We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hangout”
Review of Wine & Cheese Cellar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Wine & Cheese Cellar
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Hangout”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Decent Food. Great Service. The selection in beer and other drinks is quite limited if you want soda or a common beer. On the other hand, they have a great variety of special beer and wine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katherine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Boring Food, Small Wine Selection”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Once upon a time this place was owned by some folks who opened it for the love of wine. They hand-picked all the wines and had some food on the side. Fast forward a year or so and we find new owners with more of a corporate mentality and a higher focus on food.

The wine selection is half what it used to be; the food selection is twice the size. Normally this would be a good thing, but the food is bland at best. The attempt was made at gourmet -- and it IS pretty -- but fell far short.

On the plus side, the atmosphere is very nice and very relaxing. Unfortunately our waitress was just as relaxed. I think she was relaxing in the back for most of our visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerikns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Real Cheese”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Small restaurant with great decor in a mall with plenty of parking. The wines are good and interesting with plenty of choices by the glass or to buy by the bottle in the in the shop on the way in. Such as treat to find real cheese instead of the usual bland offerings of most restaurants. Either the red or white wine cheese plate is excellent and there are plenty of tapas like dishes. A touch of Europe in California. Service is good and the staff friendly and helpful. The white wine could be a little more chilled for our taste but otherwise no complaints! Although I rate it as 'Family', we were all adults and I would classify this as an adult restaurant, not really somewhere to come with children below drinking age.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank docsov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“What a wonderful escape!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Your visit to Tehachapi isn't complete until you stop at this lovely wine bar. A delight!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jzk131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Pricey but nothing like it in town. Crazy good little things to eat”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had the dates stuffed with Bleu cheese and wrapped in bacon. SUPER WEIRD - YET I WANT IT AGAIN. !!! Very cool location

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loriegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wine & Cheese Cellar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing