We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A quiet get-away” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stallion Springs Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tehachapi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stallion Springs Resort
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tehachapi
Santa Clara, Utah
Level Contributor
242 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A quiet get-away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We were there the same time as the previous review - March 16 - 23. We exchanged for this timeshare because we went to the square dance festival in Bakersfield that weekend. While it rained in Bakersfield, it was snowing at the higher elevation. The trip back to the timeshare Sat. nite was a white-knuckler. The last tail lights turned off about a mile before the resort so I had to make my own tracks. The following afternoon coming back again from Bakersfield about 6pm, we got "home" about an hour before they closed the main road. Schools were closed on Monday so we stayed in.

The resort has an activity (wine/cheese party, wine tour, Bingo, Mary Kay session and Horse/Ostrich/Alpaca tour) almost every day. Videos/DVDs and puzzles are free to borrow and they have a trading library. There is only one public computer but free WIFI in the units. It wasn't busy at the public computer so I was able to check email, etc. Staff is very nice and helpful. Because of the 5-8" snow fall, the golf course didn't open until Thursday when we had signed up for the critter tour.

We had a 2 bedroom unit for just the two of us, but I would hate to have to cook for the 6 it accomodates. The 18" of counter is tough to navigate with. Some of our furniture had been updated but initially there was a musty smell (like dampness) to the main living area. The plastic tablecloth they asked you to use on the dining table smelled so I turned that in. They replaced it in a day or two. The drawer in the movable cart in the kitchen (lack of storage) fell apart so we had to keep the silverware tray in the living area until maintenance was able to fix it (then the glue smell stayed for a while longer). Storage in the bathrooms did not exist except for a narrow rolling plastic storage bin in each bathroom. If they had used a normal vanity instead of a table style for the sink, it would have provided shelves or drawers. We used one of these storage bin for a night stand in the master bedroom. The other one was used as an end table between the big chair and the sofa. The end table provided was too low.

Bed was reasonably comfortable and the towels were soft and big, though not very fluffy. I ran out of hot water for the whirlpool tub as I was filling it while my husband was showering. We enjoyed our quiet time (3 puzzles, 3 movies & two books) along with some nice drives in the area. There are several good resturants in Tehachapi.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DesertGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Came to relax and work on a special project. 6 inches of snow on the day after arriving helped me finish the project in two days. Rooms are nice and spacious so being snowed in was pleasant. Kitchen was tiny new units we were told will correct that. Dish washer so small the two of us had to do dishes every night. Equally small sink and counter space was 18 x18". Jacuzzi tub in master bath made up for not being able to use the outside jacuzzi. No exercise room pool at golf club half mi away. Golf deals are good but course was too soggy to play after the snow melted.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I have vacationed at SSR several times and look forward to our next visit. Daily Golfing and R&R in a cozy 1 bedroom Country Cottage w all the conveniences of home and French doors to a large patio with sweeping views of the natural habitat golf course where we enjoyed our morning coffee and evening cocktails. So peaceful. This friendly little town, surrounded by mountains and incredible views, is emersed in nature. Streets roll up by 9 but Tehachapi is only 15 minutes away to take in a show or go bowling.

Room Tip: Request Cottage ON the Golfcourse for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I (and some relatives) were looking for a place where we could relax and "get away from it all." I found this timeshare in Tehachapi (located, roughly, between Bakersfield and Mojave). The timeshare is actually in Stallion Springs, a short road trip around a number of organic farms from Tehachapi, which I can only refer to as "Small Town America." It is not heavily populated, but there is a lot of charm in this area and some wonderful mom & pop style restaurants. Our rental car took us on some very scenic drives (see the Trail of 100 Giants -- the giant sequoias!), to Tehachapi's Food and Wine Festival, and to a local ostrich farm where we feasted on ostrich egg omelettes. We saw lots of wildlife -- including a family of deer outside our unit -- and even enjoyed a movie at the local cinema. (Where else in America can you see a first-run film for $4.50 apiece and a large drink and popcorn combo for $4.75?) I would not recommend this area for families as children will likely get bored after a day or two, but it is certainly worth visiting if you just need to get away from the big city for awhile. A word about the accommodations: Our unit included two bedrooms, two baths, a tiny kitchen, living area (with fireplace), washer & dryer, and a nice deck. While some of the furniture had recently been updated (e.g., the kitchen table and chairs), others begged to be replaced. (Some of the springs in the couch and chair in the living space, for example, had broken springs.) Also, while the place was pretty clean, the housekeepers seemed to overlook the tops of doors and other areas near to the ceiling. Lots of dust up there.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank ZTraveler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed here with my family and have 5 of us in a 2 bedroom unit. The area is unique, quiet, and full of history. Don't come here if you want the city life but come if you want nature, agriculture, and animals. Ostrich farms, wine tours, alpacas etc are the things to do.

The unit is nice but the kitchen is tiny. It looks like one of the kitchens in a mini-suite hotel room. Tough to do much cooking.

The hot tub is nice but the pool is small and off-site (down the road at the golf club)

This is a unique place and worth the visit if you know what you are getting into.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dromega2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

I have mixed feelings about this resort. We stayed a week in late January into early February. The property itself it beautiful and if you are looking for a quiet slow paced get-away the area was nice. The rooms were relatively clean and have many ammenities though a bit dated.
I am writing to give families with young children a heads up before making a reservation here.
We have a 5 year old and a 2 year old. We are very careful about our kid's behavior especially in situations where we are protecting someone else's property (like in a timeshare) from damage. Being sensitive to this issue I was left with a very bad impression when on the last day of our trip, as we were packing up for home, our two year old pulled out the bottom drawer of a dresser in the 2nd bedroom and put his weight on the drawer making the dresser start to tip. I was close enough I grabbed the dresser befor it went over, but the tv on top of the dresser (which was a large old school tv the same width as the dresser) slid far enough that it yanked the cable connection out.
The damage was deemed irreparable and I was charged $150 toward their replacing of the tv.
I write the details of the story so you could judge for yourself how it was handled. When I talked to Cecilia from the resort I was made to feel like I was lying about the situation. For my part I feel like the resort wants to put all liability on its guests though the tv was not placed on furniture designed for that purpose or with any precaution such as a tether or bolting down the furniture.
If you go and everything goes smoothly you may enjoy yourself. I feel like service at an establishment is tested when an exception comes up and in this instance I cannot recommend Satallion Springs Resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
24 Thank billsfamily01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Nice place , clean unit pretty grounds. Comfortable beds and a nice hot tub. We enjoyed our stay but it is pretty far from any tourist spots. The only complaint I had was that housekeeping was not available on the weekend. The front desk did get us extra towels and bedding from an empty unit so we didnt suffer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank trvl4fun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tehachapi
11.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Park Hotel
13.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
#6 of 8 in Tehachapi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
10.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street
18.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Wheeler Ridge
19.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Lebec
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stallion Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stallion Springs Resort

Property: Stallion Springs Resort
Address: 28681 Stallion Springs Drive, Tehachapi, CA 93561
Location: United States > California > Tehachapi
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Tehachapi
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Stallion Springs Hotel Tehachapi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing