf was friendly and atmosphere fun. Would definetly go again.

Thank ithaca249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hello ithaca249,

Thank you for stopping by South Coast Winery Resort & Spa and for taking the time to post a review about your favorable visit. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our “Trunk Show” and were able to create memorable moments, while tasting our wines. We’ll look forward to your return visit; and perhaps the next time you come, you will also consider extending your stay with an overnight getaway in one of our beautiful hotel tower suites or a deluxe villa for a truly authentic Wine Country experience!

Sincerely,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very slick operation. That's fine certainly, but if you're looking for a winery that is a little more "wine" oriented, this is not it. The tasting room was very dark and crowded. I guess they're going more for the "bar type" get drunk atmosphere than an interesting, educational, still fun with the wine tasting type atmosphere. There is no place to sit. Other wineries do seem to have options of going to various places to sit down while you taste their wares. South Coast Winery is a large concern that includes a spa, etc. Parking was certainly not easy. So, it was fine for what it was, but not for us compared to other wineries.

Thank Nigel1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa G, Guest Relations Manager at South Coast Winery, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Hello Nigel1127,

We greatly appreciate that you took the time to provide your feedback and wanted to thank you for your review of South Coast Winery Resort & Spa. We pride ourselves in the wines that we produce, as well as the atmosphere we create to ensure a most memorable experience for each one of our guests. That being said, we also understand there is always room for improvement; and thanks to feedback like yours, we know we need to work harder in order to fulfill our mission to exceed our guests’ expectations. For future reference, if you are looking for something a bit more intimate, we would like to invite you back to explore our new Wine Press Tasting Room & Deli, located on the East side of the resort, open from 10 AM to 6 PM on weekends and daily on weekdays between 11 AM to 4 PM. It also includes a nice landscaped patio with tables and chairs for those wishing to be seated while tasting. As an additional bonus, the Wine Press Tasting Room is open late every Thursday night from 6 PM to 9PM for a little after hours tasting when all other wineries are closed. We hope you will consider coming back to visit us again the next time you are in Temecula Valley Wine Country.

Sincerely,

South Coast Winery Resort & Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I'm not a huge wine snob but after living in the San Francisco area I never saw the point in heading to San Diego's wine area in Temecula. Big mistake. The first surprise was the number of wineries in the area; there about thirty on one long road. The second surprise was the variety of wines available. We had erroneously assumed there would be a handful of whites. This was quickly proven wrong when visiting South Coast Winery, the big name in the area and three-time winner of winery of the year in California (yes, including Napa and Sonoma).

The wine tasting room is part of a lovely hotel, spa and restaurant. The room is big, handles a lot of people and has a well-informed, enthusiastic staff. It costs $20 for a taste of 5 wines and the fee is not deducted from any purchases or wine club membership. This is consistent with other wine tasting rooms in the area. There are a huge number of both red and white wines to taste. My husband and I have completely different tastes in wine and were both able to find wines we loved.

We'll be going back to the area to visit more of the wineries but will always stop by South Coast to pick up a few of our favorite bottles and taste some of the wines we missed the last visit.

1  Thank LauraC92024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I consider this the second best winery in the area but it runs a close second to Wilson Creek. It has a corporate feel and is a bit more impersonal than Wilson Creek. They have the largest selection of wines in Temecula so anyone even prickly wine drinkers will find something that they like. The wines are very good and reasonably priced. Most are under $20 a bottle. The best time to come is Monday through Thursday. The worst time to come is Saturday and Sunday afternoon. This winery is very popular on the weekend and people can be 6 people deep trying to get to the bar. Fortunately wine club members have their own wine tasting area on the weekends. The onsite restaurant is one oft he best in the area and they do breakfast, lunch and dinner. They have Happy Hour specials in the bar Monday-Thursday. When you visit the Temecula wine country, this winery should be on your list.

Thank Lance2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Coast Winery also viewed

 

Been to South Coast Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing