We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Cynthia's

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tecopa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cynthia's
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

After 2 lovely weeks on the road in Nevada and California, this was the place we were most looking forward to staying. Three years ago we stayed in the cabins (also very nice), but this time we decided to try out the Teepees. A great place to stay for a long weekend, especially if you have kids. Explore the Oasis and drink a date shake. Have a BBQ in the evening or just sit around the camp fire and listen out for the sound of Coyotes.

Cythia's is a great place to wind down and just chill out, I can't think of anything negative about staying here. I'll definitely be staying there the next time I'm back in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    20
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
37
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Located in the middle of nowhere, Cynthia make you feel at home. Place has so much character and She is so kind. Clean, comfee beds, AMAZING breakfast, and you will meet a very nice person. We planed to stay one night, but after meet her, We decided to stay two more nights.
Nice river and waterfalls to visit during the day, and really nice hot springs to have a hot bath during the cold nights in the desert.

Room Tip: Get food in the last town before you go there. and wine, tobacco,....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielmani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a great experience in this hostel! Cynthia is a very nice host and she gave us very good tips about the Death Valley and the best places to get gas. We stayed in a home trailer, very cozy and super clean. The place was for 8 people but we had the room all just for us 3. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yo_makanse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Rather than camping in the heat this was the best place I found for the lowest cost to prep for our day in Death Valley. The hostel is made up of 2 mobile homes. We had reserved beds in the one with the kitchen but chose to stay in the other with the only other guest at the time (from Switzerland) since we'd already eaten before arriving. Some food and drinks are available for purchase as well. Even though it was well over 100 outside during the record setting heat wave the evaporative cooler had the inside temp about 82 when we arrived and 68 in the morning. The rooms, bathrooms and linens were clean. Cynthia is a very pleasant person as well. She had left us a nice note on the office message board on how to reach our rooms, but came out when she saw us pull in. I'd definitely stay again if I get back to the area. It's 69 miles to Badwater so will take about 85 minutes as I recall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logandale, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We thought we would try Cynthia's and were not disappointed. We loved the tipi's - ours was amazingly warm on a cold winter night. I don't think Cynthia's is for everyone, you must be a little adventurous, one woman had a great fear of the coyotes. You hear and see them, but they leave you completely alone. If you want to experience the desert night, Cynthia's is amazing. Big breakfast with great quality foods. Great hiking, and Cynthia's maps were very helpful. I was frustrated that there was only the smallest of mini fridge's, as we had brought food as suggested by Cynthia. We made it work, but only because none of the other guests need refrigerator space.

Room Tip: Tips are great fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiddlerDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabulous Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What can I say about staying in a tipi, other than it was an AWESOME EXPERIENCE! Husband & I visited Cynthia's for 2 nights and we were the only ones there (note that the tipis are located about 3 miles from the main hostel itself) so laying out under a canopy of stars on chase lounges while eating cheese/drinking wine and watching bats chase moths or listening to howling coyotes in the distance - was simply an experience like no other! Our tipi had a queen bed and 2 twin beds, along with an above ground firepit, extra linens & towels. All the comforts of home are all just a few steps away in the main house on the same property (i.e., a dining area complete with dishes/glassware/silverware, fridge, bathroom, shower, board games) You can bring your own food to store in the fridge, too! The home is over 100 yrs old; Cynthia is an interior designer and she's decorated it so charmingly. Think of this as more of a 'high-style' of camping. At dusk, try and walk the area; the desert is so beautifully peaceful & still ...and there's lots of sights and sounds to enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AULV_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I found this desert hostel quite adequate. The rooms in the trailer were very clean and their appointments were very restful. The bunks could stand an addition of memory foam on the mattresses as mine was pretty hard - normal however for most bunkbeds. There are several trailers on the property which are either hostel rooms, or private rooms. There is also a "sky tower" you can climb to get a 360 degree view of the night sky. One trailer known as "The Old Spanish Trail er" houses a kitchen and lounge. Cynthia is a lovely hostess and started the Tecopa Chapter of the Old Spanish Trail Association. I was there for their Trail Days. They had a nice reception there around a campfire featuring local wine from Sanders Winery in Pahrump, Nevada. All in all it was a very nice experience and as I was traveling alone I felt very secure.

Room Tip: Don't choose the room with the bathroom as your sleep may be disturbed by comings and goings. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RocknGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cynthia's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cynthia's

Property: Cynthia's
Address: 2001 Old Spanish Trail Hwy, Tecopa, CA 92389 (Formerly Ranch House Inn, Hostelling International)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Tecopa
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Tecopa
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cynthia`s Hotel Tecopa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing