We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Negligent and full of excuses -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tehachapi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Excessive, noxious chemicals in the pool/spa made them unusable but they were still open for use and the manager should have fixed the problem, not wait for this to fix itself over time. Brown substance and particles floated on the foam in the spa and a toxic level of chemical odor caused guests to miss out on using them. Bad attitude from manager and unsafe amenities caused several guests to change future stays. Manager full of excuses, not solutions - unlike other Marriott's - not up to their standards. I usually stay at Marriott but this one doesn't offer what's advertised. Is this because it's Tehachapi? How cold is the "heated pool?" Coffee maker dirty, hair in tub, etc. I just expect clean and in good working order from Marriott hotels. Am I wrong? No excuses for clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marriottvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 225 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2011

2nd time staying at the Fairfield. Very Clean and fairly new property. Hotel grounds are maintained and parking lot is well lit and partially fenced in. Located along the main strip in Tehachapi - local resturants are very close to the hotel. I had a room on the upper level with a balcony facing the front of the hotel and the railroad tracks... The Union Pacific / BNSF Freight Railroad Mainline is within viewing distance of the hotel. And yes you can hear the trains because they are @ Full Throttle (for us railfans - Run 8) when they come through town - it's a uphill grade.. The closest grade crossing is located more so in town, but you can hear the train horn only if you have you're window or sliding glass door open. It's not very loud to the point where you can't sleep... Hotel has a free breakfast and staff members keep items full. Indoor Pool & Hot Tub - both clean and comfortable after a long day of railfanning between Bakersfield and Mojave CA. Staff was very friendly at check in, and hotel manager came to make sure the Hot Tub was warm enough and I had plenty of towels, something you don't normally see out of a hotel manager. I'll be back in the future. ** For the Railfans - I've included 2 Pictures of a UP Freight so you can see the action 1st Hand for a future stay in Tehachapi **

Room Tip: Train View - Front of the Hotel, Mtn View - Rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMTK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I am a frequent business as well as leisure traveler and although the hotel itself was very clean with a pleasant atmosphere, the management and I had a disagreement about my pet. I had been a loyal customer with Marriott Corp. for the past 15 years but since, I've rescinded all association with them. Instead of focusing on the long term aspects of potentially losing a loyal customer, they chose to stick to their own myopic vision. Hilton Hotels, here I come.

Thank you,

Daniel R. Ramirez

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angeldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

Very friendly and helping staff, clean and spacious rooms and good breakfast what else do I need. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

REALLY nice staff, clean rooms with up-to-date decor and nice indoor pool/jacuzzi. Breakfast was also included (would have been A+ with less carbs and more nutritional food, although I think that's probably what guest prefer).

Would DEFINITELY stay again and recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ma11ory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Stayed for 1 night as we drove cross country and dropped kids at college, really enjoyed everything about this one. We were booked in a suite, great space, very clean, good breakfast. Great Pizza at Pacino's down the street! All in all a great stop on our route, would definately stay again.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank gdpaquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed in Room 206 in late July. Having stayed in many other Fairfield Inns, we obviously think highly of them. They tend to be newer properties, and are very clean and well maintained. This Fairfield Inn shared much of that. However, it was not as clean as others. The 2nd floor hallway carpet looked dirty. The back of our bathroom door was dirty with fingerprints. And the room had a slight musky odor, very surprising for such a new building. ( We thought we heard water dripping in the walls, from the room above, which we reported to the front desk.) Still, not bad.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tehachapi hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Country Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tehachapi
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tehachapi Hwy 58 / Mill Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SureStay Hotel by Best Western Tehachapi
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi

Address: 422 W Tehachapi Blvd, Tehachapi, CA 93561-1638
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Tehachapi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Tehachapi
Price Range: $126 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Tehachapi
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi Hotel Tehachapi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing