We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Don Juan's Grill - CLOSED

Don Juan's Grill
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Argentinean, Brazilian, Chilean, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We go here all the time. Never had anything that wasn't delicious. We take family that come to visit and this place hasn't disappointed. Favorite dish is the Cuban Pork Sandwich and the baked sweet potato fries are the best I have ever had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEBIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    49
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
Level 6 Contributor
426 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Very different - but good”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I really like the different Latin food served here. Although the décor is a bit dull. Not much of a crowd for the lunch bunch. Their black beans are delish

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“out of the way "fine" dining”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This fine dining restaurant is in a very odd location in old town next to a feed store. really? The restaurant is very nice and clean, with plenty of seating, yet there was only one server on duty for our visit on a Thursday evening at 5:30. He did a good job keeping up with all his customers, but really should have had more servers on duty. Plus at one point their credit card machine went down and several customers were delayed from leaving until it finally started working again.

The food was good but wasn't really exciting for us. We tried the sweet potato fries, the fish tacos, and the veggie enchiladas. Nothing to write home about for sure. I hope that their more expensive fare justifies the price with taste. I felt like this restaurant is having an identity crisis...it seems to want to be a fine dining establishment for date nights, but also is attracting families and groups of friends who just want tapas and drinks. They don't seem to know where to focus their efforts or how to price their food accordingly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MallibuStacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in town!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our parents love this restaurant! It is one if our favorites in Tehachapi. We had our wedding rehearsal dinner there and many valentines, birthdays, etc. You can't go wrong with anything on the menu, everything is delicious and authentic South American cuisine. The staff is personable and the atmosphere is nice. I highly recommend visiting Don Juan's!

Helpful?
Thank Teal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice during a week-long stay. Hard to comprehend that this place is currently #3 in the rankings for town. First meal was average - slightly over cooked ribeye and chicken enchiladas that were bland. Given rankings and awards on wall from local papers, decided we should give it another try. Pork shank and fettuccine w/vegetables were marginally better than first meals. If you're looking for quality, skip this and go to Jake's Steaks

Helpful?
Thank BLV430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Juan's Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing